Announcing Our Best Books of 2021

Conn Iggulden biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Conn Iggulden

Conn Iggulden

How to pronounce Conn Iggulden: i-GULL-den

Conn Iggulden Biography

Born in London, Conn Iggulden read English at London University and worked as a teacher for seven years before becoming a full-time writer. He is the author of the number one bestselling Emperor series about Julius Casear; The Dangerous Book for Boys and its many variations; the Conqueror series about the life of Genghis Khan. In 2007 he was the first author to simultaneously hold the No 1 position on the Sunday Times Bestseller nonfiction and fiction lists for The Dangerous Book for Boys and Wolf of the Plains.

He lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and their children.


Bibliography

Emperor Series (Julius Casear)
The Gates of Rome (2003)
The Death of Kings (2004)
The Field of Swords (2004)
The Gods of War (2006)
The Blood of Gods (2013)


Conqueror Series (Genghis Khan)
Wolf of the Plains (2007) (published as Genghis in the USA) Lords of the Bow (2008)
Bones of the Hills (UK 2008, USA March 2009)
Empire of Silver (2010)
Conqueror (2011)


The War of Roses
Stormbird (2013)
Trinity (2014)
Bloodline (2015)
Ravenspur (2016)


Novellas
Blackwater (2006)


Non fiction
The Dangerous Book for Boys (UK: 2006, USA 2007), with Hal Iggulden

Conn Iggulden's website

This bio was last updated on 10/19/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

A video clip in which Conn Iggulden discusses his Conqueror series, about the life of Genghis Khan.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Conn Iggulden at BookBrowse
The Abbot's Tale jacket Ravenspur jacket Bloodline jacket Conqueror jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Conn Iggulden but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Christopher Buckley

    Christopher Buckley

    Christopher Buckley is a novelist, essayist, humorist, critic, magazine editor and memoirist. His books include Thank You for Smoking, The Judge Hunter, and The Relic Master. He worked as a merchant seaman and White House ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Abbot's Tale

    Try:
    The Judge Hunter
    by Christopher Buckley

  • Bernard Cornwell

    Bernard Cornwell

    Bernard Cornwell was born in London in 1944 – a 'warbaby' – whose father was a Canadian airman and mother in Britain's Women's Auxiliary Air Force.

    He was adopted by a family in Essex who belonged to a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Genghis: Lords of the Bow

    Try:
    Heretic
    by Bernard Cornwell

We recommend 17 similar authors

View all 17 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    People from My Neighborhood
    by Hiromi Kawakami
    People from My Neighborhood is exactly what it sounds like — an unnamed narrator recounts a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Win Me Something
    by Kyle Lucia Wu
    Kyle Lucia Wu's Win Me Something opens with a young woman named Willa explaining that she did not ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Missing Trees
    The Island of Missing Trees
    by Elif Shafak
    The Island of Missing Trees by Elif Shafak tells a tale of generational trauma, explores identity ...
  • Book Jacket: The Correspondents
    The Correspondents
    by Judith Mackrell
    In the introduction to The Correspondents, author Judith Mackrell points out that although there had...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Beasts of a Little Land
    by Juhea Kim

    An epic story of love, war, and redemption set against the backdrop of the Korean independence movement.

Who Said...

A book may be compared to your neighbor...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Y Can't S T H, G O O T K

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.