Advance reader reviews of The Days When Birds Come Back, page 2

The Days When Birds Come Back

by Deborah Reed

The Days When Birds Come Back by Deborah Reed X
The Days When Birds Come Back by Deborah Reed
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2018
    272 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 2 of 4
There are currently 22 member reviews
for The Days When Birds Come Back
Order Reviews by:
  • Cassandra E. (Bonita Springs, FL)


    The Days when Birds Come Back
    I enjoyed the book. The interaction of 2 broken adults that have unresolved problems is interesting. Unfortunately I don't real a lot of these type of books. I find that each person - main ones- June and Jameson are both dealing with issues that could have been taken care if they had had counseling, maybe in the town, Which by the way is where a tragic loss had occurred for both families. I think they thought that by facing it - it would have healed. But the story of the slow disintegration is painful. I am not sure of a different ending but it was different. I thought the writing was good and it carried from one theme to another.
  • Beth T. (Savannah, GA)


    Familiar Metaphor, But It Works
    Home renovation as metaphor for starting over is not a new theme in literature, but in Deborah Reed's "The Days When Birds Come Back," it works, as two people struggling with a myriad of painful situations help each other through the murk to a new beginning. Reed's' descriptions of the Oregon coast are particularly enjoyable and serve to keep the overall "feel" of the story from drifting too far into melancholy. I think book groups will find lots to discuss in this very interesting story.
  • Marcia C. (Jeffersonville, PA)


    What Does it Mean to Go Home Again?
    June, a writer has returned to her home on the Washington coast to recover from her broken marriage and her addiction to alcohol. She plans to concentrate on getting her writing career back on track while overseeing the renovation of her grandparents' deserted bungalow. Jameson is a builder specializing in renovations that are true to the original character of the home he is rebuilding. He is trying to piece together a marriage that has been shattered by a terribly tragic event. Once Jamison agrees to renovate the bungalow for June, their two lives collide in ways both anticipated and unexpected. A heaviness sits over this story—both characters are fighting for their lives and a return to some sense of normalcy.
    It took me a while to decide how I felt about this book. There's a brooding and a sense of futility that had me wondering about the possibility of a real second chance for each of these characters. In the end I came to admire the honesty of the author's writing and her skill in the use of her characters' histories to heighten the sense of possible salvation in this story.
    This would be a great book for book clubs. I think there are many ideas presented that would provide much food for a lively discussion.
  • Sharon R. (Deerfield, IL)


    A Romantic Tragedy
    Emily Dickenson wrote of the the days when birds come back like Indian Summer, some days are warm and tranquil and the next are cold, blustery and uninviting. In Deborah Reed's book "The Days When Birds Come Back" can two broken souls, June and Jameson, piece together their lives which have come tragically unmoored. June hires Jameson to rebuild her grandparents house with the hope that it will help heal the scars of her childhood which for decades she has tried to run from.
    Jameson is also running from tragedy and neither believe they can or deserve to be whole or happy again.

    This is a beautifully and well written story of two people trying to help each other heal and go on with their lives, yet they can't seem to be able to fully open their hearts and there is too much fear and hurt to overcome. This reader had a hard time believing the two would find their "happily ever after."
  • Jennifer J. (Martinez, GA)


    Slow start but worth the perserverance
    "The Days When Birds Come Back" by Deborah Reed is a raw view into the lives of two people shaped by tragedy and grief. Just like the hazy, drunken binges June hoped to leave behind in Ireland, I felt as if I was drowning in Reed's descriptive, sorrowful narrative in the beginning of this book, unsure of the direction I was headed and grasping wildly for a plot. I hastily read chapter after chapter in hopes that the story would develop and lure me into Reed's tale. Somewhere around chapter 9 this occurred, and I was glad that I had persisted. Reed writes of the aftermath of tragedy and the struggle of those left with shattered lives. This book poignantly follows grief as it chases the characters far away and back home again, until ultimately they must confront the pain and letting go of what was. I found myself wanting a few more chapters at the end to see what lie ahead, always the sign of a satisfying read.
  • Sara P. (Longview, WA)


    The Days When Birds Come Back
    This is a story of two people who have suffered tremendous loss. June comes home to the Oregon coast where she grew up after her divorce, and decides to stop drinking. Her project is to fix up her grandparent's house. It has been empty and neglected for a couple of years and needs a lot of work. She hires a contractor who works by himself and has been recommended by a local resident. They both work on their individual problems in the midst of a beautiful place; skillfully described by the author. I think that it is a good portrait of two individuals working out some serious problems, and finally being able to come together to help and love each other.
  • Doris K. (Angora, MN)


    The Days When Birds Come Back
    I had a hard time writing this review as it is a beautifully written book. The descriptions of people and places are done so well the reader can really picture them. However it was a depressing book to read, one calamity after another and people who had a hard time relating to each other or themselves.

    What I found fascinating were the hints of a previous happening making me want to know more about the background. This kept me continuing to read, truly a book "hard to put down". A book club would have a good time discussing this book. I definitely will read another book by Deborah Reed and hope it's not quite so unhappy.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.