Read advance reader review of The Seine by Elaine Sciolino, page 2 of 4

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Seine

The River that Made Paris

by Elaine Sciolino

The Seine by Elaine Sciolino X
The Seine by Elaine Sciolino
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Oct 29, 2019, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews


Page 2 of 4
There are currently 25 member reviews
for The Seine
Order Reviews by:
  • Barbara O. (Red Bank, NJ)


    History, Geography and Travelogue of the Seine
    An homage to Paris and the river that flows through its heart. Elaine Sciolino writes a wonderful book about the Seine and how it became so closely identified with the City of Romance. Readers will discover lots of well researched facts and interesting historical anecdotes that drew so many people to Paris and made the River Seine world renowned. The book will appeal to both armchair travelers and provoke memories for those people lucky enough to have lived or traveled to Paris. This is a lovely book and a must read for the Francophile.
  • Joy E. (Rockville, MD)


    When a River is More than Water
    From the source of the Seine (la Seine, always feminine) in Burgundy to its ultimate destination in the English Channel, Elaine Sciolino takes us on a glorious journey. We visit people living on house boats, barge operators, nearby vineyards, chateaus, and most of all, the fascinating spots along the river as it flows through Paris. Maps and wonderful photographs enhance the text. Each chapter has its own special charm. Imagine a whole chapter on bouquinistes or booksellers.

    Reading and immersing myself in this history, travelogue, love story, was particularly timely for me as I am going to Paris soon. I plan to use her descriptions of the strolls along the river as my own secret guidebook. A true gourmet meal for those who love history and travel.
  • Chris (CA)


    The Seine Adventure
    This book exceeded my expectations. I want to go to the source of the Seine with this book in hand and follow the river all the way to Normandy, rereading her stories and conversations and history. I can't wait to see the Seine in person armed with all this information. Ms. Sciolino's writing style is very engaging. This certainly was not a dry retelling of centuries of history. Book clubs would find much to discuss, and everyone traveling to France would find much to enhance their travels. I can't wait to plan my trip.
  • Christine B. (Lilydale, MN)


    A River For Everyone
    What a marvelous history of a river and the people it touched through the centuries. I not only learned about a river and how it changed, but the effect it had on a lot of famous actors, painters, farmers, wars, industrialization, and ordinary Parisians. This a a very well researched book and beautifully written. I liked how she divided the chapters into the history and the uses of the river from its beginnings with the goddess Sequana to its future development and plans. I live on the banks of the great Mississippi and I look at it now with a yearning to travel its route and also learn its magnificent history.
  • Sandra L. (Delray Beach, FL)


    The Seine
    This book is filled with fascinating facts related to the River Seine. I found the chapters about the barge operators and the book sellers very entertaining - also life living aboard the various water craft. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in Paris!
  • Carol C. (Troy, NY)


    The Seine - The River That Made Paris
    I loved this fascinating exploration of the Seine and its impact on Northern France in general, and, of course, Paris. Often using personal experiences, the author explores how the river defines Paris culturally, socially, historically, and geographically. Tracing the Seine from its source to its end, she writes about - among other things - shipping, houseboats, policing, fishing, rowing on the river, and the many bridges of Paris. If you've been to Paris, you'll enjoy "The Seine;" if you've not been that lucky, this will have you booking a plane ticket ASAP.
  • Rory A. (Ventura, CA)


    A delightful treasure hunt
    This is one of those books that you approach if you know a little something about the Seine as it is in Paris, but never thought about it much beyond that, curious about what you might not know. It becomes a treasure hunt with a wonderful tour guide, with Elaine Scolino professing her love of the Seine and then seeking out its history, how it forms Paris, where it originates from, and various interesting tidbits in between. The delights keep coming as she digs deeper, and it's a useful journey to take.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.