Advance reader reviews of Motherhood

Motherhood

A Novel

by Sheila Heti

Motherhood by Sheila Heti X
Motherhood by Sheila Heti
  • Readers' rating:

  • Publishes in USA 
    May 1, 2018
    288 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 2
There are currently 12 member reviews
for Motherhood
Order Reviews by:
  • Caitlin B.


    Motherhood
    A very personal, and profound book by Sheila Heti. Heti’s writing style is similar to that of stream of consciousness poetry. The book takes you on a journey rather than tells you a story. It gives you an insight into the depths of an individual’s life and their relationship with pain, sadness, doubt, their mother, boyfriend, friends, childbearing, love, and life. You are taken along the narrator’s transformation as she learns to be content with her life, her past, and her decisions.

    Great read and I was able to relate to much of the content contained in the book. Heti's writing made quite the impact on me as I was reading this book.
  • Shirley T. (Comfort, TX)


    Motherhood by Sheila Heti
    Motherhood is an amazing book, both personal and controversial. Sheila Heti's writing style is unique, using the question/answer mode to blend with the prose of the story.

    The novel is partly memoir and partly the progressive life of a writer as she considers the choices of her mid life possibilities and reflects on the life altering decisions of others.

    Completely fascinating and brave!
  • Lee M. (Creve Coeur, MO)


    Career Advice
    To say this book is different just does not cover it. It's a select compendium of many of the pros and cons of a private but important decision facing our female executive leaders of the 21st century. Very well written and covering some territory not previously discussed or well defined in any Career Manual.
  • Janine S. (Wyoming, MI)


    Angst overkill
    Motherhood is interesting for some of the literary techniques employed by the author but after that the angst over a decision to have children - actually seemingly made years previously by having an abortion and in the present by taking the morning after pill - becomes tedious reading. It became difficult to resonant with a narrator who sought to blame her mother, her lover and PMS for just about every thing that could possibly be wrong in her life. Motherhood as a calling or a decision requires some sense of selflessness. For the book's narrator it's probably a good decision for her not to have a child as I'm not sure she could ever get outside herself.
  • Sally H. (Geneva, OH)


    Motherhood
    I found it extremely difficult to slog through this book. The question and answers with the coins reminded me of asking questions to a toy 8 Ball; the pointless meanderings made me not want to read anything else written by this author. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone.
  • Vivian Harrington


    Self Absorbed Author Could Use Therapy
    Initially the concept of using the I Ching for decision making interested me because I lived in Asia for 5 years and remain fascinated by Chinese divination. After the first few chapters, however, the repetitive questions about ordinary decisions bored me.

    Additionally, the author truly appeared to be relying upon faux angst regarding the decision to have children to self indulge in writing this book. I never felt indecision. It seemed as if the author was trying to justify who decision to remain childless to look to the world as if it were agonizing.

    Every family has issues, depression, good, bad, ugly, joy....most women who decided not to have children (myself included) did not have to ask dice to give us the answer. We just knew what was right for us.
  • Jane H. (Prospect, KY)


    Motherhood
    I am sure somewhere in the pages of MOTHERHOOD, there is a profound message. I got so weary slogging through the stream of consciousness writing that I probably just didn't see it. I made it to the end only by sheer steely will.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.