Announcing our 2021 Award Winners and Top 20 Books of the Year

David R. Dow Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

David R. Dow
Photo: © Katya Dow

David R. Dow

An interview with David R. Dow

David R. Dow discusses his first novel, Confessions Of An Innocent Man, and how his work with Death Row inmates prepared him for writing the novel.

You are a lawyer working on death row inmate appeals. How do you do continue to invest your all in your job knowing that, often times, the outcome will be devastating?

Given that I get this question a lot, you might suppose I have a well-rehearsed answer, but I don't, because I don't really know what the answer is. Often I think what drives me to continue is the belief that our legal or moral position is so strong, that we will in fact win. Sometimes, I continue because I focus on cases where we did win. (In this context, "win" typically means that a death row inmate has his death sentence set aside, and he is removed from death row and sent to the general prison population.) Maybe you'll just win one time out of twenty, but that one win saves a human life. Other times, and probably most frequently, I realize intellectually (even if I don't say it out loud), that the fight is close to hopeless, but my team and I still believe our client is entitled to the most vigorous defense we can mount (and 99 times out of a hundred, even after we lose, and our client is with minutes of being executed, he tells me thank you in our final conversation—not because we won, because we didn't, but because we tried).

I should add one last thing: Whenever I think seriously about quitting, I can't. Even contemplating walking away makes me feel guilty about abandoning these guys who have been abandoned by others for their entire lives.

You've previously written two nonfiction titles, The Autobiography of an Execution and Things I've Learned for Dying. How did they prepare you to write a novel?

I've actually written more than two nonfiction books, but I know what you mean: You mean two nonacademic nonfiction titles, and I mention that point because what the two memoirs taught me is the intimate connection between voice and story. Both Autobiography and Things I've Learned were my own voice, whereas this book, Confessions, is obviously not, but those two earlier books prepared me in a way that academic writing never did to remain in the voice of the character. Being in voice, if I may use that expression, is the only way for the story to be authentic. In many ways, writing a novel was very different from writing memoirs, but when it came to crawling inside a character—whether that character was an earlier version of myself or a product of my imagination—the earlier books helped me a lot.

Is the protagonist, Rafael Zhettah, inspired by real-life stories and people you've worked with?

Yes, unquestionably. In fact, all the characters in the book, from inmates to judges to lawyers to prison guards to family members, are characters I could easily conjure up because I have met and gotten to know versions of those people in my professional life.

Many readers have expressed that the ending was very intense and emotional for them. Did the story or the characters come first for you?

I am gratified to hear of that reaction. The ending was intense and emotional for me as well, and I experienced the ending in my head before I ever wrote it. In fact, the first ending I wrote was different from the current ending, because writing the ending that happened in my head was too wrenching for me, so I wanted to write an alternative version. But the alternative felt like an emotional evasion to me, so I ultimately wrote the ending as I originally conceived and experienced it.

As for the chicken or egg part of the question, I must confess that the answer is both. The broad outline of the story is what came first, but when it came to populating the story, I developed characters who I think have been living in my imagination for probably ten years or longer.

What inspired you to write this story—not only a prison diary but also a suspenseful revenge plot?

Even though I am no longer a death penalty supporter, I take very seriously the argument death penalty proponents make about the demands of justice and morality. I wanted to write a story that took those same ethical principles, and relocated them to a different context. What exactly does justice mean when the person pursuing it is the stereotypical "bad guy," and the person being pursued is the so-called good guy? How does that device of flipping the roles affect our concept of right and wrong?

Confessions of an Innocent Man plays with the idea of who should take responsibility for injustice, turning the traditional "villain" on its head. How did you determine responsibility in this story?

Death penalty lawyers often say that despite the way our clients are portrayed in the media, they are not in fact the embodiment of evil; instead they are human beings who did a terrible (or even evil) thing. I have found that many people strongly resist that characterization; they are committed to the belief that murderers are bad. Ok, that's fine. But then what happens if somebody who's usually portrayed as a good guy—maybe it's a judge, maybe a police officer—is the one who does the terrible thing? If we are going to say that murderers are responsible for the evil they do, then don't we also have to say that others are also responsible for the evil they do?

If my novel can be said to be "about" anything, I suppose it would be that question.

What is the major takeaway you would like all readers to have when they finish Confessions of an Innocent Man?

All I can tell you is that when I finish a book I have truly enjoyed, or one that has deeply moved me, when I finally finish the last page, I close the book, and just sit there in my chair, holding it, eyes closed, and thinking. If a reader of Confessions of an Innocent Man has that reaction, I will be pleased.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by David R. Dow at BookBrowse
Confessions of an Innocent Man jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for David R. Dow but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Steve Cavanagh

    Steve Cavanagh

    Steve Cavanagh is an Irish author from Belfast and at the age eighteen he studied law by mistake. He is now the international award-winning author of the Eddie Flynn novels. His debut novel, The Defense, was nominated for the... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Confessions of an Innocent Man

    Try:
    The Plea
    by Steve Cavanagh

  • Emma Flint

    Emma Flint

    Emma Flint was born in Newcastle upon Tyne in northeast England. She studied English and History at the University of St Andrews and is a graduate of the Faber Academy writing program in London. Since her childhood, Flint has... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Confessions of an Innocent Man

    Try:
    Little Deaths
    by Emma Flint

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: The Lincoln Highway
    The Lincoln Highway
    by Amor Towles
    Voted 2021 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Things look bleak for Emmett ...
  • Book Jacket: The Code Breaker
    The Code Breaker
    by Walter Isaacson
    Voted 2021 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    What makes humans human? It's ...
  • Book Jacket: Firekeeper's Daughter
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Voted 2021 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Angeline Boulley's young adult ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Million Things
    by Emily Spurr
    Voted 2021 Best Debut Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Our First Impressions reviewers were...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    True Crime Story
    by Joseph Knox

    The #1 international bestselling novel. What happens to all the girls who go missing?

Win This Book!
Win Taste Makers

Taste Makers
by Mayukh Sen

America's modern culinary history told through the lives of seven pathbreaking chefs and food writers.

Enter

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.