Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Steven Barnes Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Steven Barnes

Steven Barnes

An interview with Steven Barnes

Steven Barnes talks about how the talented songwriter Heather Alexander was able to create Irish slave songs to accompany his bestselling book Lion's Blood, and how this helped him while writing the book.



The Music of Lion's Blood by Steven Barnes


February 18, 2003


About three years ago, I was deeply occupied with the writing of Lion's Blood. I came to feel that the basic concept behind it was almost outrageously controversial, and that I would be able to use every ounce of creativity I could muster to increase verisimilitude, to overcome a reader's natural tendency to say "It's only a book, its only a book..." which would severely compromise my goals for the project. It occurred to me that one way to do this would be the deeping on the slave culture, to give the reader the sense that they had existed before the book began, and would continue to live after the covers were closed. What if, I thought, I could create some Irish slave songs: spirituals, work songs, etc., that would carry their culture and express their emotions in a way similar to the way such songs did in the American South?


I had been introduced to Heather Alexander by a mutual friend, Sonia Lyris, and thought that Heather might be absolutely ideal—she was talented, a dynamite performer, a songwriter, and we had made, I thought, a good personal connection. This was essential, because Lion's Blood is an incredibly personal project, and I needed someone I could trust.


I sat Heather down at Portland Orycon in, I think November of 1999, and described the project, asking her if she might be interested in writing two or three songs for me. Little did I guess what I would unleash!! As she began to produce songs and demos of songs, and let me listen to early tapes, I realized that I had triggered something extraordinary, and was completely blown away by her willingness to embrace my alternate reality whole-heartedly. Because of the way I write, I was able to offer Heather a very early draft of the book long before the work was completed. As a result, I could actually listen to her music AS I was writing the final text!


Beyond any doubt, this contributed to the quality of the work. Having my own sound track was phenomenal, and an experience few writers have had.


One of the reasons this was important was the fact that so many of the characters were not of my own ethnicity, and I demanded of myself an acceptance of their humanity that surpassed anything I had seen white writers doing with black characters—I'd be damned if I'd succumb to the very emotional/cultural trap so many otherwise exemplary authors had fallen into. Heather and her family read early drafts, came back with comments and suggestions, and were an ideal audience.


Wonderful as listening to INSH'ALLAH: THE MUSIC OF LION'S BLOOD has been, even more gratifying have been the times when Heather and I performed on stage together: she and her band Uffington Horse performing while I read sections of the book related to the song. Just last weekend we did this in Pasco, Washington for a packed audience, and got a standing ovation.


Heavens. What a thrill! I am incredibly grateful for Heather's care and talent, and the fact that she was willing to contribute to the most important project of my life. I don't really think I can put into words how wonderful I think her work is: but luckily, Heather's music speaks for itself.


Copyright © 2003 by Steven Barnes

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Steven Barnes at BookBrowse
Devil's Wake jacket Shadow Valley jacket Zulu Heart jacket Lion's Blood jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Steven Barnes but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Greg Bear

    Greg Bear

    Greg Bear was born in San Diego, California, on August 20th, 1951, to Wilma M. and Dale F. Bear. His father was in the navy so as a child he had traveled extensively to Japan, the Philippines and Alaska, as well as touring... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Lion's Blood

    Try:
    Darwin's Children
    by Greg Bear

  • Austin Clarke

    Austin Clarke

    Austin Clarke was a professor of literature and taught at Yale, Brandeis, Williams, Duke, and the Universities of Texas and Indiana. He assisted in setting up a Black Studies program at Yale in 1968, after which he became the... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Lion's Blood

    Try:
    The Polished Hoe
    by Austin Clarke

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Who Said...

The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.