Marisa Silver Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Marisa Silver
Photo: Bader Howar

Marisa Silver

An interview with Marisa Silver

BJ Hegedus chats with Marisa Silver about her short story collection, Alone With You.

Are you an eeker or a gusher?  Do you have to go back and enlarge what you have first written or do you delete and tighten things up?

I love that distinction – eeker vs. gusher! I am definitely an eeker. I work slowly and I attempt to work steadily. I try to write a certain number of pages every single day. But I rarely sit down and have any idea of what I'm going to do next. I feel like I'm always in a dark tunnel pawing my way forward, tripping, bashing my head…it ain't pretty!

Do you have your stories figured out before you put pen to paper or do you let them work themselves out as you go along?

I never  have stories worked out. I usually begin with a shred of a notion, some particular situation that interests me or a relationship that feels potent. My starting points are never concrete. It feels more as if I'm circling something, getting closer and closer each time I circle until I've focused the idea to a point where it feels like it's giving back to me (and hopefully the reader) some notion of what brought me to it. I feel pretty strongly that it is better for me never to know where I'm heading. If I know, then the work becomes burdened by the knowing, by the expectation of what it's supposed to be about. I think the surprises diminish and therefore the story never becomes airborne, never rises above a kind of plodding plain. If I don't know where I'm heading, the possibility exists for surprise and for that strange alchemy that makes something unexpected totally necessary.

When asked what he did to help himself get started on a story, Hemingway replied, "…All you have to do is write one true sentence.  Write the truest sentence that you know."

Oh, boy. I don't know if there's any true sentence. I think truth is a really mutable thing. And one person's truth does not hold for another, and might not even hold for that person at another time. So, I guess I'm less interested in truth than in accuracy, emotionally accuracy.

What do you do to call the muse?

Discipline.

You have mentioned, in prior interviews, that it was the reading of a collection of short stories by F. Scott Fitzgerald, as a child, that made you go from a being pretty much a non- reader to a devoted one. What other books have had a lasting effect on you and stand out in your mind? Why?

The list is vast. The stories of William Trevor are the high bar for me in terms of what a story can achieve. He takes seemingly small, fragmentary moments in seemingly ordinary lives and reveals the richness within. And his stories never fail to take me by surprise. What he reveals about human nature is always magnificent. I love Alice Munro as well. I love Philip Roth because he knows how to spin a great human story we think couldn't be farther from our lives but which turn out to be our lives. I love Graham Greene because he just knows how to spin a great story. The characters in Mme Bovary are pitch perfect…the list goes on and on.

As a former filmmaker would you be able to hand off one of your stories to someone else to be made into a film? Ever have thoughts of doing so yourself?

I wouldn't want to do it myself because that might feel like living my life over and I want to move forward. But I'd be happy to hand it off to someone else and see how he or she would make cinema out of it. It would be fascinating to see that transformation, to see how much visual language could tell the story I told with words.

What advice do you have for writers starting out?

Read, read, read.

You have also mentioned in previous interviews that you know from the beginning whether a story is a novel or a short story.  Has it ever been necessary to change course once you got started?

I've never had that experience. A story comes to me as something that feels contained and that needs to be told in thirty pages or it comes to me as something that has many tentacles which need to be explored, as something whose map is vast and which requires a great journey. It is always clear to me which is which.

Once your stories are written down and completed, do the characters linger in your head or do they peacefully allow you to move on?

Once I'm done, the characters live inside that story for me and do not linger. Often people have asked me if I want to continue working with a certain character but I have not yet had that desire. The characters exist, for me, in the plastic framework of the piece. They are functions of a larger story telling effort. They are not independent of the story that held them within its pages. They don't walk off the page and go somewhere else. Where would they go? They don't exist! It is, however, a great compliment when people express to me the desire to see more of a character. That means to me that the character really lived for the reader, that his or her desires and preoccupations were compelling.

Do you share works in progress with others or do you keep them to yourself?

I don't generally show unfinished work to people, or at least work I know is unfinished. I will show work to a few people when I feel I have gotten as far as I can go with something and  I need a good read. It's hard for me to show something when I know it has problems, because generally, I'm the one who has to figure out the answer to the problem. I find mostly that other people can identify a problem but that their answers as to how to fix the problem are not usually the right answers for me. Unfortunately, I have to struggle and bang my head against the wall until I come up with an answer that feels right for me. Writing is a very private endeavor. This is both a great thing, and a hard thing when it means that the burden is on me to fix my own problems.

How disciplined are you?  You mentioned already that you try to write a certain number of pages every day? Do you stick to that without fail or will you interrupt work for an unscheduled but suddenly desired ice cream cone?

I do write a number of pages a day but I don't make this number impossible to achieve. I want to feel successful at the end of each day. So, I make my goal do-able. And then I get my ice cream!

May 2010

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Marisa Silver at BookBrowse
Little Nothing jacket Mary Coin jacket Alone With You jacket God of War jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Marisa Silver but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Amy Gustine

    Amy Gustine

    Amy Gustine's debut short story collection You Should Pity Us Instead will be published by Sarabande Books in February 2016. Her fiction has appeared in several journals, including The Kenyon ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Alone With You

    Try:
    You Should Pity Us Instead
    by Amy Gustine

  • Maile Meloy

    Maile Meloy

    Maile Meloy is the author of the novels Liars and Saints, A Family Daughter, and Do Not Become Alarmed; the short story collections Half in Love and Both Ways Is the Only Way I Want It (named one of the "10 Best Books of 2009... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Alone With You

    Try:
    Both Ways Is the Only Way I Want It
    by Maile Meloy

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: My Monticello
    My Monticello
    by Jocelyn Nicole Johnson
    In the incendiary opening story of My Monticello, Jocelyn Nicole Johnson's debut collection, a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wrong End of the Telescope
    The Wrong End of the Telescope
    by Rabih Alameddine
    Rabih Alameddine's The Wrong End of the Telescope follows Mina, a Lebanese American doctor who ...
  • Book Jacket: Lightning Strike
    Lightning Strike
    by William Kent Krueger
    It is the summer of 1963 in Tamarack County, Minnesota. Just outside the small town of Aurora, ...
  • Book Jacket: Skinship
    Skinship
    by Yoon Choi
    The fine thing about short stories in general is their way of following characters through ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Morningside Heights
by Joshua Henkin
A tender and big-hearted novel about love in the face of loss, from the award-winning author of The World Without You.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Flesh & Blood
    by N. West Moss

    This beautifully written memoir offers insight, understanding, and joy.

Win This Book!
Win Sisters of the Great War

Sisters of the Great War by Suzanne Feldman

A powerful novel of two unconventional American sisters who volunteer at the front during World War I.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y A B Up T W T

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.