Announcing our 2021 Award Winners and Top 20 Books of the Year

Lionel Shriver biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Lionel Shriver
Jerry Bauer

Lionel Shriver

How to pronounce Lionel Shriver: LIE-uh-nuhl SHRIVE-er

Lionel Shriver Biography

Journalist and author Lionel Shriver was born Margaret Ann Shriver in 1957 in North Carolina, USA. She changed her name to Lionel at the age of 15 because she wanted to distance herself from the "girl with the pink ribbons in her hair, who married her high-school sweetheart and became an apple-cheeked housewife" that she felt was implied by the name Margaret Ann and the expectations of her family.

She received a BA and MFA from Columbia University and, since then, has lived in Nairobi, Bangkok, Belfast (where she reported on the Troubles for 12 years) and London.

Her first novel, The Female of the Species, was published when she was 29 (1986), and was followed by Checker and the Derailleurs (1987), Ordinary Decent Criminals (1990), Game Control (1994), A Perfectly Good Family (1996) and Double Fault (1997).

Although her earlier books received good reviews, sales did not follow, and she supported herself through journalism. Things changed with the publication of We Need To Talk About Kevin (2003) in which a teenager murders his classmates in a school shooting and a mother is forced to confront her son's monstrous act and her role in them. We Need To Talk About Kevin was rejected outright by her agent, so Shriver had to shop it around on her own. Eight months later, having found a new agent and been rejected by at least 30 publishers, the novel was picked up by a small publishing company. It went on to receive significant public recognition and won the 2005 Orange Prize. Publishers Weekly said, "A number of fictional attempts have been made to portray what might lead a teenager to kill a number of schoolmates or teachers, Columbine style, but Shriver's is the most triumphantly accomplished by far."

The Post-Birthday World was published in 2007 to considerable acclaim.

According to an interview at BN.com, like Irena in The Post-Birthday World, Shriver is a good cook with a penchant for hot food, "if inclined to lace every dish from cucumber canapés to ice cream with such a malice of fresh chilies that nobody but I can eat it." She is also a stickler for grammar and pronunciation and claims that she is the "lone champion of the accusative case". She runs regularly, following a nine-mile course around Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens in London where she and her husband, jazz drummer Jeff Williams, currently live. They do not have children. In a 2005 interview she wrote “I decided very young that I didn't want children .... I was about eight  ... And I never changed my mind. But as I grew older, I thought, before I make this decision for keeps, let's look at it.  I needed change - I needed a successful book. But I didn't want to substitute a child for a successful book, and I worried that's what I would end up doing. I wasn't dissatisfied enough with my life to throw a spanner into the works for its own sake."

She has written for the Wall Street Journal, The Economist, the Philadelphia Enquirer, and since 2005, has written a column for The Guardian newspaper. Apparently, on her death, she plans to will her assets to the Belfast Library Board, from whose libraries she checked out so many books when she lived in Northern Ireland.



This bio was last updated on 10/20/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Lionel Shriver at BookBrowse
Should We Stay or Should We Go jacket Property jacket Big Brother jacket The New Republic jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Lionel Shriver but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Kate Atkinson

    Kate Atkinson

    Kate Atkinson was born in York, England in 1951 and studied English Literature at Dundee University in Scotland. After graduating in 1974, she researched a postgraduate doctorate on American Literature. She later taught at ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Post-Birthday World

    Try:
    Life After Life
    by Kate Atkinson

  • Julian Barnes

    Julian Barnes

    Julian Barnes was born in Leicester, England on January 19, 1946. He was educated at the City of London School from 1957 to 1964 and at Magdalen College, Oxford, from which he graduated in modern languages (with honors) in ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Post-Birthday World

    Try:
    The Sense of an Ending
    by Julian Barnes

We recommend 25 similar authors

View all 25 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Lightning Strike
    Lightning Strike
    by William Kent Krueger
    It is the summer of 1963 in Tamarack County, Minnesota. Just outside the small town of Aurora, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Forest of Vanishing Stars
    The Forest of Vanishing Stars
    by Kristin Harmel
    Kristin Harmel's historical novel The Forest of Vanishing Stars was very well-received by our First ...
  • Book Jacket: The Lincoln Highway
    The Lincoln Highway
    by Amor Towles
    Voted 2021 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Things look bleak for Emmett ...
  • Book Jacket: The Code Breaker
    The Code Breaker
    by Walter Isaacson
    Voted 2021 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    What makes humans human? It's ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Beasts of a Little Land
    by Juhea Kim

    An epic story of love, war, and redemption set against the backdrop of the Korean independence movement.

Win This Book!
Win Taste Makers

Taste Makers
by Mayukh Sen

America's modern culinary history told through the lives of seven pathbreaking chefs and food writers.

Enter

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.