Robert V. Redick biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Robert V. Redick
Photo: Kiran Asher

Robert V. Redick

Robert V. Redick Biography

Robert V. S. Redick's unpublished first novel, Conquistadors, was a finalist for the AWP/Thomas Dunne Novel Award, and his essay “Uncrossed River” won the New Millennium Writings Award for nonfiction. A former theater critic and international development researcher, he worked most recently for the antipoverty organization Oxfam. He lives in western Massachusetts.

Originally planned as a trilogy, the Chathrand Voyage has been expanded to four books but the author assures readers that "the tale will end decisively with Book IV"

  • The Red Wolf Conspiracy (UK: 2008; USA: 2009)
  • The Rats and the Ruling Sea; published in the UK in 2009; publishing in the USA in Feb 2010 as The Ruling Sea
  • The River of Shadows, scheduled for release in 2011
  • The Night of the Swarm

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 02/13/2012. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview



Robert Redick, author of The Red Wolf Conspiracy: The Chathrand Voyage, answers our questions

Tolkien was suspicious of allegory. Is the Chathrand an allegory? Or is it simply a bloody big boat?

I'm with Tolkien completely. The Chathrand books are an allegory-free zone. As a writer, the moment you pursue an allegory, you're trapped. Your story can't breathe if you have to keep prodding it back towards something you've decided it should prove.

But Chathrand is certainly more than just a vast sailing ship. I think of her as a character, with history, moods, loyalties – and a destiny quite her own. Of course she's also the stage on which much of the action takes place: a stage with room for 700 players. This makes her a kind of village under sail. Indeed, one deck is known as 'Night Village' to the rats and Ixchel, who live there.


It's clear, both from your author biography and from your book, that you love languages. Do our languages shape our view of the world? Did the languages in The Red Wolf Conspiracy shape your creation of Alifros?

Oh, very much so. This is a story of constant encounters with difference: sailors were the original agents of globalization, for good or ill. And ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Robert V. Redick at BookBrowse
The River of Shadows jacket The Ruling Sea jacket The Red Wolf Conspiracy jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Robert V. Redick but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Alison Goodman

    Alison Goodman

    Alison Goodman was born in Australia and after a bit of wandering, now lives in her beloved hometown, Melbourne. She was the 1999 D.J. O’Hearn Memorial Fellow at Melbourne University, holds a master of arts, and teaches ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Red Wolf Conspiracy

    Try:
    Eon
    by Alison Goodman

  • Stuart Hill

    Stuart Hill

    Stuart Hill was born in Leicester, in the East Midlands of England, where he still lives today. His family heritage includes English, Irish, Romany and Jewish blood.  As a student his grades were average at best, but... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Red Wolf Conspiracy

    Try:
    The Cry of The Icemark
    by Stuart Hill

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.