Read advance reader review of Motherhood So White by Nefertiti Austin, page 3 of 3

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Motherhood So White

A Memoir of Race, Gender, and Parenting in America

by Nefertiti Austin

Motherhood So White by Nefertiti Austin X
Motherhood So White by Nefertiti Austin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Sep 2019
    304 pages
    Genre: Biography/Memoir

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 3 of 3
There are currently 17 member reviews
for Motherhood So White
Order Reviews by:
  • Evelyn G. (Union, NJ)


    Routine read
    I read this book by Nefertiti Austin hoping to gain deeper insights into the challenges and difficulties in raising an adopted child by a single black woman. The book did not do that. It was readable enough and the author wrote truthfully about her background, I felt, but it was not an interesting read that spurred me on to learn or know more by turning the pages. Adopting a "crack baby" and raising the child to the best of one's ability is not unusual in the black community or even the while community as a whole these days. People in all circumstances raise to occasions as they present themselves. Ms. Austin does portray her love for her adopted child in her writing and that may be the prime redeeming quality I found in reading this book.
  • Vicky S (RPV, CA)


    Mothers
    I looked forward to receiving this book and reading Nerertiti's perspective on motherhood and adoption. Parts of the book kept me engaged as when she wrote about her parents and grandparents. Her descriptions had depth and I felt like I'd met her grandparents. I loved the section with the comments her male friends made about her raising her son. Hilarious.

    Other parts I tried to read through quickly as I felt like I was being beaten over the head with a sentiment of otherness and her assumption that all white moms were the same. I've seen many moms with low income, or family turmoil or other challenges from a variety of backgrounds trying to do what was best with their children and having a hard time.

    I respect that she chose to create this memoir partially as a result of not being able find something similar when she was considering adoption as a single Black woman.
  • Nancy L. (Staunton, VA)


    Motherhood
    As the adoptive mother of four, all now grown to adulthood, I thought I knew as much as there was to know about adoption. But I was wrong. Motherhood So White explores the black culture surrounding adoption, as well as the single parent adoption experience. Austin explores her own childhood and the many, many "informal" adoptions - Auntie or Grandma raising a child in need - found in black communities. The only off-putting note for me was the title itself. It just doesn't seem to fit with the content of the book. Austin explains the title a bit, but it does not sum up the many interesting and important things she has to say about black adoption.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...
  • Book Jacket: Where the Light Enters
    Where the Light Enters
    by Sara Donati
    In this thrilling follow-up to The Gilded Hour, doctors Sophie and Anna Savard take on a baffling ...

Readers Recommend

Book Club
Book Jacket
The Overstory
by Richard Powers

"Monumental… A gigantic fable of genuine truths."—Barbara Kingsolver, The New York Times Book Review

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.