Simon Garfield Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Simon Garfield

Simon Garfield

An interview with Simon Garfield

Simon Garfield, author of Just My Type, discusses the extraordinary history of fonts; which of the more than 100,000 estimated font designs in the world he considers the best, and worst; and explains why you should be cautious about downloading fonts off the internet.

How did you become interested in fonts?
I've been interested in fonts long before I knew any of their names or anything of their history. It began seriously for me when I bought my first album covers as a boy - I clearly remember going to a shop near my home in north-west London, buying David Bowie's Hunky Dory and Electric Warrior by T Rex, and gazing at their sleeves on the bus. That was the beginning of it. A fascination with book jackets soon followed, and then the credits on TV shows, and then computers.

Why are there so many different fonts?
I haven't counted them all, but there are an estimated 100,000 different font designs in the world, most of them available to download on your computer. Of course we don't need them all, but then again we probably don't need all the songs in the world either, or all the paintings. But we will always need to express our emotions in new and modern ways, and we are a creative race, so we need to keep on inventing.

Everyone likes to ask what your favorite font is. I'll go one further: what is your favorite letter? Why?
At the moment (and this tends to change every week), my favorite letter is the lower-case 'i' in the London Underground font. Designed by Edward Johnston almost a century ago, it has a wonderful diamond shape where the dot would normally be, and it brings a smile to my face every time I travel by Tube.

Have you ever attempted to design a font?
While writing the book I thought it was my duty to have a go at designing a typeface myself, and the results were predictably disastrous. Most good type design begins with drawing by hand, but I went straight to Fontographer 4, and I think I abandoned the project at C. It made me realize two things: how hard it is to make even a single letter both original and arresting; and how talented, patient and underappreciated the professionals are.

Serif or Sans?
That's like asking: Chicken or Fish? Rather different things, and their consumption depends on appetite and mood. For my website, serif. In my dreams, mostly sans.

Since you wrote Just My Type are there any other fonts you've encountered that you would like to add to the Worst Fonts in the World?
I think I'm sticking to the original choice - nothing can ever be worse than the London 2012 Olympic font (2012 Headline), surely? What a terrible way to advertise my home city to the world...

What is an interrobang and why was it made? How come I can't find it on my computer?!
The Interrobang is the best way of saying 'What the xxxx?!?!!!!???' without using lots of ! and ?. It combines the exclamation mark and question mark into one simple glyph. It was invented in the sixties, but alas it never really caught on. Some fonts give you the Interrobang as part of the package - look for it in Microsoft Wingdings 2, and also in Calibri and Palatino.

How did you find out about Doves, the "font that drowned"?
I'm not sure where I first heard of it. The story has entered popular mythology, and I wanted to see if it was true. Fortunately, it was much better than the tale I'd heard: this frail man actually spent many years at the beginning of the 20th century stealthily throwing his creation into the Thames at night, terrified of discovery. My favorite part of the story is that the letters are still there at the bottom of Hammersmith Bridge, slowly forming words. There may be an entire novel down there by now. Of course, you can learn more about it in Just My Type.

It's easy to find fonts on the internet for free - why should we NOT download those fonts?
Well, don't let me stop you. But be aware that there may be many reasons why they're there, perhaps because they weren't accepted by the many online font shops - perhaps they're too similar to what's already available, or perhaps the letters 'fall apart' at large sizes or at different weights. If you buy clones you're denying royalties to the make/distributor of the original.

What do you think about the programs that can turn your handwriting into a font?
I'd say try one and see how grateful you'll be for Helvetica, Georgia and the rest. It's fun, a bit stupid, not very sustaining.

Were there any fonts that you wanted to include in Just My Type but could not find the room for?
They're all in there, but I wish I'd written more about Festival Titling, the type designed for the 1951 Festival of Britain. It's a truly colorful, confident beauty. I'm using it on my business cards.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Simon Garfield at BookBrowse
Timekeepers jacket To the Letter jacket On the Map jacket Just My Type jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Simon Garfield but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Cynthia Barnett

    Cynthia Barnett

    Cynthia Barnett is an award-winning environmental journalist who has reported on water from the Suwannee River to Singapore. She is the author of two previous books, Mirage and Blue Revolution, a Boston Globe top 10 science ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Timekeepers

    Try:
    Rain
    by Cynthia Barnett

  • Simon Garfield

    Simon Garfield

    Simon Garfield is the author or editor of 17 works of nonfiction, united in content solely by the love of a compelling story. His diverse and unpredictable subject matter ranges from the austere post-war Britain of Our ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Timekeepers

    Try:
    Just My Type
    by Simon Garfield

We recommend 13 similar authors

View all 13 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free

Discover books that
entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Windhall
    Windhall
    by Ava Barry
    Ava Barry's debut mystery novel Windhall is centered around the salacious murder of a starlet named ...
  • Book Jacket: Libertie
    Libertie
    by Kaitlyn Greenidge
    Kaitlyn Greenidge burst onto the literary scene in 2016 with her award-winning novel, We Love You, ...
  • Book Jacket
    Kim Jiyoung, Born 1982
    by Cho Nam-joo, Jamie Chang
    'Kim Jiyoung is thirty-three years old, thirty-four Korean age. She got married three years ago and ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Raft of Stars
    by Andrew J. Graff

    A timeless story of loss, hope, and adventure set against the vividly rendered landscape of the Upper Midwest.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    Of Women and Salt
    by Gabriela Garcia

    A kaleidoscopic portrait of generations of women from a 19th-century Cuban cigar factory to the present day.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Mountains Sing
by Nguyen Phan Que Mai
Winner of the 2020 BookBrowse Debut Novel Award: A multi-generational tale set in Viet Nam.
Win This Book!
Win The Beauty of Your Face

A New York Times Notable Book of 2020

"Stunning.… A timely family saga with faith and forgiveness at its core."
Marie Claire

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

It's N S O M N

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.