Read advance reader review of Some of It Was Real by Nan Fischer

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Some of It Was Real

by Nan Fischer

Some of It Was Real by Nan Fischer X
Some of It Was Real by Nan Fischer
  • Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Publishes
    Jul 26, 2022
    352 pages
    Genre: Literary Fiction

    Paperback Original.
    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 1 of 5
There are currently 31 member reviews
for Some of It Was Real
Order Reviews by:
  • Lupita G. (Plantation, FL)
    Not your typical romance book...
    This isn't your typical rom-com book, because there's SO MUCH MORE than what has been published lately. Sylvie is a psychic-medium with a huge following, yet she has some secrets of her own. Thomas is an L.A. journalist writing about "grief vampires" - what he calls people like Sylvie - who firmly beliefs that she's a charlatan.

    But while they are complete opposites, they have more things in common than they realize. The story keeps you turning the pages; the characters are realistic, and there are very funny moments, especially with their pets.

    Highly recommend this one for book clubs, or for anyone who needs a "light read" but with substance.
  • Sandra B. (Buda, TX)
    What was real?
    I enjoyed this book. It kept you guessing as to what was really Sylvia's history and why couldn't she remember. Trying to understand why Thomas felt the way he did about Sylvia's profession and if she was going to change his mind kept you wondering. The author did well with keeping the mystery and adding a bit of romance.
  • Gary R. (Bolingbrook, IL)
    I can read your mind?
    This was not my typical choice to read but the synopsis sounded interesting, so I took a chance and it was a very pleasant surprise. I really liked the way it was told in alternating chapters by the two main characters, Sylvie, the psychic, or is she just a scam? And Thomas,the reporter, trying to redeem himself after a disastrous article, trying to keep his job by proving that psychics are charlatans. Really liked it, get it--you won't be disappointed
  • Mel F. (Auburn, MA)
    A real page turner that you wouldn't predict
    Sylvie Young is a psychic-medium who uses glitzy performances before packed audiences to demonstrate her abilities. Her success is burgeoning, and she is aiming for stardom.

    Thomas Holmes, a reporter for the L.A. times, is determined to write a front-page expose about Sylvie to prove she is a hoax. However, he has insufficient evidence to support his claim.

    Thomas and Sylvie make a commitment to travel together to her next "gig" in Oregon, but each have stipulations. Thomas is figuratively going to "co join" with Sylvie by sharing a single train compartment and confiscating her electronic devices so she cannot cheat by getting advance background information on her audience. Sylvie agrees to a detour to visit her foster parents so Thomas can interview them about her childhood.

    This trip is transformational for both as they deal with issues involving relationships, families, Sylvie's spontaneous predictions to strangers, haunting dreams, and family secrets.

    The author masterfully crafted this story because her chapters switch between Sylvie and Thomas and the reader feels invested in their journey. Her language is artful. Her descriptions are evocative. She uses words and phrases that are subtly predictive.

    All the twists and turns in the story make it totally engrossing and what will happen next is unpredictable. This book is excellent for a book club since it presents so many discussion points.

    The author states that the reader's "take away" is "a belief that anything is possible." Only the reader can decide.
  • Amber H. (Asheville, NC)
    Good, quick read!
    Reading the description, I didn't think this book would grab my interest but I was pleasantly surprised! By page 2 I was hooked! Well written, interesting characters and a good story line that kept me engaged. I read this in 2 days.

    I was worried a story about a psychic would be ridiculous and not believable, but that wasn't how this book played out. I was interested in both main characters, learning more about Sylvia's backstory and felt the pace of the book moved along quickly.

    I recommend this read, even if you don't think the description would be for you.
  • Catheryne Z. (Plano, TX)
    Discovering Past Family Truths
    Sylvia, an rising star psychic medium and Thomas, a journalist trying to prove that psychics are a fraud, go on a week long journey to prove their different agendas. They both have issues in their pasts that they want to resolve. The story drew me in from the beginning. As the story goes on, their past mysteries are revealed. I really enjoyed the story and the characters drew me in. I highly recommend the book. Their pets, Moose and Chris, add another interesting layer to the story.

    Thank you NetGalley and Bookbrowse for the opportunity to read and review this book.
  • windellh
    Some of it was real
    "Some of It Was Real" was a great read. Sylvie and Thomas were believable characters because the author displayed their good and bad traits with great timing and good emotional response.The story line was unique. We don't read a lot about psychics in novels today. Strange how their life stories were very similar. This would be a great book club novel. I read this in 2 sittings.

Readalikes

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of the Flower Fragrant Garden
    by Zhuqing Li

    A beautifully woven family memoir that coalesces into a vivid history of two very different Chinas.

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.