Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Jan Maher Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Jan Maher

Jan Maher

An interview with Jan Maher

Jan Maher discusses Heaven, Indiana, how it was based on her meeting with the daughter of a worker at a carnival, and her own experiences growing up in Indiana.

A chance meeting at a carnival in Huntington 45 years ago is inspiration for Jan Maher's first novel, "Heaven, Indiana." Maher, who lives in Seattle, spent her first seven years in Huntington, where she was born.

"A main theme of the book is the way in which social and political interaction affects us," Maher said during a telephone interview from Heritage College in Seattle. She teaches educational methods, curriculum and learning theory there and has written several plays, essays, and poetry.  Maher, 54, lived at the Huntington home of her maternal grandmother, Louise Miller, from 1946 through 1952. The house was at 652 E. Market St. Jan Maher's father, James Maher Jr., grew up in Marion, but moved to Huntington after marrying Alberta Ruth Miller. Ruth Miller-Lang now lives in Chicago. James Maher Jr. died in 1971 in Cincinnati.

While Maher bases "Heaven, Indiana" on her meeting with the daughter of a worker at a carnival that had made a stop at Hier's Park she said that incident is the only thing autobiographical.  "It's very hard to quantify a work of fiction," the author said. "Fiction is a synthesis of everything. It's a bit of what would happen if you put a certain element with another element but yes, pieces of the book are from experience.  "For example, I probably patterned the house Ellie lives in in the book after my grandmother's house."  Ellie and Nadja are main characters in the novel and the house where Ellie lives is near a railroad track. "I recall that the Erie Railroad was close to my grandmother's house," Maher said. "And I've always remembered Hier's Park."

Maher explained she was 8 years old and had already moved with her parents to Fort Wayne, but was visiting in Huntington when she met the daughter of a carnival worker.  "That girl and I were at a swing set at Hier's Park," the writer said. "I recall thinking at the time that meeting someone from somewhere else was a strange phenomenon and as a child I fantasized how glorious carnival life might be."

In Maher's book, the reader learns Nadja is an illegitimate child and grows up to become a fortune-teller.  "Illegitimate births were hushed when I was growing up in Indiana," Maher said. "Rumors would fly when a girl would leave school that she was pregnant and going to a home for unwed mothers."  There is no town in Indiana named Heaven, but Maher said during a trip to Hartford City in 1994 to do research for her book she drove to a country roads intersection in Blackford County just south of Montpelier. "I liked what I saw," she said. "It seemed so peaceful. I decided to choose that spot as setting for the town where most of the action in my book takes place."

Much of the dialogue in the novel centers around gossip at the beauty shop in Heaven operated by Sue Ellen Sue (Seese), a contemporary of Ellie and Nadja. "Seese's shop is the women's hub of town news and history," Maher said.  Another social hub is Clara's Kitchen where Stella is proprietor. The reader is privy to lots of gossip at Clara's Kitchen from the mostly men - farmers and owners and workers at Heaven's small businesses - who frequent the restaurant. Clara's Kitchen is not unlike Nick's Kitchen or George's Dog House, popular gathering places in downtown Huntington.

"I find there is something very secretive about people's lives that's hidden underneath all that flatness in Indiana," Maher said. "What I've tried to do in the book is pull away the flat rug and reveal some of the secrets of the characters.  "As a child, I also had the feeling that Indiana was a state with a secret history," Maher said in reference to underground railroads described in the book. The underground "railroad" system of safe houses in Indiana was used by slaves in the South to escape to the North.  "Heaven, Indiana" has a surprise ending concerning a person of mixed race.  "I find irony in the fact that while an Indiana law prohibiting people of different races from marrying one another was not abolished until 1965 there have always been people of mixed race living in the state," Maher said.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Jan Maher at BookBrowse
Heaven, Indiana jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Jan Maher but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Daniel Akst

    Daniel Akst

    Dan Akst is a writer whose work has appeared in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Slate and other leading publications. His most recent book is We Have Met the Enemy: Self-Control in an... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Heaven, Indiana

    Try:
    The Webster Chronicle
    by Daniel Akst

  • Dayna Dunbar

    Dayna Dunbar

    Dayna Dunbar is a native Oklahoman who currently makes her home in Santa Monica, CA. She grew up in Yukon, a tightly knit farming and grain-milling town in Oklahoma, where most folks were relatives or family friends. This ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Heaven, Indiana

    Try:
    The Saints and Sinners of Okay County
    by Dayna Dunbar

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Wings Upon Her Back
    by Samantha Mills
    Faith is a delicate thing. At its best, it can offer peace in times of crisis. At its worst, it can ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.