Read advance reader review of Women Rowing North by Mary Pipher

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Women Rowing North

Navigating Life's Currents and Flourishing As We Age

by Mary Pipher

Women Rowing North by Mary Pipher X
Women Rowing North by Mary Pipher
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Jan 2019
    272 pages
    Genre: Advice

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 1 of 2
There are currently 10 member reviews
for Women Rowing North
Order Reviews by:
  • Bettie T. (Johns Island, SC)


    Overcoming Challenges and Finding the Gifts as We Age
    I had never read anything by Mary Pipher, though I know she is well-respected. WOMEN ROWING NORTH called to me, perhaps because I am starting to notice the aging process and wondering how I will survive myself. Pipher shares a lot of wisdom and encouragement, interspersed with the stories of women she has interviewed who have faced many different challenges. It is a very readable book. I finished the book thinking that although my challenges may be different from the ones she illustrates, I, too, should be able recover from whatever comes my way and "flourish" as I age. She doesn't try to make it sound easy, but she points out that with the right attitude, we can overcome these challenges, and make use of the gifts that age has given us (perspective, patience, and joy, for example).
  • Helene M. (Sarasota, FL)


    Ladies, Get Your Paddles, We're Rowing North!
    This may be one of the most important books I've ever read - particularly for women like myself, of a "certain age," whose lives have been affected by the loss of important markers - husbands, careers, family relationships that change as one grows older.

    In compelling prose, May Pipher challenges us to explore questions that many of us avoid as uncomfortable. But, she reminds us, those questions are also unavoidable, if we wish to live fully for as long as we are able.

    Aging is difficult, and while Pipher has no magic wand to change that reality, she does provide guideposts. These come in the form of questions and challenges to which we alone have the correct answers for ourselves.

    I heartily recommend this book for women ages 45 and up, and especially for those over 65. If there was one thing I wish Pipher had done, it would have been to craft a series of workshops that could use this book as a reference point.

    Get it; read it; you won't be disappointed.
  • Marion C. (Peabody, MA)


    Women Rowing North
    "Time can take the sting out of life and make it sweeter", says Mary Pipher in her book WOMEN ROWING NORTH; Navigating Life's Currents and Flourishing as We Age. I experienced much joy reading and understanding the bends, curves and the current a woman goes through as she ages. Pipher offers suggestions on how to cope with life's little nuances and major hurdles. She also tells us our perception of events changes over time, and life has not been bad after all. As we age, we can remember having been there and done that, and we survived. Pipher clears the debris in the river and suggests women take time and better care of themselves while enjoying the beauty of life. I agree.

    Pipher's writing is succinct. I highly recommend reading WOMEN ROWING NORTH because you may find solutions and clearer understanding of currents in the river of life.
  • Diane W. (Lake Villa, IL)


    New Hope
    As I close in on retirement at 70 --- and am fearful of being isolated and alone --- I found comfort and new hope from reading this book, and a commitment to reinvent myself from a long-time academic to something new, a bit more risky, and fulfilling. Some ideas portrayed or spoken of in the book seemed a bit outdated, but I think they can be "rethought" or recreated in these times and for each of us. I'm recommending friends in my age group and book clubs give this book a read!
  • Dorian B. (Bainbridge, NY)


    You are not alone
    As a person entering my 50's I found this book to be comforting. The stories and insights that Pipher shares, while not always necessarily new, do provide reminders that we are all in this life together. I feel that it is crucial for women to support each other, and this book is a good example of what could serve as a 'port in the storm' for anyone struggling with the stresses of life and aging.
  • Randi H. (Bronx, NY)


    A book to return to over the years
    Although I am (slightly) under the stated target age for Women Rowing North, I found the book to be an insightful guide to aging for women. I greatly enjoyed Mary Pipher's exhortations to mindfulness and making the most of the life we actually have. As I read the book, I was able to immediately apply parts of it to my current life. And I can see myself coming back to this book many times as I grow older, using it as a touchstone for my outlook on aging, to help me get through difficult experiences, and reminding myself of what is truly important.
  • M Del


    Women's Stories
    This book tells the stories of a cross section of "older" women who have experienced many of life's ups and downs. Most were fortunate to have strong support systems. I was inspired by the stories and clearly saw my need to recognize the importance of caring for myself.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Readalikes

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.