Read advance reader review of Travelers by Helon Habila

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Travelers

A Novel

by Helon Habila

Travelers by Helon Habila X
Travelers by Helon Habila
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Publishes in USA 
    Jun 18, 2019
    288 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 19 member reviews
for Travelers
Order Reviews by:
  • Marganna K. (Edmonds, WA)


    A Gripping Story
    This book was difficult to put down and I throughly enjoyed this novel. It's divided into 6 Books or Chapters each telling an immigrant's story. I was well into Book 3 before I became aware of the thread connecting the 6 Books.
    It's a touching, sad story; I thought the author handled each character's tale with dignity & respect. I loved the way the stories revealed more with each succeeding book.
    The topic of immigration issues is certainly a timely subject for discussion. It is well written & thought-provoking. I'd recommend it to friends and to book clubs.
  • Liz D. (East Falmouth, MA)


    Travelers
    Travelers by Helon Habila was for me an eye opening experience.The story of the Nigerian graduate student's ever increasing interest in and involvement with refugees from Africa and the middle East. Habila brings the reader on a journey of interconnected stories experienced by the graduate student. He comes to understand the immigrant after becoming undocumented himself. The stories run seamlessly through the book making it a gradual opening of the reader eyes to the realities of going to another place in hopes of freedom, safety or opportunity. A timely book for our uneasy times. I would recommend Travelers to friends. Helon Habila is a new favorite author I will read his other books
  • Linda V. (Independence, KY)


    Poignant and timely
    I have read many stories of the Hispanic migration into the US, but none of the African diaspora. Initially one is just drawn to someone so like themselves (American) and little by little the view is widened and seasoned with the events and feelings of other characters. The events are interwoven into a tapestry reflecting current events. This becomes not a "story to tell" but rather a saga of pain, empathy and heartbreak. I keep reflecting on how I would handle the need to leave my country of origin with no idea of what to expect in my new home. Added to that would be the factor of inability to "blend" due to skin color and language. In all walks of life, I am constantly reminded: "There, but for the Grace of God, go I."
  • Penny P. (Santa Barbara, CA)


    Interesting read
    This book provides in depth insight into the world of refugees. Though the people come from different countries, their journey to find a better life faces the same obstacles. This book is very relevant to today's world. I liked the format of the book and found it easy to pick up and read a section at a time. I will recommend it to my book club with the idea that each person choose one of the stories to focus on.
  • Carol F. (Lake Linden, MI)


    Book of Stories
    This book is exquisitely written. The author draws you into each person's life as a refugee and you can almost feel their grief, hunger or hope. I loved how you were left wondering how each character would be connected to the others as you ended each section. When you discovered that link it was so finely woven into the two interconnecting lives it never felt forced or unbelievable. And the ending story, although sad, was a compelling view into a refugee's journey.
  • Deborah W. (Boynton Beach, FL)


    "Travelers" helps us walk in the shoes of refugees
    Today so many immigrants are on the move around the world, for so many reasons, that it's hard to put ourselves in the shoes of these refugees, difficult to imagine their lives. "Travelers" humanizes this situation by pulling us inside the lives of half-a dozen Africans attempting to resettle in Europe. The primary character, a Nigerian studying for his Ph.D. in America, goes abroad when his wife wins a fellowship.

    She will paint the portraits of "Travelers," but he will interact with them, getting deeply involved with some. In the process he will need to decide whether to go in the opposite direction and follow his roots back to Africa, whether to stay in Europe, or whether to return to America. Which path is right for him? For his fellow travelers?

    The topic is important and timely, but what makes this book worth reading is that the stories are on a human scale. One-to-one, we can better understand the desperation of immigrant families, learn how refugees are treated, and see the consequences of governmental policies — not through polemics or statistics but through stories of human beings like ourselves, people who want to have better lives for their children and opportunities for themselves. The book is well-written, the characters are memorable, and I was glad to have spent time in their company.

    Book clubs will find much to discuss here, as will readers of such books as "Exit West" and "The Map of Salt and Stars."
  • Claire M. (Sarasota, FL)


    Les Miserables 21st Century
    TRAVELERS is a book of wonder. Through 6 "books" Habilon ties a Nigerian- almost American to tales of people who have survived fleeing their African or Asian homelands to Europe. These are the stories of the migrants we read about every day, fleeing war and the certainty of death for a chance to live. Each person's story is different but ever so much the same: trusting smugglers to get them out or in, horrific death, losing families, near starvation and for some the stress and chaos leaves them beaten, half insane. They exist in refugee camps with conditions unknown to anyone who hasn't experienced one. The question that should be in every reader's mind is – where is human compassion, where is the will to find ways to make life in the countries of Africa, Afghanistan, etc., safer and viable? The culture wars present in most European countries, America and Australia leave no room for empathy but the human tide of travelers will not end.
    Helon Habilon is a writer of quiet power. His characters take you into their lives with the simple telling of their quest for a human connection, a place to make a living for them and their families. This would be a good book club choice if it considered the lives that have been lost or the trauma people undergo just trying to live.

    Someone will pick this up and either do a reading or a powerful play. It needs to be widely disseminated.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.