Advance reader reviews of Sometimes I Lie, page 2

Sometimes I Lie

by Alice Feeney

Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney X
Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney
  • Readers' rating:

  • Publishes in USA 
    Mar 13, 2018
    272 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 2 of 7
There are currently 44 member reviews
for Sometimes I Lie
Order Reviews by:
  • Susan P. (Boston, MA)


    Sometimes I Lie
    This slow-burner twisty tale of friends and sisters is almost dizzying. Just as you've settled on what is happening in the life (and what happened in the past) of the main narrator, you start to realize something is very, very wrong. It's more than a case of an unreliable narrator; it's sociopathy at its creepiest. And exactly who IS the narrator? And the hairs on the back of your neck will shoot out at the end!
  • Marion C. (Litchfield, NH)


    Sometimes I Lie, Alice Feeney
    This novel begins with a bang. "My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me: 1. I'm in a coma.
    2. My husband doesn't love me anymore.
    3. Sometimes I lie."
    What a dynamic opening that moves this story right along! Why is Amber in a coma? She neither speaks, nor opens her eyes, although she can hear. She doesn't remember the event that put her in a coma, just the events from her 1991 diaries. Her chapters switch from "Before", "Then", and "Now". I enjoyed the novelty of this unusual set-up.

    Alice Feeney cleverly weaves the events from 1991 into the events happening now, 2016. She ties all events together and makes this novel a very pleasant read. At the conclusion, we learn three different things about Amber. I highly recommend Sometimes I Lie. It is an excellent read and would make an ideal choice for a book club
  • Janice C. (Hayward, CA)


    Sometimes I Lie
    Great book.. Had a hard time putting it down. Will be recommending it to my book club.
  • Susan H. (Mount Kisco, NY)


    scary good!
    I cannot wait for the next book by this author! I liked all the characters ... even the imaginary people. I didn't want to put the book down, but I also didn't want to finish it. There were so many twists and turns I had to re-read sections and re-read again. Wow!
  • Liz D. (East Falmouth, MA)


    Rollercoaster Thrills
    Sometimes I Lie is like taking a rollercoaster ride through a dark tunnel the reader never knows what will happen next. This fast paced thriller keeps the reader on the edge of their seat for all 200 pages. The twists and turns are numerous and the characters unreliable.

    Especially the narrator Amber Reynolds who spends a good part of the book in a coma.

    The premise is interesting because we see many things in daily life which aren't as they appear to be and we judge them with a limited knowledge of the truth.
    Are our perceptions true or do we take to another place to satisfy our inner self?

    This was a great first book I will look for more thoughtful thrillers from Alice Feeney in the future
  • Jennifer H. (Mishawaka, IN)


    Sometimes I Lie
    Holy Cow! What a wild ride. Sometimes I Lie is a terrific read. The plot is like an onion; layer after layer of revelations about the cast of characters. It's complex, twisted and dark. It is very much in the genre of Gone Girl, and Girl on Train, and every bit as good as either, perhaps even better. The short chapters make it ever so tempting to read "just one more" before calling it a night. A tough book to put down, and equally tough to process. Who was the most psychotic of the cast of characters? Might have to read this one again!
  • Amy P. (Boulder City, NV)


    Wow! Just Wow!
    Wow! The story is full of plot twists, with subtle details revealed as the narrative shifts between then and now, with diary entries spaced just far enough apart to keep the reader a bit off-kilter. I found the book difficult to put down, reading the proverbial "one more chapter" into the wee hours of the morning. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good thriller with surprises right up to the end.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.