Patricia O'Brien biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Patricia O'Brien

Patricia O'Brien

Patricia O'Brien Biography

Patricia O'Brien's award-winning career has spanned the worlds of books - fiction and non-fiction - journalism, politics and education. 

Her latest novel, The Dressmaker, written under the pseudonym of Kate Alcott, is a New York Times best seller.  Centered on the aftermath of the sinking of the Titanic, it was published by Doubleday in 2012.  Another novel, The Daring Ladies of Lowell, is slated for publication in 2014.

She is the co-author, along with Ellen Goodman, of  the New York Times non-fiction bestseller entitled, I Know Just What You Mean – The Power of Friendship In  Women's Lives.

She is also the author of two other historical novels, Harriet and Isabella, a novel about Harriet Beecher Stowe, which was published by Simon and Schuster in January, 2008.  The Glory Cloak, a novel about the experiences of Louisa May Alcott and Clara Barton as nurses in the Civil War.  Her other works of fiction include  The Candidate's WifeThe Ladies' Lunch, and Good Intentions.  Her earlier  non-fiction books include The Woman Alone and  Staying Together: Marriages That Work. 

From 1976 to 1987 she was a political correspondent and columnist for Knight-Ridder newspapers in Washington, covering the Reagan White House, Congress and the 1984 national political campaigns of Gary Hart and Geraldine Ferraro.

From journalism she switched to politics, becoming  press secretary for Governor Michael Dukakis when he ran for president in 1987. In 1988, she was  awarded a Freedom Forum Fellowship at Columbia University.  cO'Brien graduated from the University of Oregon in 1966, and then began her journalistic career at the South Bend Tribune in South Bend, Indiana.  In 1970, she began working for the Chicago Sun-Times, first as a reporter, then as a columnist and editorial writer.  She became a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University in 1973.

She has been a commentator for  CBS-TV's Morning News and also for the CBS-Radio program, Spectrum, as well as for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. She has written for a number of magazines, including Good Housekeeping, Esquire, Working Woman, Notre Dame Magazine, Glamour and Harper's Bazaar.  Her book reviews have appeared in The New York Times.

O'Brien was the Baltimore Sun Distinguished Lecturer at the University of Maryland School of Journalism in 1989, where she taught a course on journalistic ethics.  She has also taught at Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism. She has four grown daughters and lives with her husband, Frank Mankiewicz, in Washington, D.C.

Patricia O'Brien's website

This bio was last updated on 06/01/2017. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Patricia O'Brien discusses her novel Harriet & Isabella, about the trial of Henry Ward Beecher, brother of Harriet Beecher Stowe, author of Uncle Tom's Cabin.

This is your second novel imagining the relationships between famous figures in American history. Can you tell us a little about your process for writing Harriet and Isabella? Was it different than the process that gave birth to The Glory Cloak?

The most important part of the process at the beginning this time was deciding what to discard. The Beecher saga is incredibly rich, and picking one route into the lives of Harriet and her brothers and sisters meant walking away from other, equally tantalizing paths. But that's what a novelist has to do.

What stayed the same was my being drawn into the lives of these people through something tangible that made them real to me. In The Glory Cloak, it was running across an obscure account of Louisa May Alcott's work as a Civil War nurse and reading about the discovery of Clara Barton's long-forgotten Missing Soldiers office in downtown Washington. Visiting those rooms was like stepping into a time capsule and I had a feeling that I could talk to Clara.

In Harriet and Isabella, it was the gold slave bracelet given to Harriet by the Duchess of Sutherland. I had the great satisfaction not only of tracking it down on the Internet in the listed contents of ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Patricia O'Brien at BookBrowse
The Dressmaker jacket Harriet and Isabella jacket The Glory Cloak jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Patricia O'Brien but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Gaynor Arnold

    Gaynor Arnold

    Gaynor Arnold was born and brought up in Cardiff, Wales. An only child, she grew up in a rented house with her parents (both shop assistants), grandparents and aunt. When she was 10 she asked her parents for a typewriter and... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Harriet and Isabella

    Try:
    Girl in a Blue Dress
    by Gaynor Arnold

  • Louis Bayard

    Louis Bayard

    Louis Bayard is the critically acclaimed bestselling author of nine historical novels, including Courting Mr. Lincoln and The Pale Blue Eye, which is being adapted into a Netflix film starring Christian Bale. Bayard's ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Harriet and Isabella

    Try:
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard

We recommend 10 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

For a year of great reading
about exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Move Like Water
    Move Like Water
    by Hannah Stowe
    As a child growing up on the Pembrokeshire Coast in Wales, Hannah Stowe always loved the sea, ...
  • Book Jacket
    Loved and Missed
    by Susie Boyt
    London-based author and theater director Susie Boyt has written seven novels and the PEN Ackerley ...
  • Book Jacket: Beyond the Door of No Return
    Beyond the Door of No Return
    by David Diop
    In early 19th-century France, Aglaé's father Michel Adanson dies of old age. Sitting at ...
  • Book Jacket: Crossings
    Crossings
    by Ben Goldfarb
    We've all seen it—a dead animal carcass on the side of the road, clearly mowed down by a car. ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Fair Rosaline
by Natasha Solomons
A subversive, powerful untelling of Romeo and Juliet by New York Times bestselling author Natasha Solomons.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Is Salvaged
    by Vauhini Vara

    Stories of uncanny originality from Vauhini Vara, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction.

  • Book Jacket

    Devil Makes Three
    by Ben Fountain

    A brilliant and propulsive novel set in Haiti from the award-winning, bestselling author of Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk.

Win This Book
Win Moscow X

25 Copies to Give Away!

A daring CIA operation threatens chaos in the Kremlin. But can Langley trust the Russian at its center?

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A M I A Terrible T T W

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.