The Inn at Rose Harbor: Book summary and reviews of The Inn at Rose Harbor by Debbie Macomber

The Inn at Rose Harbor

A Novel

by Debbie Macomber

The Inn at Rose Harbor
  • Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Aug 2012
    352 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

Jo Marie Rose first arrives in Cedar Cove seeking a sense of peace and a fresh start. Coping with the death of her husband, she purchases a local bed-and-breakfast - the newly christened Rose Harbor Inn - ready to begin her life anew. Yet the inn holds more surprises than Jo Marie can imagine.
 
Her first guest is Joshua Weaver, who has come home to care for his ailing stepfather. The two have never seen eye to eye, and Joshua has little hope that they can reconcile their differences. But a long-lost acquaintance from Joshua's high school days proves to him that forgiveness is never out of reach and love can bloom even where it's least expected.

The other guest is Abby Kincaid, who has returned to Cedar Cove to attend her brother's wedding. Back for the first time in twenty years, she almost wishes she hadn't come, the picturesque town harboring painful memories from her past. And while Abby reconnects with family and old friends, she realizes she can only move on if she truly allows herself to let go.

A touching novel of life's grand possibilities and the heart's ability to heal, The Inn at Rose Harbor is a welcome introduction to an unforgettable set of friends.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"With her characteristic optimism, Macomber provides fresh starts for [her characters]." - Booklist

The information about The Inn at Rose Harbor shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Cloggie Downunder

Sweet and enjoyable
The Inn at Rose Harbor is the first book (apart from the prequel eShort, When First They Met) in the Rose Harbor series by popular American author, Debbie Macomber. This is a new series but is set in Cedar Cove, Washington, so fans of the long-running Cedar Cove series will be pleased at occasional glimpses and cameo appearances of characters from that series. Jo Marie Rose is a young widow who has bought a B&B in Cedar Cove, a move she is hoping will help her heal from the loss of her husband, Paul. Her first guests are people who also need healing: Abby Kincaid is a guilt-ridden young woman who fled Cedar Cove fifteen years ago after being the driver in a car accident that killed her best friend; Josh Weaver has returned to Cedar Cove to tend his ailing step-father, the same man who kicked him out of his home after his mother died. Macomber is the queen of feelgood and manages to organise forgiveness, reconciliation and true love for both Abby and Josh over the course of three days. It seems that Jo Marie’s healing is advancing too. Olivia Griffin, Grace Harding, Corrie McAfee and Peggy Beldon make appearances, as do a few spirits, a dubious character looking for a handout, a cranky handyman and a dog named Rover. Macomber sets up the next book in the series, Rose Harbor in Bloom, by having Jo Marie take bookings for the next two guests, and also includes a couple of knitting patterns. Sweet and enjoyable.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Debbie Macomber Author Biography

Photo: Diane Gregory Meyer

Debbie Macomber is a leading voice in women's fiction. With more than 150 million copies of her books in print, this New York Times bestselling author is best known for her ability to create compelling characters and bring their stories to life. Three of her novels have scored the #1 slot on the New York Times, USA Today and Publishers Weekly lists during their first week on sale. She is the first-ever recipient of the "readers' choice" Quill Award for Romance Fiction, for 44 Cranberry Point, the fourth book in her highly popular Cedar Cove series. Debbie has also been honored with a RITA for her 2005 holiday hardcover, The Christmas Basket; an RT Book Reviews Lifetime Achievement in Mainstream Fiction award (2012) and is a multiple winner of both the Holt Medallion and the B. Dalton ...

... Full Biography
Link to Debbie Macomber's Website

Name Pronunciation
Debbie Macomber: MAY-cumber

Other books by Debbie Macomber at BookBrowse
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more novels...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.