Iyanla Vanzant biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Iyanla Vanzant

Iyanla Vanzant

Iyanla Vanzant Biography

Iyanla Vanzant was born Rhonda Harris on September 3, 1953 in Brooklyn, New York. She graduated summa cum laude in 1983 from Medgar Evers College with a BA in public administration, and obtained her MA in spiritual psychology in 2001 from the University of Santa Monica. She is the founder and president of the Inner Visions Spiritual Life Maintenance Center in Silver Springs Maryland.

In 2000, she was named one of the 100 Most Influential Black Americans by Ebony magazine and in 2001 hosted her own short-lived talk show Iyanla. Three years later, she joined Rhonda Britten on the television series Starting Over as a life coach. She has also been a regular guest on The Oprah Winfrey Show. Her books have appeared five times on the New York Times Bestseller List.

For more recent information on Iyanla, see her 2011 interview on the Oprah Winfrey Show



This bio was last updated on 03/04/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Iyanla Vanzant at BookBrowse
In The Meantime jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Iyanla Vanzant but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • John Gray

    John Gray

    John Gray, Ph.D., is the author of Mars and Venus on a Date, a follow-up to his phenomenal bestselling book Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus, which has sold more than 6 million copies in the United States ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    In The Meantime

    Try:
    Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus
    by John Gray

  • Dr Phillip McGraw

    Dr Phillip McGraw

    Phillip Calvin "Phil" McGraw has the second highest-rated daytime talk show in the U.S.A, Dr. Phil. He is also the author of several New York Times bestsellers. Dr. Phil first gained celebrity status with appearances on The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    In The Meantime

    Try:
    Relationship Rescue
    by Dr Phillip McGraw

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Wolf Season
    by Helen Benedict
    Rin Drummond's nicknames include "Pit Bull" and "Dragon." She's a tough-as-nails Iraq War ...
  • Book Jacket: La Belle Sauvage
    La Belle Sauvage
    by Philip Pullman
    Voted 2017 Best Young Adult Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    I wasn't quite sure what to expect ...
  • Book Jacket: Leonardo da Vinci
    Leonardo da Vinci
    by Walter Isaacson
    The name Leonardo da Vinci is one of the most recognized in all of Western history, and his ...
  • Book Jacket: The Immortalists
    The Immortalists
    by Chloe Benjamin
    On a summer day in 1969 in New York City, the Gold children agree to seek out a mysterious ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Dry by Jane Harper

Winner of the 2017 BookBrowse Debut Novel Award

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Days When Birds Come Back
    by Deborah Reed

    A graceful testament to endurance, rebuilding, and the possibilities of coming home.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Mothers of Sparta

Mothers of Sparta: A Memoir

A dazzling literary memoir with shades of Mary Karr, Anne Lamott and Jenny Lawson.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A J O A Thousand M B W O S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.