Robert Stone Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Robert Stone
Photo: Greg Martin

Robert Stone

An interview with Robert Stone

Robert Stone talks about the inspiration for Bay of Souls and how he became interested in voodoo.

Where did you get the idea for Bay Of Souls? What inspired you? How would you describe Bay Of Souls?
Matters of faith, possessing it, losing it, have always attracted me. Here I wanted to follow the condition of a character who, in an irony, loses the faith he has stubbornly maintained all his life and goes into a state of spiritual darkness. He is drawn into a passionate love affair in which he finds a physical and psychological gratification he has never known. He also finds himself in a life utterly different from the one he has lived. On one of the Windward islands, he also comes under the power of the afro-Caribbean syncretic religion known in different places as santeria, voudon, or candomble. Giving way to his feelings for Lara Purcell, he is forced to make his way through a spiritual maze, accepting as he resists this sophisticated and powerful religious structure of vaudon. He has always been drawn to danger and risk although it has been largely absent from his life. With Lara Purcell in St. Trinity, he finds it all. In Bay Of Souls Michael Ahearn undergoes a violent pilgrimage that is also a test of his ability to love and to accept life. He is overwhelmed by the pleasures, the confusions and terrors of the world he has entered.

Lara Purcell claims that her soul is possessed and Michael in turn seems to be possessed by her. How do you think that possession and love are connected?
Lara believes herself bound to the fearsome voudon personality known as "Marinette." One of the things she hopes for in Michael is a spiritual liberation. At the same time, Michael feels possessed by Lara. Both of them are bound by the desire for mutual possession all lovers feel and for them it has a spiritual dimension. This dimension is not one of peace and pietism. It is protean and demanding.

Professor Michael Ahearn designs a course consisting of works from early twentieth century vitalism. Did these works influence you when writing Bay Of Souls?
In writing Bay Of Souls, I was very aware of Michael’s interest in American literary vitalism, in the ideas of redemption through struggle, the match of love and death, the cleansing force of battle and the intensification of life through risk. He finds this in writers as different in their subjects as Kate Chopin and Jack London, Stephen Crane and Hemingway.

The political climate of St. Trinity evokes recent Caribbean history. Did you base the novel on any specific place? Years ago I had the opportunity to visit the santeria shrine at Barracoa in Cuba with a practitioner who was ready to explicate the beliefs behind African religion. Later, in Haiti, I stood outside a hounfor, a vaudon sanctuary, while some friends attended a celebration. I came to realize that this was a faith that had literally sustained millions of people, enabled them to survive the terrible trials of New World slavery. I felt its power.

Much of the novel feels like a fever dream. Is what we read imagined by Michael Ahearn?
From the moment Michael Ahearn loses his faith—perhaps from the moment he sees the strange figure of the enraged hunter in the silent forest—Michael’s perceptions are conditioned by a spiritual and psychological vertigo. He is, in a way, in an altered state, soul-sick, prey to illusion. He cannot trust the absolute reality of some of the things he sees, or the places in which he discovers himself. This is a variation on the realist mode which I have used before – in A Hall Of Mirrors, in Children Of Light, as well as in some of my short stories. I want to suggest that what we see around us is not definitive of things as they are. In Michael’s state, events simply take shape; whether they’re imagined or real is one of his problems.

What got you interested in Voodoo?
Religion and humankind’s spiritual need have always been my primary area of inquiry. Within one century the world has seen traditional religion fail, to be replaced by "rationalist" ideologies that often proved more weird and sinister than the most arcane supernaturalism. Now we have religion back, with millions of people ready to accept it.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Robert Stone at BookBrowse
Death of the Black-Haired Girl jacket Fun with Problems jacket Prime Green jacket Bay of Souls jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Robert Stone but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Michael Gruber

    Michael Gruber

    Michael Gruber was born and raised in New York City, and educated in its public schools. He went to Columbia, earning a BA in English literature. After college he did editorial work at various small magazines in New York,... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Bay of Souls

    Try:
    Tropic of Night
    by Michael Gruber

  • Barbara Hambly

    Barbara Hambly

    Barbara Hambly (b. 1951) is a New York Times bestselling author of fantasy and science fiction, as well as historical novels set in the nineteenth century. After receiving a master's degree in medieval history, she published ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Bay of Souls

    Try:
    Dead Water
    by Barbara Hambly

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Paradise, Nevada
    Paradise, Nevada
    by Dario Diofebi
    In Dario Diofebi's novel Paradise, Nevada, the neon allure of Las Vegas is pulled back to reveal ...
  • Book Jacket: Things We Lost to the Water
    Things We Lost to the Water
    by Eric Nguyen
    Spanning over 30 years, Eric Nguyen's debut novel Things We Lost to the Water is epic in scope but ...
  • Book Jacket: The Final Revival of Opal & Nev
    The Final Revival of Opal & Nev
    by Dawnie Walton
    Within the general arc of many well-established and chronicled historical events is oral history's ...
  • Book Jacket: Monkey Boy
    Monkey Boy
    by Francisco Goldman
    Francisco Goldman's Monkey Boy exists in the liminal space between memoir and fiction. Like Goldman ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Book of Lost Names
by Kristin Harmel
A heartrending novel of survival, inspired by an astonishing true story from World War II.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Morningside Heights
    by Joshua Henkin

    A tender and big-hearted novel about love in the face of loss, from the award-winning author of The World Without You.

Win This Book!
Win Together We Will Go

Together We Will Go
by J. Michael Straczynski

A novel as much about the will to live as the choice to end it.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

C T T Chase

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.