BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

Cynthia Kadohata Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Cynthia Kadohata

Cynthia Kadohata

How to pronounce Cynthia Kadohata: ca-do-HAR-ta

An interview with Cynthia Kadohata

Cynthia Kadohata discusses her life and her books, in particular Kira-Kira, her first book for children, which won the 2005 Newbery Award.

Other than Kira-Kira, what other books have you published?
The Floating World, In the Heart of the Valley of Love, and The Glass Mountains.  Although Kira-Kira is my first novel written specifically for young readers, all three of my previous novels feature young main characters. For my adult writing, I've received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation. I also received a Chesterfield Writer's Film Project screenwriting fellowship.


Where were your parents interned during WWII?

My father and his family were interned in the Poston camp on the Colorado River Indian Reservation in the Sonoran desert.  One source claims he thermometer in 1942 hit more than 140 degrees in the Poston area. Weedflower, my next novel for Atheneum, involves a friendship between a young Japanese American girl living in the internment camp and a young Mohave boy living on the reservation.

My father was drafted out of the camp and assigned to the U.S. Army Military Intelligence Service.  Three full brothers whom he'd never met lived in Japan. Two of them were killed during the war. He met the third when he served in Japan for MIS.

My mother lived in Hawaii, where people of Japanese ancestry were not interned.


What do you love besides your family?
Books, dark chocolate, and dogs, although I do consider my dog part of my family.


What do you hate?
Carnival rides.  Once at a carnival they had to stop a ride early so I could get off.  I stumbled off the ride, collapsed onto the ground, and spent the rest of the night in the back seat of the car.


How did you first get published?
I wrote about forty different stories over four years and sent them to magazines, especially The New Yorker and The Atlantic Monthly . Eventually I sold one to The New Yorker.  


Do you get along with your editor?
Yes.  I do whatever she tells me.  To clarify, first I storm around the house and pout for a week or two.  And then I do whatever she tells me.  I've known my editor for twenty years.  We were roommates in graduate school.  We ate healthy foods during the week, and then once a week we had a junk-food-a-thon and ate a lot of chips and dip.  During the week we went to aerobics classes and occasionally jogging.   


What are your favorite children's books?
One of my favorite children's books growing up was The Diamond in the Window by Jane Langton.  When I was an aspiring writer, I actually met Jane Langton in a ladies' room.  I was absolutely thrilled, but she was just trying to go to the bathroom.  I'm embarrassed to say I bothered her for an autograph before she could pee!!  She was quite gracious.

I liked any books concerning animals, whether the animals were horses, dogs, pigs, or dinosaurs.  I loved The Call of the Wild and still love it.  Same with Lassie Come-Home.  A couple of other great books about animals are White Fang and Misty of Chincoteague. And I read all the Newbery novels -- King of the Wind and A Wrinkle in Time were special favorites.  

A couple of my current favorites are Holes and Saffy's Angel.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Cynthia Kadohata at BookBrowse
The Thing About Luck jacket Outside Beauty jacket Kira-Kira jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Cynthia Kadohata but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Patricia Reilly Giff

    Patricia Reilly Giff

    As a reading teacher for 20 years, the educational consultant for Dell Yearling and Young Yearling books, an adviser and instructor to aspiring writers, and the author of more than 60 books for children, Patricia Reilly... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Kira-Kira

    Try:
    The House of Tailors
    by Patricia Reilly Giff

  • Kelly Loy Gilbert

    Kelly Loy Gilbert

    Kelly Loy Gilbert believes deeply in the power of stories to illuminate a shared humanity and give voice to complex, broken people. She is the author of Conviction, a William C. Morris Award finalist, Picture Us in the Light,... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Kira-Kira

    Try:
    Picture Us In The Light
    by Kelly Loy Gilbert

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Blue Ruin
    Blue Ruin
    by Hari Kunzru
    Like Red Pill and White Tears, the first two novels in Hari Kunzru's loosely connected Three-...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.