Brian Jacques Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Brian Jacques
Photo by British Broadcasting Co.

Brian Jacques

How to pronounce Brian Jacques: jakes (rhymes with makes)

An interview with Brian Jacques

Brian Jacques shares where he gets his ideas and inspiration, when he started writing, and what he did before becoming a writer.



NAME:
Brian Jacques (pronounced ‘jakes’)

DATE OF BIRTH:
15 June 1939

PLACE OF BIRTH:
Liverpool, England

FAVOURITE BOOKS:
The works of Mario Puzo, Damon Runyon, and P. G. Wodehouse are amongst Brian’s favourites. That is when he has time to read!

FAVOURITE MUSIC:
As you may already know Brian loves opera, but all music is a must ‘I could not live without music’

MOST TREASURED POSSESSION:
Teddy. Brian’s West Highland Terrier!

When did Brian start writing?
Brian knew from an early age, 10 years old in fact, that he would become a writer. Asked to write a story on his first day at school, Brian wrote a story about a bird that cleaned a crocodile’s teeth. His teacher refused to believe that a ten-year-old could write that well, claming that the young Brian copied the story. When Brian protested his innocence he was branded a ‘liar’. It was then that Brian realised he had a talent for writing and indeed wanted to be a writer.

Where does Brian get his ideas and inspiration from?
Taking ‘Teddy’, the family dog for a walk is one of Brian’s favourite ways of clearing his mind for new ideas. Quite often ideas come to him in his dreams as well.

Brian’s favourite place in the world:
The place where all the writing takes place. Most of Brian’s writing is created outside, seated in a corner, under the lilac bush, next to the dwarf apple tree. Brian does all of his writing here on an old typewriter rescued from a shipping office. If it rains, out comes the patio umbrella or Brian and the typewriter move into a specially constructed conservatory. Tuesday to Friday is set aside for working on Brian’s current book. On average twelve pages a day can be written, but if inspiration hits him a massive twenty-five pages can be produced. Monday is when Brian answers your fan mail.

What are Brian’s hobbies?
Phew, with all the writing Brian does it leaves him little time for hobbies – I have heard that he is quite partial to a crossword though! Oh and there is always time for taking Teddy for a walk!

What did Brian do before he became a writer?
Before becoming a writer Brian had many jobs. He’s worked as a merchant seaman, a railway fireman, a long-distance lorry driver, a boxer, a policeman, a postmaster and a stand-up comic. At one point in the 1960’s he and six friends, including two of his brothers, formed a folk singing group known as The Liverpool Fishermen! Nowadays as well as writing, Brian hosts his own radio show, Jakestown.

Brian’s top tip to writing:
Paint. That’s the magic word. Paint pictures with words. That’s the greatest advice I can give anybody. Paint the pictures with words. The picture will appear in the imagination so the person reading it can say, "I can see that".

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Brian Jacques at BookBrowse
The Sable Quean (Redwall) jacket Castaways of The Flying Dutchman jacket Lord Brocktree jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Brian Jacques but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Edward Bloor

    Edward Bloor

    Edward Bloor (born October 12, 1950) is an American author best known for his work in teenage and young adult fiction. Born into a diverse community in Trenton New Jersey, Bloor enjoyed an active lifestyle as a child, often ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Castaways of The Flying Dutchman

    Try:
    London Calling
    by Edward Bloor

  • Kate DiCamillo

    Kate DiCamillo

    It's a pipe dream of many an aspiring author: publish your debut novel, claim a spot on the New York Times bestseller list, and rack up an astonishing array of awards, including a Newbery Honor. For Kate DiCamillo, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Lord Brocktree

    Try:
    The Tale of Despereaux
    by Kate DiCamillo

We recommend 13 similar authors

View all 13 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Most Precious Substance on Earth
    The Most Precious Substance on Earth
    by Shashi Bhat
    Think of all the worst parts of puberty — all the moments you partially miss or brood about ...
  • Book Jacket
    Lightning Strike
    by William Kent Krueger
    It is the summer of 1963 in Tamarack County, Minnesota. Just outside the small town of Aurora, ...
  • Book Jacket: Bitch
    Bitch
    by Lucy Cooke
    In middle school biology class, many of us were told that men hunt and women nest, that testosterone...
  • Book Jacket: Jackie & Me
    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard
    Louis Bayard's Jackie & Me offers a fictionalized version of the early relationship between John F. ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Dirt Creek
    by Hayley Scrivenor

    "A heart-wrenching mystery, Scrivenor's remarkable sense of place brings Dirt Creek to life. A stellar debut."
    —Jane Harper,

  • Book Jacket

    Widowland
    by C. J. Carey

    A thrilling feminist dystopian novel set in an alternate 1950s Britain under the control of the Third Reich.

Who Said...

It is among the commonplaces of education that we often first cut off the living root and then try to replace its ...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wishes W H B W R

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.