Cynthia Kadohata Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Cynthia Kadohata

Cynthia Kadohata

How to pronounce Cynthia Kadohata: ca-do-HAR-ta

An interview with Cynthia Kadohata

Cynthia Kadohata discusses her life and her books, in particular Kira-Kira, her first book for children, which won the 2005 Newbery Award.

Other than Kira-Kira, what other books have you published?
The Floating World, In the Heart of the Valley of Love, and The Glass Mountains.  Although Kira-Kira is my first novel written specifically for young readers, all three of my previous novels feature young main characters. For my adult writing, I've received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation. I also received a Chesterfield Writer's Film Project screenwriting fellowship.


Where were your parents interned during WWII?

My father and his family were interned in the Poston camp on the Colorado River Indian Reservation in the Sonoran desert.  One source claims he thermometer in 1942 hit more than 140 degrees in the Poston area. Weedflower, my next novel for Atheneum, involves a friendship between a young Japanese American girl living in the internment camp and a young Mohave boy living on the reservation.

My father was drafted out of the camp and assigned to the U.S. Army Military Intelligence Service.  Three full brothers whom he'd never met lived in Japan. Two of them were killed during the war. He met the third when he served in Japan for MIS.

My mother lived in Hawaii, where people of Japanese ancestry were not interned.


What do you love besides your family?
Books, dark chocolate, and dogs, although I do consider my dog part of my family.


What do you hate?
Carnival rides.  Once at a carnival they had to stop a ride early so I could get off.  I stumbled off the ride, collapsed onto the ground, and spent the rest of the night in the back seat of the car.


How did you first get published?
I wrote about forty different stories over four years and sent them to magazines, especially The New Yorker and The Atlantic Monthly . Eventually I sold one to The New Yorker.  


Do you get along with your editor?
Yes.  I do whatever she tells me.  To clarify, first I storm around the house and pout for a week or two.  And then I do whatever she tells me.  I've known my editor for twenty years.  We were roommates in graduate school.  We ate healthy foods during the week, and then once a week we had a junk-food-a-thon and ate a lot of chips and dip.  During the week we went to aerobics classes and occasionally jogging.   


What are your favorite children's books?
One of my favorite children's books growing up was The Diamond in the Window by Jane Langton.  When I was an aspiring writer, I actually met Jane Langton in a ladies' room.  I was absolutely thrilled, but she was just trying to go to the bathroom.  I'm embarrassed to say I bothered her for an autograph before she could pee!!  She was quite gracious.

I liked any books concerning animals, whether the animals were horses, dogs, pigs, or dinosaurs.  I loved The Call of the Wild and still love it.  Same with Lassie Come-Home.  A couple of other great books about animals are White Fang and Misty of Chincoteague. And I read all the Newbery novels -- King of the Wind and A Wrinkle in Time were special favorites.  

A couple of my current favorites are Holes and Saffy's Angel.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Cynthia Kadohata at BookBrowse
The Thing About Luck jacket Outside Beauty jacket Kira-Kira jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Cynthia Kadohata but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Patricia Reilly Giff

    Patricia Reilly Giff

    As a reading teacher for 20 years, the educational consultant for Dell Yearling and Young Yearling books, an adviser and instructor to aspiring writers, and the author of more than 60 books for children, Patricia Reilly... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Kira-Kira

    Try:
    The House of Tailors
    by Patricia Reilly Giff

  • Kelly Loy Gilbert

    Kelly Loy Gilbert

    Kelly Loy Gilbert believes deeply in the power of stories to illuminate a shared humanity and give voice to complex, broken people. She is the author of Conviction, a William C. Morris Award finalist, and lives in the SF Bay ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Kira-Kira

    Try:
    Picture Us In The Light
    by Kelly Loy Gilbert

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: How the Word Is Passed
    How the Word Is Passed
    by Clint Smith
    With legislatures around the U.S. rushing to ban the teaching of critical race theory, it's clear ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Vape
    Big Vape
    by Jamie Ducharme
    In Big Vape, TIME reporter Jamie Ducharme studies the short but inflammatory history of Juul. Her ...
  • Book Jacket: Love and Fury
    Love and Fury
    by Samantha Silva
    Mary Wollstonecraft is best known for being an early advocate for women's rights and the mother of ...
  • Book Jacket: Walking on Cowrie Shells
    Walking on Cowrie Shells
    by Nana Nkweti
    The stories in Nana Nkweti's dexterous debut collection examine the raw alienation of being ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The War Nurse
by Tracey Enerson Wood
A sweeping novel by an international bestselling author based on a true World War I story.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Personal Librarian
    by Marie Benedict and Victoria Christopher Murray

    The little-known story of an extraordinary woman who defies all odds.

  • Book Jacket

    The Temple House Vanishing
    by Rachel Donohue

    A modern gothic page-turner set in a Victorian mansion in Ireland.

Win This Book!
Win Gordo

Gordo by Jaime Cortez

"Dark and hilarious ... singular and soaring ... Hands down, top debut of 2021."—Literary Hub

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

N Say N

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.