John Searles Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

John Searles

John Searles

An interview with John Searles

John Searles discusses his most recent book, Strange But True, and compares the process of writing fiction with his job as an editor at Cosmopolitan.

Are there any parallels between your own arrival in New York City and Philip's?
Like Philip, I had a very colorful introduction to New York City. For years, I lived upstairs from an eccentric Village character who existed on a steady diet of martinis and cigarettes. I'd run into him in the hallway some days and he'd be dressed in a woman's blouse for no apparent reason. So he was an obvious inspiration for Donnelly. Thankfully, he didn't have a pet bird, because I happen to have a terrible phobia of birds as does Philip.

How do you approach the process of writing fiction, compared to your work at Cosmopolitan?
Both experiences are so different. At Cosmo, my work is part of a huge group effort each month, whereas my writing is done in solitude for long stretches of time until I am ready to share the story with my editor. Still, I approach both things with a great deal of focus while trying to maintain a sense of humor about myself and not take things too seriously.

Do you find it challenging or liberating (or both) to create such high-strung suspense in your storytelling?
Both. Since I love to read books with three-dimensional characters and compelling storylines, that's the kind I try very hard to write. It's a challenge to keep readers on the edge of their seats, and incredibly liberating when I feel like I've actually pulled it off.

Though Boy Still Missing is set in the early 1970s, it contains a few of the same elements conveyed in Strange but True. Do you believe these novels reflect each other in any way, or would you prefer that we read them as entirely distinct?
On the surface, they are different books because Boy Still Missing is told from the single point-of-view of a teenage boy, while Strange but True alternates between several characters' perspectives. However, I think there are similarities in that halfway through both books there is a major surprise that transforms the entire world of the story for the characters as well as the reader. Also, both books deal with the themes of unexpected loss, which is something I've had to face in my own life.

Who were some of your mentors or sources of inspiration in launching your career as a novelist?
First and foremost, my grandma always told me I was going to grow up and be a writer someday. And later, when I was earning my bachelors degree, I had a poetry professor, Vivian Shipley, who gave me invaluable encouragement and is still very supportive to this day. In grad school at NYU, novelist Ann Hood was instrumental in helping me grow as a writer. Finally, Wally Lamb was a tremendous help. I am a huge fan of his writing and years ago, I drove to one of his book signings in Rhode Island. He was kind enough to offer to read my work, and when he did, he put me in touch with his agent. I am so grateful to all of these people who gave me help, especially my grandma.

What should we expect in your next book?
I plan to bring my readers the same sort of dark story as my first two books, with very real characters and plenty of plot twists.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by John Searles at BookBrowse
Help for the Haunted jacket Strange But True jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for John Searles but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Trezza Azzopardi

    Trezza Azzopardi

    Trezza Azzopardi was born in Cardiff, UK. She is a graduate of the Creative Writing Program at the University of East Anglia and is an external examiner for Creative and Cultural Studies at Norwich School of Art and Design.

    ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Strange But True

    Try:
    Remember Me
    by Trezza Azzopardi

  • Audrey Niffenegger

    Audrey Niffenegger

    Audrey Niffenegger trained as a visual artist at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and received her MFA from Northwestern University's Department of Art Theory and Practice. She has exhibited her artist's books, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Strange But True

    Try:
    The Time Traveler's Wife
    by Audrey Niffenegger

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Souvenir Museum
    The Souvenir Museum
    by Elizabeth McCracken
    Elizabeth McCracken's book The Souvenir Museum is composed of 12 short stories populated by ...
  • Book Jacket: First Person Singular
    First Person Singular
    by Haruki Murakami
    Readers familiar with Haruki Murakami will know that music is often a central theme in his work. The...
  • Book Jacket: Yolk
    Yolk
    by Mary Choi
    Mary H.K. Choi's young adult offering Yolk deftly maintains several plotlines running through the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Blizzard Party
    The Blizzard Party
    by Jack Livings
    It is 1978 and the place is New York City. A massive bacchanalian party is taking place at an Upper ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Widow Queen
    by Elzbieta Cherezinska

    The epic story of an 11th century Polish queen whose life and name were all but forgotten until now.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman
    by Julietta Henderson

    A charming, uplifting debut about a mother and her 12-year-old son, an aspiring comedian.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Miss Austen
by Gill Hornby
A witty, poignant novel about Cassandra Austen and her famous sister, Jane.
Who Said...

The moment we persuade a child, any child, to cross that threshold into a library, we've changed their lives ...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

P M Fly

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.