MLA Gold Award Site

Bob Woodward biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Bob Woodward
Photograph: Lisa Berg

Bob Woodward

Bob Woodward Biography

Robert Upshur Woodward, known as Bob, was born in March 1943 in Geneva, Illinois.  He studied history and English literature at Yale, receiving his B.A. in 1965, after which he spent four years as a Naval officer.  He was discharged as a Lieutenant in 1970 after serving as an aide to the Chief of Naval Operations, Admiral Thomas H Moorer.  He was hired by The Washington Post but was let go after his two-week trial because he lacked any experience as a journalist.  After a year working for the Montgomery Sentinel, he reapplied to The Washington Post and was given a job in August 1971.  Less than a year, later Woodward and Carl Bernstein were assigned to investigate the burglary of the headquarters of the Democratic National Committee in a Washington D.C. hotel called Watergate, which led to them uncovering various "dirty tricks" used by Nixon's re-election committee.  The resulting book, All The President's Men, became a bestseller, and the movie staring Robert Redford as Woodward and Dustin Hoffman as Bernstein turned them into celebrities.  The facts revealed in the book also directly contributed to Nixon's impeachment. 

Since then, Woodward has continued to write books and work for The Washington Post, where he is now an associate editor.  Woodward sees his books as "self portraits"; he says, "I go to people and I say — I check them and I double check them but — but who are you? What are you doing? Where do you fit in? What did you say? What did you feel?"

He lives in the Georgetown section of Washington and is married to Elsa Walsh, who writes for The New Yorker; they have two daughters.


Bibliography

  • All the President's Men (1974, Watergate) 55-3
  • The Final Days (1976, Nixon's resignation)
  • The Brethren (1979, about the Supreme Court)
  • Wired (1985, John Belushi and the dark side of Hollywood's drug culture)
  • Veil (1987, about the CIA)
  • The Commanders (1991, the first two years of George H.W. Bush's presidency)
  • The Agenda (1994, the first 18 months of Clinton's presidency)
  • The Choice (1996, Bob Dole & Clinton's re-election bid)
  • Shadow (1999, the legacy of Watergate and the scandals that later administrations have faced)
  • Maestro (2000, Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan)
  • Bush at War (2002, the path from 9/11 to war with Afghanistan)
  • Plan of Attack (2005, the path to war with Iraq)
  • The Secret Man (2005, Mark Felt's disclosure that he was Deep Throat)
  • State of Denial (2007, an overview of the G.W. Bush presidency to 2006)
  • The War Within: A Secret White House History (2006-2008); (2008)
  • Obama's Wars (2010)

Link to Bob's website

This biography was last updated on 07/23/2011.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Bob Woodward at BookBrowse
The War Within jacket State of Denial jacket The Secret Man jacket Maestro jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Bob Woodward but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Madeleine Albright

    Madeleine Albright

    Madeleine Korbel was born on May 15, 1937 in Prague, Czechoslovakia. Her father, Josef Korbel, was a member of the Czech diplomatic service who worked in Belgrade, London, and Prague before he fled with his family after a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Maestro

    Try:
    Madam Secretary
    by Madeleine Albright

  • Hillary Rodham Clinton

    Hillary Rodham Clinton

    Hillary Rodham Clinton was elected to the U.S. Senate from New York in 2000 and was appointed Secretary of State in 2009. She also served as the 67th Secretary of State of the United States - from January 21, 2009 until ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Maestro

    Try:
    Living History
    by Hillary Rodham Clinton

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Saving Montgomery Sole
    Saving Montgomery Sole
    by Mariko Tamaki
    Understanding identity is one the most important parts of adolescence. For some teenagers, those who...
  • Book Jacket: All Tomorrow's Parties
    All Tomorrow's Parties
    by Rob Spillman
    In this absorbing memoir, co-founder of Tin House magazine, Rob Spillman, recalls his artistic ...
  • Book Jacket: The Never-Open Desert Diner
    The Never-Open Desert Diner
    by James Anderson
    James Anderson's debut novel, The Never-Open Desert Diner, starts off as an entertaining ...
Win this book!
Win The 100 Year Miracle

50 Copies to Give Away!

The 100 Year Miracle is a rich, enthralling novel, full of great characters.

Enter

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
The Fair Fight
by Anna Freeman

A page-turning novel set in the world of 18th century female pugilists.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper
    by Phaedra Patrick

    In a poignant and sparkling debut, a lovable widower embarks on a life-changing adventure.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Alaskan Laundry
    by Brendan Jones

    A fresh debut novel about a young woman who moves to Alaska and finds herself through the hard work of fishing.

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I A Sign O T T

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.