Dan Koeppel Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Dan Koeppel

Dan Koeppel

An interview with Dan Koeppel

A conversation with Dan Koeppel, author of Banana: The Fate of the Fruit That Changed the World

What initially got you interested in writing about the Banana?

I read a small article in a science journal about an incurable disease that - even though the general public hadn’t heard of it - had the potential to destroy the world’s banana crop. I ended up with a magazine assignment, and wrote a story on the disease. I love bananas, and I couldn’t believe that they could disappear.


Is it true that the bananas we eat now are not the same as the bananas from fifty years ago?

That’s right. The banana our grandparents ate was a different - and most people say better tasting - breed called the Gros Michel. But that banana was wiped out by a variant of the blight, called Panama Disease, that now threatens our version of the fruit, called the Cavendish.


Is it really possible that the banana could one day be extinct?

The Cavendish banana was adopted because it was immune to Panama Disease. But bananas are generally very weak, because, like human identical twins, each one is an exact genetic duplicate of the other. What makes one banana sick makes all bananas sick. So if something really virulent comes along, it can be a huge problem.


What are Banana Republics?

Through the 1950s, the big American banana companies - including the ones known today as Chiquita and Dole - were so hungry for land to grow their fruit that they asserted dictatorial, and often brutally repressive, power over the Latin American nations where their plantations were located. Often this would be behind-the-scenes, through puppet governments. Nations controlled by the big fruit growers became known as "Banana Republics."


What is Panama Disease and can it be stopped?

Panama Disease is a fungus, specifically of the Fusarium variety (three are lots of types of fusarium fungus - your garden tomatoes can catch them. The fungi don’t travel between species, so you can’t be infected by a banana, or anything else.) The version of Panama Disease that is now threatening our bananas appeared first in Southeast Asia, attacking newly planted Cavendish farms, and spreading from there. Right now, there is no cure.


What are some examples of how has the banana industry affected history politically?

In 1929, at the behest of the banana companies, an estimated 1,000 striking banana workers and their families were massacred by Colombian troops. The political instability that followed still plagues the South American nation today, and is partly responsible for the rampant terrorism and drug-related crime that makes Colombia such a dangerous place. Similar interventions, with similar - though less dramatic - consequences, occurred in Honduras, Panama, Guatemala, Nicaragua, and other countries in Central and South America between 1900 and the 1970s.


What is some of the folklore or mythology surrounding the banana?

The banana is a plant that has been revered for over 5,000 years. There’s a lot of evidence that the original Hebrew versions of the bible considered the fruit to be the one that tempted Adam and Eve in Eden. In Africa, where millions of people, even today, rely on the fruit as their main source of nutrition, bananas are said to be a gift from a god called Kintu; each banana breed eaten in Africa has a different significance, ranging from increasing fertility to celebrating weddings to secretly tempting a wayward spouse to return home. In Hindu mythology, the banana is known as the "fruit of the wise man." Buddha himself is said to have meditated under a banana tree.


How did slipping on banana peels become such a universal cultural joke?

Everybody thinks this is just a slapstick gag, but in fact, after the fruit became popular in the U.S. (around 1890), there was so much banana litter that walking on city streets became a real hazard. Ordinances against throwing away banana peels were enacted, and sanitation departments - some of them the first ever for their municipalities - were organized around solving the problem.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.