Tori Murden McClure biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Tori Murden McClure

Tori Murden McClure

Tori Murden McClure Biography

Tori Murden McClure is the President of Spalding University. Her firsts include being the first woman to row solo across the Atlantic and to ski overland to the South Pole. She has an AB from Smith College, where she currently serves on the board of trustees, a Master's in Divinity from Harvard University, a JD from the University of Louisville School of Law, and an MFA in Writing from Spalding University. She has worked as a chaplain at Boston City Hospital and for Muhammad Ali at the Muhammad Ali Center in Louisville, Kentucky. She lives in Louisville with her husband.

Tori Murden McClure's website

This bio was last updated on 10/17/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Tori McClure talks about rowing across the Atlantic Ocean, a story she records in Pearl in the Storm

It's been almost ten years since you rowed across the ocean. Why did it take you so long to write about it?

There are many answers to this question:

It took me that long to dry out.

I had to get over being sea sick.

I've walked to the tops of mountains. I've skied 750-miles across a frozen continent. I've rowed 3,333-miles across an ocean. What would give anyone the impression that I am addicted to speed? Is there some prize in life for finishing first.

If a person can spend almost three months alone in a rowboat, it's a pretty safe bet that she's an introvert. My success has come as a scholar and an athlete. Aristotle taught us to live by the "golden mean." Most of the time I lead the relatively quiet life of a mild mannered university administrator, nothing in excess. About once a decade, I abandon Aristotle and follow the "uber" path of Nietzsche. I abandon the stability of a balanced life and I go after one thing with all my being. At the end of the 1980's, I skied to the South Pole. At the end of the 1990's, I rowed across an ocean. This decade I decided to write one book. The ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Tori Murden McClure at BookBrowse
A Pearl in the Storm jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Tori Murden McClure but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Liv Arnesen

    Liv Arnesen

    Liv (pronounced 'leave') Arnesen's rich life experiences, both on and off the ice, have made her an internationally recognized leader and role model for women and girls. A self-proclaimed "keen" but not ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Pearl in the Storm

    Try:
    No Horizon Is So Far
    by Liv Arnesen

  • John Balzar

    John Balzar

    John Balzar is Senior Vice President, Communications, of the Humane Society of the United States. He joined the executive staff in 2007 after a 33-year career as a journalist, writer, and adventurer.

    His opinion columns ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Pearl in the Storm

    Try:
    Yukon Alone
    by John Balzar

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Dark Flood Rises
    The Dark Flood Rises
    by Margaret Drabble
    Margaret Drabble, the award-winning novelist and literary critic who is approaching eighty and ...
  • Book Jacket: All Our Wrong Todays
    All Our Wrong Todays
    by Elan Mastai
    You need a great deal of time to read All Our Wrong Todays, but don't let that put you off. ...
  • Book Jacket: Dadland
    Dadland
    by Keggie Carew
    In her notable debut, Keggie Carew examines the life of her father Tom, a decorated war hero whose ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love
by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Our Short History
    by Lauren Grodstein

    Lauren Grodstein breaks your heart, then miraculously pieces it back together so it's stronger, than before.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Lola
    by Melissa Scrivner Love

    An astonishing debut crime thriller about an unforgettable woman.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

The worth of a book is to be measured by what you can carry away from it.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O My D B

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -