MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Read advance reader review of The Secrets of Love Story Bridge by Phaedra Patrick

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Secrets of Love Story Bridge

A Novel

by Phaedra Patrick

The Secrets of Love Story Bridge by Phaedra Patrick X
The Secrets of Love Story Bridge by Phaedra Patrick
  • Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Publishes in USA 
    Apr 28, 2020
    352 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 22 member reviews
for The Secrets of Love Story Bridge
Order Reviews by:
  • Laura M.
    The Secrets of Love Story Bridge
    What a quirky read! I was hooked from the beginning and enjoyed meeting all the charming characters introduced in the story. Poppy was especially charming and endearing and my interest was held throughout the tale. I was so relieved to read Anita's final letter to Mitchell that I now feel inspired to dust off my stationary box, find my favorite pen and write a letter to someone special.
  • Wanda T. (The Villages, FL)
    The Secrets of Love Story Bridge by Phaedra Patrick
    I was drawn to this book for two reasons: I read "The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper" and I've been to the Love Lock bridge in Vienna, Austria. I enjoy reading heartwarming stories with a little mystery thrown in. I also did not realize that there are Love Lock bridges all over the world. I tend to do a little research when I read a book and something peaks my interest. If you've been reading too many books or articles that have you frustrated, saddened, annoyed, please read "The Secrets of Love Story Bridge by Phaedra Patrick. It will lift your spirits and actually make you want to visit one of these Love Lock bridges to read some of the locks.
  • Gayla M. (Frisco, TX)
    Wonderful, feel good story
    I love her previous books and this one is no exception. This is a story about love lost and a new love found and lost again. It is charming, hopeful and just leaves you feeling good and all warm inside. I loved it.
  • Elizabeth D. (Apple Valley, MN)
    Another Charming Read from Phaedra Patrick
    What a delightful read! I expected no less, though, from Phaedra Patrick, which is why I was so pleased to be selected for this First Impressions book. I've read several of her other books, starting with The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper, and have found them to be uplifting without being saccharine or overly sentimental. This book fits that mold as well. I thought the characters were fairly well developed, and even though it was pretty apparent from the beginning where the story was headed, the enjoyment was in the getting there. I don't always like the depiction of children in stories, but Poppy was a terrific kid. Just the right amount of personality and spark without being precocious or overly wise. I would have liked a little more Barry as a comic foil for Mitchell, but I liked that Mitchell had more than one male friend without them dissolving into an indistinguishable group of "the boys". I especially liked the example Mitchell's childhood friend set about the acceptability of moving on - you can live what came before and still want life for yourself after things change. The one thing that puzzled me about the book was whether there would really be enough locks on the bride that their removal would keep two people employed full time - I can't imagine it! Ha! In all seriousness, life has been fairly grim lately, with a number of family members with serious health issues, work has been relentlessly busy, the news and weather is depressing, so I enjoyed this charming escape. Things aren't perfect in Mitchell's world, but he's making positive changes and engaging with people. This book will join The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper on the nightstand in my guest room as a recommended read for those looking for an enjoyable bonus to their stay.
  • Elizabeth P. (Lower Burrell, PA)
    Another heartwarming, sweet read - Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews
    Mitchell went from his job as an engineer to the job of removing padlocks placed by lovers on bridge railings and padlocks that were starting to weigh down the bridges.

    Mitchell lived alone with his daughter since his wife died, and he had a difficult time making ends meet, keeping her entertained, and trying to not think about love since he still grieved for his wife.

    One day as Mitchell was removing the padlocks, he saw a woman falling over the edge of the railing. He jumped in after her and rescued her.

    Of course he didn't like the attention he received from his rescue, but he did keep thinking about this girl. His only regret was that he never got her name.

    We follow Mitchell as he looks for this woman and finds out that her sister is his daughter's music teacher and that she had disappeared a year ago. He then becomes involved in the family's search for Yvette. He also finds out that there are some secrets in this family.

    Besides helping the family search for Yvette, Mitchell is pulled into a journalist's story about his heroics when the journalist asked readers to write to him. His involvement is to read the hundreds of handwritten letters that have made their way to her desk.

    Ms. Patrick has written another heartwarming book with characters you will fall in love with and a story line that will keep you turning the pages.

    I always enjoy Ms. Patrick's books because they are uplifting and sweet.


    THE SECRETS OF LOVE STORY BRIDGE will warm your heart just as all of her books.

    A truly enjoyable read. 5/5

    This book was given to me by the publisher and BookBrowse in exchange for an honest review.
  • Lindsay R. (Franklin, TN)
    The Secret of Love Story Bridge by Pahedra Patrick
    It took a while to get into the book--seemed to drag a little in the beginning; setting the scene and characters. Once the story started, I got hooked and wanted to know what happened next. Mitchell and Poppy had a great relationship which improved throughout the book. Liza is a true individual and has an effect on both Mitchell and Poppy. Yvette, the woman who accidentally fell off the bridge that Mitchell rescued is like a red herring. We keep on finding information on her that keeps the story going. And Graham is what a best friend should be. He reminded me of Boris (from The Goldfinch)--the story woke up with him in it. I enjoyed the ending and the various letters interspersed throughout the book.

    Overall I would recommend this novel wholeheartedly. I just finished the Bookish life of Nina Hill, which was also lovely, quirky and fun, like this book.
  • Patricia W. (Homewood, AL)
    Do you need a padlock?
    This book was a gift from BookBrowse in exchange for an honest review. I enjoyed reading the book even though parts of it were sad. It is about losing a love and then trying to rebuild your life around the grief.Through helping another family the grief is not so overwhelming and the character begins to see how life can go on and in a good way. The interaction with his daughter is endearing and he begins to see ways to live a new life differently.

    At the beginning of the story you feel tight muscles, headaches and fatigue, but as the story progresses there is a feeling of surprise, joy and love.

    I think a book club would enjoy discussing this book.

Readalikes

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.