Reviews and excerpts of books that have won major book awards.

Major Book Awards

Each year literary foundations, trusts, and other groups award prizes for the best recent books. Winners of some of the most notable prizes are listed below:

BookBrowse Awards
Pulitzer Prize for Letters, Drama and Music
Booker Prize
The John Newbery Medal
Edgar Awards
National Book Critics Circle Award
National Book Awards
Costa Book Awards
Indie Booksellers’ Choice Awards

  • BookBrowse Awards

    Since 2000, BookBrowse has asked its members and subscribers to select the best books published each year. Through a rigorous voting process, this shortlist is then honed down to find the BookBrowse Awards Winners.

    2018 BookBrowse Awards Winners
    Previous Winners

    More about the BookBrowse Awards

  • Pulitzer Prize for Letters, Drama and Music

    Joseph Pulitzer, a renowned journalist, established this award in 1917. Since 1984 Pulitzer winners have received their prizes from the president of Columbia University at a luncheon in May in the rotunda of the Low Library in the presence of family members, professional associates, board members, and the faculty of the School of Journalism.

    2019 Pulitzer Prize for Letters, Drama and Music Winners
    Previous Winners

  • Booker Prize

    Awarded in October each year, the Booker Prize is the UK's top literary prize and the most watched single-book award in the English-speaking world. Until 2013 the award was open only to citizens of the Commonwealth of nations (in essence, the UK and former British colonies). As of 2014 the award is open to authors worldwide so long as their work is in English and published in the UK.

    2018 Booker Prize Winners
    Previous Winners

  • The John Newbery Medal

    The Newbery Medal is awarded in January each year by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year.

    2019 The John Newbery Medal Winners
    Previous Winners

  • Edgar Awards

    Mystery Writers of America is the premier organization for mystery writers, professionals allied to the crime writing field, aspiring crime writers, and those who are devoted to the genre. MWA is dedicated to promoting higher regard for crime writing and recognition and respect for those who write within the genre. Each Spring, Mystery Writers of America present the Edgar® Awards, widely acknowledged to be the most prestigious awards in the genre.

    2019 Edgar Awards Winners
    Previous Winners

  • National Book Critics Circle Award

    Each March, the NBCC present awards for the finest books and reviews published in English (in the USA) the previous year in six categories: Fiction, nonfiction, autobiography, biography, criticism and poetry.

    2018 National Book Critics Circle Award Winners
    • NBCC Award for Fiction:
      Milkman by Anna Burns

    • NBCC Award for Nonfiction:
      Directorate S by Steve Coll

    • NBCC Award for Biography:
      Flash by Christopher Bonanos

    • NBCC Award for Criticism:
      Feel Free by Zadie Smith

    • NBCC Award for Poetry:
      The Carrying by Ada Limón

    • NBCC John Leonard Prize: Best First Book in Any Genre:
      There There by Tommy Orange

    Previous Winners

  • National Book Awards

    First awarded in 1950, the National Book Awards recognize the best of American literature. The Awards are announced in November.

    2018 National Book Awards Winners
    • National Book Award for Fiction:
      The Friend by Sigrid Nunez

    • National Book Award for Nonfiction:
      The New Negro by Jeffrey C. Stewart

    • National Book Award for Autobiography:
      Belonging by Nora Krug

    • National Book Award for Poetry:
      Indecency by Justin Phillip Reed

    • National Book Award for Young People's Literature:
      The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

    • National Book Award for Translated Literature:
      The Emissary by Yoko Tawada (author), Margaret Mitsutani (Translator)

    Previous Winners

  • Costa Book Awards

    The Costas are the UK's most prestigious book awards. Established by Whitbread Plc in 1971 and known as the Whitbread Awards, they were rebranded the Costa Awards in 2006. Costa is a UK based coffee shop chain owned by Whitbread Plc. The five category winners (First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book) are announced in early January, honoring books published the previous year. The Costa Book of the Year Award is announced in late January.

    2018 Costa Book Awards Winners
    Previous Winners

  • Indie Booksellers’ Choice Awards

    First awarded in 2011: “The award grew out of my distaste for most literary prizes,” explained Melville House’s Dennis Johnson. “The point is usually to laud some individual or book that doesn’t really need the stroking. We wanted to come up with something that would better support the ecosystem we live in. The IBCA is good for the author, good for the bookseller, and good for the publisher, and so it’s good for art and industry.”

    2018 Indie Booksellers’ Choice Awards Winners
    Previous Winners

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Patsy
    by Nicole Dennis-Benn

    A haunting depiction of immigration and womanhood, and the silent threads of love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.