Conn Iggulden biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Conn Iggulden

Conn Iggulden

Conn Iggulden Biography

Born in London, Conn Iggulden read English at London University and worked as a teacher for seven years before becoming a full-time writer. He is the author of the number one bestselling Emperor series about Julius Casear; The Dangerous Book for Boys and its many variations; and the Conqueror series about the life of Genghis Khan.  In 2007 he was the first author to simultaneously hold the No 1 position on the Sunday Times Bestseller nonfiction and fiction lists for The Dangerous Book for Boys and Wolf of the Plains.

He lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and their children.

Bibliography

Emperor Series (Julius Casear)

  • The Gates of Rome (2003)
  • The Death of Kings (2004)
  • The Field of Swords (2004)
  • The Gods of War (2006)
     

Conqueror Series (Genghis Khan)

  • Wolf of the Plains (2007)
    published as Genghis in the USA
  • Lords of the Bow (2008)
  • Bones of the Hills (UK 2008, USA March 2009)

Novellas

  • Blackwater (2006)

Non fiction

  • The Dangerous Book for Boys (UK: 2006, USA 2007), with Hal Iggulden

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 02/13/2012. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

A video clip in which Conn Iggulden discusses his Conqueror series, about the life of Genghis Khan


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Conn Iggulden at BookBrowse
Bloodline jacket Conqueror jacket Khan: Empire of Silver jacket The Dangerous Book of Heroes jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Conn Iggulden but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Bernard Cornwell

    Bernard Cornwell

    Bernard Cornwell was born (in 1944) and brought up in Britain, where he worked in the British Broadcasting Centre (BBC), ending up as Head of Current Affairs TV for the BBC in Northern Ireland. While working in Belfast... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Genghis: Lords of the Bow

    Try:
    Heretic
    by Bernard Cornwell

  • David Anthony Durham

    David Anthony Durham

    David Anthony Durham (born 1969) is an American novelist, author of historical fiction and fantasy. The child of parents of Caribbean ancestry, he grew up in Maryland. He has also lived in the United Kingdom and France, where... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Genghis: Lords of the Bow

    Try:
    The Pride of Carthage
    by David Anthony Durham

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.