Carmen Bin Ladin biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Carmen Bin Ladin

Carmen Bin Ladin

Carmen Bin Ladin Biography

Carmen Bin Ladin/ Carmen Dufour was born in 1954 in Lausanne, Switzerland. Her father was Swiss, hence the name Dufour, and her mother was Persian. She was raised in Lausanne by her mother along with three other sisters.

From 1974 to 1988, she was married to one of Osama bin Laden's older brothers, Yeslam bin Ladin. They were married in 1974 in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

In 2004, she published Inside the Kingdom: My Life in Saudi Arabia, a personal account of her life as a Saudi Arabian wife and mother. The book contains insights into life in the bin Laden family and her relationship with them and her former husband.

She later moved to Geneva with her then husband and three children, and finally left her husband in 1988, asking for a divorce in 1994. She finally obtained a divorce 12 years later in January 2006.

She lives in Switzerland with her three daughters.



This bio was last updated on 11/11/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Carmen Bin Ladin at BookBrowse
Inside The Kingdom jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Carmen Bin Ladin but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Cheryl Benard

    Cheryl Benard

    Dr. Cheryl Benard has worked as an analyst for European and American think tanks. She is a researcher with the RAND Corporation. She received her B.A. in political science from the American University of Beirut and her PhD ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Inside The Kingdom

    Try:
    Veiled Courage
    by Cheryl Benard

  • Yossef Bodansky

    Yossef Bodansky

    Yossef Bodansky, senior fellow, is also Director of Research at the International Strategic Studies Assoction. He is the Senior Editor of Defense and Foreign Affairs publications, and has authored numerous books on terrorism ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Inside The Kingdom

    Try:
    Bin Laden
    by Yossef Bodansky

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The End of Eddy
    The End of Eddy
    by Edouard Louis
    The End of Eddy has been a publishing phenomenon in Édouard Louis' native France, where it...
  • Book Jacket: If We Were Villains
    If We Were Villains
    by M L. Rio
    22 out of 28 of our reviewers rated If We Were Villains four or five stars, giving it an overall ...
  • Book Jacket: The Islamic Enlightenment
    The Islamic Enlightenment
    by Christopher de Bellaigue
    In this comprehensive and well-researched history, de Bellaigue examines the evolution of Islamic ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Scribe of Siena
    by Melodie Winawer

    Equal parts transporting love story, meticulously researched historical fiction, and compelling time-travel narrative.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Chalk Pit

The Chalk Pit:
A Ruth Galloway Mystery

A string of murders takes Ruth underground in the newest book in the series.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T W Don't M A R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -