Deadly Cure: Book summary and reviews of Deadly Cure by Lawrence Goldstone

Deadly Cure

A Novel

by Lawrence Goldstone

Deadly Cure by Lawrence Goldstone X
Deadly Cure by Lawrence Goldstone
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Nov 2017
    336 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

A remarkable new historical thriller by New York Times notable mystery author Lawrence Goldstone that evokes the New York City of 1899.

In 1899, in Brooklyn, New York, Dr. Noah Whitestone is called urgently to his wealthy neighbor's house to treat a five-year-old boy with a shocking set of symptoms. When the child dies suddenly later that night, Noah is accused by the boy's regular physician--the powerful and politically connected Dr. Arnold Frias--of prescribing a lethal dose of laudanum.

To prove his innocence, Noah must investigate the murder--for it must be murder--and confront the man whom he is convinced is the real killer. His investigation leads him to a reporter for a muckraking magazine and a beautiful radical editor who are convinced that a secret, experimental drug from Germany has caused the death of at least five local children, and possibly many more. By degrees, Noah is drawn into a dangerous world of drugs, criminals, and politics, which threatens not just his career but also his life.

As he did in his first highly successful medical thriller The Anatomy of Deception, Goldstone weaves a savvy tale of intrigue and stunning twists that incorporates real-life historical figures and events into the action while richly recreating the closing days of the nineteenth century--a time when American might was on the march in the Pacific, medicine was poised to leap into a new era, radical politics threatened the status quo in American and Europe, and the role of women in American society was undergoing profound change.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Starred Review. Set in New York City in 1899, this exceptional thriller from Goldstone exposes the underside of American medicine at that time. Goldstone again blends fact and fiction seamlessly." - Publishers Weekly

"A fascinating perspective on the introduction and misuse of patent medicines, this puzzler makes a forceful statement against the kinds of drugs that are still a problem today. With strong female characters, twisted bad guys, and a suspenseful, fast-moving plot, this immensely readable historical mystery compares well with Anne Perry's A Sunless Sea and E. S. Thomson's Beloved Poison." - Booklist

"Goldstone follows his acclaimed debut historical mystery, The Anatomy of Deception, with another vibrant and distinctive forensic page-turner. For fans of Caleb Carr and E.S. Thompson." - Library Journal

"Goldstone presents a chilling account of the deadly respiratory diseases (and even deadlier medical treatments) that are claiming the lives of Brooklyn children during the hard winter of 1899...not even New York's governor, Theodore Roosevelt, has the clout to rein in 'the vast web of corruption in our pharmaceutical industry' that has cost so many lives and introduced the world to some killer drugs." - New York Times Book Review

"Known for his mysteries, Goldstone provides extensive medical knowledge in his writing. Fascinating. If you like to be immersed in a good mystery, you will enjoy this novel." - Historical Novels Review

"Goldstone weaves a savvy tale of intrigue and stunning twists that incorporates real-life historical figures and events into the action while richly recreating the closing days of the nineteenth century." - Criminal Element

This information about Deadly Cure shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's membership magazine, and in our weekly "Publishing This Week" newsletter. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Any "Author Information" displayed below reflects the author's biography at the time this particular book was published.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Lawrence Goldstone Author Biography

Photo: Emily Goldstone

Lawrence Goldstone began life on Wall Street and has now written over a dozen books. His latest is Drive!: Henry Ford, George Selden, and the Race to Invent the Auto Age. The first book in this series of innovation histories was Birdmen: The Wright Brothers, Glenn Curtiss, and the Battle to Control the Skies. He and his wife, author Nancy Goldstone, live in East Hampton, New York.

Link to Lawrence Goldstone's Website

Other books by Lawrence Goldstone at BookBrowse
  • Birdmen jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more historical fiction...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: How the Word Is Passed
    How the Word Is Passed
    by Clint Smith
    With legislatures around the U.S. rushing to ban the teaching of critical race theory, it's clear ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Vape
    Big Vape
    by Jamie Ducharme
    In Big Vape, TIME reporter Jamie Ducharme studies the short but inflammatory history of Juul. Her ...
  • Book Jacket: Love and Fury
    Love and Fury
    by Samantha Silva
    Mary Wollstonecraft is best known for being an early advocate for women's rights and the mother of ...
  • Book Jacket: Walking on Cowrie Shells
    Walking on Cowrie Shells
    by Nana Nkweti
    The stories in Nana Nkweti's dexterous debut collection examine the raw alienation of being ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The War Nurse
by Tracey Enerson Wood
A sweeping novel by an international bestselling author based on a true World War I story.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Personal Librarian
    by Marie Benedict and Victoria Christopher Murray

    The little-known story of an extraordinary woman who defies all odds.

  • Book Jacket

    At the Chinese Table
    by Carolyn Phillips

    Part memoir of life in Taiwan, part love story—A beautifully told account of China's cuisines with recipes.

Win This Book!
Win Gordo

Gordo by Jaime Cortez

"Dark and hilarious ... singular and soaring ... Hands down, top debut of 2021."—Literary Hub

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

N Say N

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.