Da Chen Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Da Chen
Phtot: Thomas Jack Hilton

Da Chen

An interview with Da Chen

Da Chen talks about how, growing up during the Cultural Revolution, he dreamed of escaping and becoming a warrior 'with mountains at his feet and the sky on his back'- and how these childhood memories formed the basis for Wandering Warrior, his first book for children.

What inspired you to become a writer?
Growing up in a society where freedom of speech was not allowed, I find it the ultimate luxury to be able to express your thoughts openly without having to worry about consequences. Writing, to me, is not only a noble calling but also a family tradition. My great-grandfather was a poet, so was my grandfather (in fact the titles of my two memoirs are from his poem), and my father was a playwright of traditional southern dramas. Writing is one of the four virtues of a Chinese noble man, along with being an accomplished calligrapher, chess player, and musician. I feel both humbled and proud to be able to continue the tradition of my forefathers.

Why did you choose to write for children after your success in writing for adults?
I write for children because they still believe. I write for children because they have the right to know. I write for children because they know a good story from a bad one, an authentic tale from a synthetic compilation.

How did you come up with the idea for Wandering Warrior, straying from the nonfiction genre of your other books?
Children have been gifted with a world of martial art magic in movies, but there is a dearth of written English accounts about these legends of the past, these warriors of the heart. In tragedy, they soared. In turmoil, they rose. They were the phoenix of life, the tragic heroes of our haunting past. They are our hope.
I grew up in the shadows of Southern Shaolin Temple, where martial arts are a cherished tradition. My childhood was filled with tales of legendary warriors who fought for the poor and championed the underdog. Their noble spirits and jiang hu romanticism inspired me. Jiang means river; Hu: means lakes. Together they mean wandering the land, which inspired the title for this series.

Colors of the Mountain, Sounds of the River, and China's Son are clearly reflections of what you experienced during the Cultural Revolution. Was Wandering Warrior influenced by this experience as well?
Luka, the boy in Wandering Warrior, is basically Da Chen in my memoirs, and more, a lot more. He is what I wished I could be when I was bullied and persecuted as a young boy during the Cultural Revolution. How I wished I could fly like Luka, escape the inescapable wall of Communism, and become a wandering warrior with mountains at my feet and the sky on my back.
Wandering Warrior, my first fiction, is my attempt to escape the shadows of my past.

What does going on tour mean to you?
Meeting the hearts I touch through my books. Last month when I gave a speech at Vassar College, a young student there came up and thanked me. He had read Colors of the Mountain not once but many times, whenever he felt tired or discouraged, and it always gave him strength to study on.
My books have become popular textbooks in colleges, high schools, and elementary schools. An elementary school teacher from Madison, Connecticut told me that there is a Da Chen Hour in her class, where children beg her to continue reading my tales to them. Touching all these precious young hearts humbles me.
Many other people come up to me in tears and tell me what wonderful parents I have. They gave me life and raised me, though in poverty, rich in love. It makes me happy that, in return, my books give them immortality.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.