Barry Unsworth biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Barry Unsworth
Photo: Aira Unsworth

Barry Unsworth

How to pronounce Barry Unsworth: UNS-worth

Barry Unsworth Biography

Barry Unsworth (b. 1930) won the Booker Prize for Sacred Hunger (1992); his next novel, Morality Play, was a Booker nominee and a bestseller in both the United States and Great Britain. His other novels include The Ruby in Her Navel, The Songs of the Kings, Losing Nelson, After Hannibal, The Hide, and Pascali's Island, which was also shortlisted for the Booker Prize and was made into a feature film.

He was born in Wingate, a mining village in Durham, England. After graduating from the University of Manchester in 1951, he lived in France for a year teaching English. In the 1960s he traveled extensively in Greece and Turkey, lecturing at the University of Athens and the University of Istanbul. In 1999 he was a visiting professor at the University of Iowa's Writers' Workshop. In 2004 he taught literature and creative writing classes at Kenyon College in Ohio. He died on June 5, 2012 at the age of 81 from lung cancer.


Bibliography

Selected Novels
The Partnership (1966)
The Hide (1970)
Mooncranker's Gift (1973)
The Big Day (1976)
Pascali's Island (1980)
The Idol Hunter (1980)
The Rage of the Vulture (1982)
Stone Virgin (1985)
Sugar and Rum (1988)
Sacred Hunger (1991)
The Greeks Have a Word for It (1993)
Morality Play (1995)
After Hannibal (1996)
Losing Nelson (1999)
The Songs of the Kings (2002)
The Ruby in Her Navel (2006)
Land of Marvels (2009)
The Quality of Mercy (2011)


Anthology (editor)

Classic Sea Stories (1994)


Nonfiction
Novels and Novelists in the 1990's (1993)
Nelson Biography (1999)
Crete (2004)



This bio was last updated on 06/10/2012. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Barry Unsworth at BookBrowse
The Quality of Mercy jacket Land of Marvels jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Barry Unsworth but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Caroline Alexander

    Caroline Alexander

    Caroline Alexander was born in Florida, of British parents and has lived in Europe, Africa and the Caribbean. She studied philosophy and theology at Oxford as a Rhodes scholar and has a doctorate in classics from Columbia ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Quality of Mercy

    Try:
    The Bounty
    by Caroline Alexander

  • Louis de Bernieres

    Louis de Bernieres

    Louis de Bernières is a British novelist. He is most famous for his fourth novel, Captain Corelli's Mandolin.

    In 1993 de Bernières was selected as one of the "20 Best of Young British Novelists", part of a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Land of Marvels

    Try:
    Birds Without Wings
    by Louis de Bernieres

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Second hand books are wild books...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.