Judith Ryan Hendricks Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Judith Ryan Hendricks

Judith Ryan Hendricks

An interview with Judith Ryan Hendricks

Judith Ryan Hendricks talks about the experience of writing her first novel.

How did you learn to bake bread?
Even though I worked in a bakery, I never made bread there. I learned to make bread by reading and experimenting, beginning in the '70s. When I first graduated from college, I lived in New Orleans for a few years and I got very into cooking -- mostly gourmet, very complicated, almost ritualistic recipes. Baguettes were the bread of choice then. When I moved to Texas, I simultaneously discovered the women's movement, which was trying to get women away from being kitchen slaves, and the trend towards whole/natural foods. I began baking the kind of bread that Wyn describes when she talks about "throwing every grain they could find into the mix." It was healthy bread, but some of those loaves were regular little bricks. On a trip to France I discovered what I now think of as "real" bread in all its glory. I came back and started trying to recreate it. I just kept reading and experimenting -- and of course, books on bread kept getting better as bakers rediscovered the old ways to make artisan bread.

Where did you get the title for your book, and why?
One of my favorite bread books is Bread Alone, by Daniel Leader and Judith Blahnik. I think that was always in the back of my mind. Also, the Bible verse, "Man doth not live by Bread Alone…" Deuteronomy 8:3. I used it kind of ironically because for a while, Wyn does live by Bread Alone, and that's what gets her through.

Like Wynter, you have worked at a number of diverse jobs. Have you settled on writing as a career? Do you have any advice for readers who are looking for ways to make their lives more satisfying?
In spite of the fact that I've had a gazillion different day jobs, I've always been a writer. I had never written fiction, but I've written and sold nonfiction, and I've always kept a journal. The great thing about writing Bread Alone, was I finally discovered why I had a gazillion different jobs -- it's because I was searching for what I was supposed to do, and in some ways, getting ready to do it. Now that I know I want to be a novelist, I plan to do that until I'm pushing up daisies. My advice to anyone who wants to make her life more satisfying is two-pronged: First, don't settle for a life you don't love. Keep searching for whatever it is that's going to make you glad to get up in the morning. Second, once you discover what you love, don't let anything stop you from pursuing it.

Can you describe the experience of writing -- and publishing -- your first novel? Are you making any plans to publish anything more?
When writers describe the experience of writing and publishing a first novel, about half say it's like giving birth and the other half say it's like riding a roller coaster. I would have to say it's more like giving birth while riding a roller coaster. And I wouldn't trade the experience for anything. The best part has been getting to meet so many interesting -- and genuinely nice -- people. I'm very happy to say that William Morrow has bought my second novel, tentatively titled Ysabel's Daughter. The story takes place in New Mexico and it deals with a young woman searching for her mother and ultimately finding herself.

What's your favorite recipe?
One of my favorite recipes is Ellen's Cornmeal Cookies

3/4 cup butter
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 & 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup yellow cornmeal
1 & 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup toasted pine nuts
or 1 cup chopped toasted walnuts

With electric mixer on medium/high speed, beat butter and sugar together till fluffy. Add egg and vanilla; beat well. In separate bowl, stir together flour, cornmeal, baking powder and salt. Add to sugar mixture and beat until thoroughly combined. Stir in nuts. Shape into three 12 inch-logs, wrap in plastic wrap and chill until firm -- several hours or overnight.

Cut in 1/4-inch slices, place on ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 375 degrees F for about 8 minutes or till golden brown. Remove and cool on wire rack. Makes 6-8 dozen. Great with hot tea or a glass of wine.

Enjoy!

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Judith Ryan Hendricks at BookBrowse
The Laws of Harmony jacket Isabel's Daughter jacket Bread Alone jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Judith Ryan Hendricks but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Erica Bauermeister

    Erica Bauermeister

    Erica Bauermeister is the author of The School of Essential Ingredients (Jan 2009), a novel about eight students and their cooking teacher set in a restaurant kitchen. Her non-fiction work includes 500 Great Books by Women: A... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Bread Alone

    Try:
    The School of Essential Ingredients
    by Erica Bauermeister

  • Amanda Davis

    Amanda Davis

    Amanda Davis was raised in Durham, North Carolina. She was tragically killed in a plane crash on her way to her childhood state where she was scheduled to promote her debut novel, Wonder When You'll Miss Me, published in ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Isabel's Daughter

    Try:
    Wonder When You'll Miss Me
    by Amanda Davis

We recommend 10 similar authors

View all 10 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: They're Going to Love You
    They're Going to Love You
    by Meg Howrey
    Teenage Carlisle lives with her mother in Ohio, but their relationship has never felt particularly ...
  • Book Jacket: The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    by Isaac Blum
    That irreplaceable feeling of everyone knowing your name. The yearning to be anonymous. Parents ...
  • Book Jacket: Now Is Not the Time to Panic
    Now Is Not the Time to Panic
    by Kevin Wilson
    The edge is a shantytown filled with gold seekers. We are fugitives, and the law is skinny with ...
  • Book Jacket: Foster
    Foster
    by Claire Keegan
    Irish author Claire Keegan is experiencing a surge in popularity, thanks to the selection of her ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Dinosaurs
    by Lydia Millet

    "Tender but never sentimental, wearing its intelligence in a low-slung style, Dinosaurs is a garden of earthly delights."—Vogue

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

W N, W Not

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

There is no worse robber than a bad book.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.