Joyce Carol Oates Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Joyce Carol Oates
Photo by Dustin Cohen

Joyce Carol Oates

An interview with Joyce Carol Oates

Joyce Carol Oates answers questions about her novel, The Falls, set in Niagara Falls during the second half of the 20th century, and the infamous Love Canal lawsuit that is at the heart of the book.

Niagara Falls truly comes alive in the story; you describe its power and beauty in exquisite detail and during different seasons. How did your connection with Niagara Falls contribute to writing the book?
I grew up in the countryside not far from Niagara Falls and we often visited there. Even in western New York State, a region that is haunting to me, Niagara Falls was always special.

For those who have never been to Niagara Falls, would you recommend it? What would you say to encourage people to visit?
This is a difficult question. Of course, the Falls are spectacular. But more spectacular on the Canadian side of the border. The Canadian Niagara Falls is Disneyland-commercial; the American side is somewhat shabby and economically depressed. Only visit in reasonably warm weather.

The reader knows things about Gilbert that Ariah does not, including a first-hand account of what drove him to commit suicide. How does having this information enhance the reading of the story?
Many suicides, especially in the past, have surely been as a consequence of sexual anxiety. The reader understands Gilbert's "secret" to a degree Gilbert doesn't understand himself, while Ariah can only feel guilt, shame, and humiliation as the bride of a suicide.

The Love Canal lawsuit was an actual legal case and plays a pivotal role in the storyline of The Falls. How much do the facts and circumstances of the real-life case mirror what takes place in the book?
Except for Dirk Burnaby's personal intervention, and changed names, much of the Love Canal material is historical. Obviously, I have had to select details in order to enhance them. Virtually all of this section is wholly realistic.

The epitaph to the book is an excerpt from A Brief History of Niagara Falls (1969) and includes this passage: "By 1900 Niagara Falls had come to be known, to the dismay of local citizens and promoters of the prosperous tourist trade, as 'Suicide's Paradise.'" Why do you suppose suicide is synonymous with The Falls? Did you uncover any statistics on the suicide rate at The Falls?
There are a number of very beautiful scenic sites, most famously the Golden Gate Bridge, Japan's Mount Fuji, and a cliff in, I think, Cornwall, England, as well as Niagara Falls, that have drawn potential suicides. Only in recent decades have statistics on such suicides been kept.

Where did you derive the inspiration for The Falls? Did the story flow from the plot, the setting, or a particular character?
I always begin my novels with precisely identified characters in environments that have, in a sense, given birth to them. From characters, as from individuals in life, inevitable stories flow, that constitute the formal "plot" of the novel.

Ariah is a character likely to incur both empathy and exasperation. Do you think readers will identify with Ariah?
I identified with Ariah in many ways, imagining what it would have been like to be married in the early 1950s, to a "nice" man who is, unknowingly homosexual. ("Gay" did not exist.) Ariah's intense happiness in her second marriage, initially at least, I very much understood. She is a favorite of mine, eccentric and headstrong, self-hurting and yet truly loving of her children (if smothering).

Families have their own unique characteristics, like the Burnabys in this story, but are there certain universal truths that apply to every family?
Where there is intense love, whether erotic or parental, it is likely to become possessive and stifling, provoking rebellion. Upsets may occur, even painful misunderstandings and separations, yet the essential love remains, and might again flourish, more temperately.

What message do you hope readers will get from The Falls?
I don't write to convey "messages" since I am not a propagandist. Obviously The Falls is a very American novel of the second half of the 20th century with which I hope readers might identify in the crises of family life threatened by "outside" forces.

What books would you recommend for people who would like to learn more about the history of Niagara Falls?
There are many books about the Falls. My favorites were a combination of history and photographs. The saga of Love Canal, that environmental disaster area and class-action litigation, has also been written about copiously, but for a personal, memoirist account I would recommend Lois Marie Gibb's Love Canal: My Story (1982) and Love Canal: The Story Continues (1998).

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Joyce Carol Oates at BookBrowse
Babysitter jacket The (Other) You jacket Cardiff, by the Sea jacket Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars. jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Joyce Carol Oates but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Deni Y. Béchard

    Deni Y. Béchard

    Deni Béchard was born in British Columbia to a loving and health-conscious American mother and a French Canadian father with penchant for crime and storytelling. He grew up in the wake of their turbulent lives throughout... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Falls

    Try:
    Vandal Love
    by Deni Y. Béchard

  • Ian Caldwell

    Ian Caldwell

    Ian Caldwell attended Princeton University, where he studied history. He graduated Phi Beta Kappa in 1998. He began writing The Rule of Four with his best friend, Dustin Thomason, after graduation. His second book, The Fifth ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Jack of Spades

    Try:
    The Rule of Four
    by Ian Caldwell

We recommend 12 similar authors

View all 12 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Bloodbath Nation
    Bloodbath Nation
    by Paul Auster
    In recent years, Booker Prize­–nominated novelist Paul Auster has increasingly turned to ...
  • Book Jacket: The Nazi Conspiracy
    The Nazi Conspiracy
    by Brad Meltzer, Josh Mensch
    The Nazi Conspiracy by Brad Meltzer and Josh Mensch was a big hit with our First Impressions readers...
  • Book Jacket
    Yonder
    by Jabari Asim
    The captivating historical novel Yonder turns an intimate lens towards the tragedy and survivorship ...
  • Book Jacket: After Sappho
    After Sappho
    by Selby Wynn Schwartz

    "Someone will remember us, I say, even in another time."
    —Sappho, fragment ...


Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Love of My Life
by Rosie Walsh
An up-all-night love story wrapped in a mystery from the New York Times bestselling author of Ghosted.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Wade in the Water
    by Nyani Nkrumah

    A gripping debut novel of female power and vulnerability, race, and class set in a small Mississippi town in the early 1980s.

  • Book Jacket

    Moonrise Over New Jessup
    by Jamila Minnicks

    "Jamila Minnicks pulled me into pages of history I'd never turned before."—Barbara Kingsolver

  • Book Jacket

    Margot
    by Wendell Steavenson

    A young woman struggles to break free of her upper-class upbringing amid the whirlwind years of the sexual revolution.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

It's A G T Me

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

Show me the books he loves and I shall know the man...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.