Read advance reader review of One's Company by Ashley Hutson

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

One's Company

A Novel

by Ashley Hutson

One's Company by Ashley Hutson X
One's Company by Ashley Hutson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published Jun 2022
    272 pages
    Genre: Literary Fiction

    Paperback Original.
    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 24 member reviews
for One's Company
Order Reviews by:
  • Ann B. (Kernville, CA)
    Beyond the comfort of fantasy lies the unknowable fourth wall
    Bonnie Lincoln has survived horrific trauma. Barely survived. When she wins the mother of all lotteries, Bonnie decides that she can indeed escape her pain, her trauma, and her past. All she needs is to trade her story for that of her favorite TV show characters. "My reality cracked open, and the television spooned another one on top." Bonnie buys a remote property, builds an identical re-creation of Three's Company. All alone, she not only binge-watches the eight seasons of episodes that ran from 1977 to 1984. She binge-lives the show, inhabiting each of the characters, year by year. But eventually she will have to face the unknowable fourth wall. I absolutely binge-read this novel, laughing with Bonnie one minute, aching for her the next minute -- aching for her through the bittersweet ending.
  • Judith S. (Marietta, GA)
    one's company
    reading "one's company" is not unlike (i imagine) slowly, but steadily, descending into madness. the reader is given a tour through the mind of someone losing their grip on a reality that may not even be real. being transported between the before and after (a specific event), we are privileged to listen to the inner thoughts of someone on the edge. if this is not disturbing enough, many of those thoughts, ideas and desires are ones that we have had ourselves.
    the author invites us into a world we both recognize and are frightened or repulsed by. throughout the whole, there is the sense that this story, this person is absurd. but is she?
  • Julie Z. (Oak Park, IL)
    One's Company
    Bonnie Lincoln has not had an easy life-both her mother and father died at an early age, leaving her without resources. She is "taken in" by her friend Krystal's family, but soon the mother, father, and brother are murdered in the grocery store which they own. Luckily, Bonnie wins a huge amount of money in the lottery, allowing her to escape her reality by building a life within the set of popular 70's sitcom "Three's Company". Bonnie creates a life in which she rotates living as each of the television show's characters; cutting herself off from all communication with the outside world.
    In Bonnie, Ashley Hutson has created a surreal heroine. What is real and what is imagined? How have the traumas that Bonnie has suffered contributed to this bizarre life she has created? I was puzzled at many of her choices, but was riveted to the book until completion. Hutson has a bright future in literature- I found this to be a well-written, gripping novel.
  • Sylvia T. (Rancho Mirage, CA)
    High praise for One's Company and for Ashley Hutson
    I absolutely LOVED this book. It was a bizarre storyline about a woman who wins the lottery and uses the money to recreate the "Three's Company" set to live in. However, unlike Three’s Company characters, Bonnie throughout the book experiences severe responses to the trauma she has endured - constant exhaustion, confusion, sadness, anxiety, and agitation just to name a few. I doubt that you’ll be able to put this book aside until you finish it. I highly recommend picking up a copy of Ashley Hutson’s ONE’S COMPANY to see for yourself!
  • Dan W. (Fort Myers, FL)
    An Amazing Reality
    This book captures a multitude of experiences resulting in the main character, Bonnie Lincoln, removing herself from society after winning an enormous lottery. What starts off in a "once in a lifetime dream" of winning a lottery to the demons that come to possess Bonnie's life of residing in a self-imposed world of loneliness. At times this novel can be troubling to read due to Bonnie's decision to remove herself from society to live in a fantasy world of a 1970s TV show, "Three's Company". The depths that the author goes to revealing the innermost thoughts of the main character is brilliant! I believe this is a book that would be engaging to discuss at a book club.
  • Susan W. (Berkley, MI)
    When does a wish for solitude become an obsession
    This book gave me a lot to think about. Right from the start I was taken in by the idea of a lonely person wanting to immerse themselves in a fictional place. Who hasn't read a book and inserted themselves in the action? But Bonnie is able to take it to the extreme when she wins the lottery.

    She goes from being on the outside looking in, to being inside working to shut out the rest of the world. Bonnie's wish for solitude has become an obsession.

    I felt like the author gave us a look inside the madness of Bonnie's loneliness. It was uncomfortable and chilling.
  • Melissa C. (Saint Johns, FL)
    Compulsively readable
    I absolutely loved this book and to my own surprise, could not stop reading. In fact, the more I read, the more I wanted to read until the very end, which blew my mind (in such a good way). To say it's about a woman who wins the lottery and seeks to live her life secluded from society immersed in the 70's sitcom Three's Company does not do the book justice. The author addresses important issues of trauma, loneliness & mental health in a wholly original way. High praise for One's Company and for Ashley Hutson!!

More Information

Readalikes

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.