Read advance reader review of The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt by Andrea Bobotis, page 2 of 3

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt

A Novel

by Andrea Bobotis

The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt by Andrea Bobotis X
The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt by Andrea Bobotis
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2019, 320 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 2019, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews


Page 2 of 3
There are currently 20 member reviews
for The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt
Order Reviews by:
  • Amy E. (Delaware, OH)
    A Southern Tale
    I very much enjoyed Miss Judith's story. Time moved at a relaxed pace for her, but it was certainly not a "kinder, gentler time". Bound, South Carolina provided not only a back drop for a cast of diverse and flawed characters, but was instrumental in their development.
    I had expected a genteel southern story, but instead got a tale of ambition, greed, lies, racism and the destruction of a family.
    Ms. Bobotis tells a story illustrating the survival of the fittest in a very readable manner.
  • Donna W. (Wauwatosa, WI)
    The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt
    This story starts simply, relating Judith's life presently when she is in the her 70s. Then it reverts to her life as a 15 year old. The story continues as it weaves back and forth between these 2 time periods, and unravels the family secrets related to 1 critical day.

    I was drawn into the story quickly and the transition between the two time lines flowed smoothly. The tension built and kept me wanting to see what happened next. I liked the characters and enjoyed the beautiful language. It was a quick, easy read, and thoroughly enjoyable from beginning to end.
  • Melissa S. (Rowland, NC)
    An Inventory of Family
    Set in the deep south, Bobotis spins a tale of reality deeply familiar to fellow southerners. Beyond the sad repercussions of racial injustice and bigotry, she dives into the mystery of personal perceptions. As the novel begins, the reader is subjected to Judith's perception of reality, both past and present. However, throughout the novel, the reader is gently guided into other character's perception of reality, which, not surprisingly, are all very different, yet true (to various degrees).
    By tackling, racism, friendship, family dynamics, and forbidden love, Bobotis creates a complicated saga that in the end, leaves the reader both sad and hopeful. We see changed hearts, love and unfortunately, stubborn minds develop throughout the novel.
    My favorite aspect of the novel is Bobotis's keen ability to make the seemingly most rational character quietly unravel before the reader's eye until we realize she was the most out of touch character in the entire saga. At that moment of clarity, I felt well played by the author.
  • Marybeth T. (Bellingham, WA)
    Love a good southern story
    I love a good southern story and this didn't disappoint. It was fun to watch the story unfold and all the secrets the the family had. I found the pacing to be a page turner which I love. I look forward to more books by this author.
  • Joni G. (McConnelsville, OH)
    Beautifully Written Debut
    The first thing I usually notice about a book is it's cover and I just love this one. The book is set in the South and the author does a great job describing it. Although it took me awhile to get into the story I am glad I stuck with it. This book deals with some tough issues including racial division, family relationships, and their secrets. I would recommend this beautifully written debut to lovers of Southern Fiction.
  • Gretchen M. (Martinsburg, WV)
    It's Just Stuff
    Judith is taking inventory of heirlooms that have been in her family for decades. This is the story of the lies, secrets and history revealed by this list of items. The author does a fantastic job of helping the reader completely imagining the main characters as if in a movie. And the character - Judith- I wasn't sure I liked too well developed into one that I did. There was only one twist I didn't see coming. And only one loose end I would have liked to know: What really happened to Charlie? This is a nice addition to southern genre if you want to read something new and different.
  • Carol P. (Leland, NC)
    Living in the South- Racial Strife
    I have always had an interest in books based in the South and Southern traditions. We just moved from NJ to NC and therefore thought I would try this book. I truly enjoyed how the author tied the list of items noted by MIss Judith to be inventoried to the events in the story. The dynamics of the flashbacks to her youth were very poignant. I would recommend this book to anyone interested to read more about the dynamics of the racial issues prior to segregation and the impact to those who tried to "cross the lines". I would however have liked more detail on Judith's family i.e. her father and mother to understand why they chose the paths they did. I loved the character of Olva and her commitment to Judith and found the way the author developed the story line of Judith and Olva and the mystery of Judith's brother Quincy's death, very well crafted. There is love, humor and tragedy in this book and you are left pondering what could have been if times were different. I would recommend to young people and to book clubs. There is much to discuss and compare to the changes in race relations today.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Where Coyotes Howl
    Where Coyotes Howl
    by Sandra Dallas
    Where Coyotes Howl may appear to be a classically conventional historical novel — a wide-eyed ...
  • Book Jacket: After the Miracle
    After the Miracle
    by Max Wallace
    Many people have heard one particular story about Helen Keller—how the saintly teacher, Annie ...
  • Book Jacket: The Lost Wife
    The Lost Wife
    by Susanna Moore
    The Lost Wife is a hard-hitting novella based in part on a white settler named Sarah Wakefield's ...
  • Book Jacket
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Voted 2021 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Angeline Boulley's young adult ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The First Conspiracy
by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
A remarkable and previously untold piece of American history—the secret plot to kill George Washington

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Pieces of Blue
    by Holly Goldberg Sloan

    A hilarious and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub.

Win This Book
Win Girlfriend on Mars

30 Copies to Give Away!

A funny and poignant debut novel that skewers billionaire-funded space travel in a love story of interplanetary proportions.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S I F A R Day

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.