Advance reader reviews of Force of Nature, page 4

Force of Nature

by Jane Harper

Force of Nature by Jane Harper X
Force of Nature by Jane Harper
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Feb 2018
    320 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 4 of 6
There are currently 37 member reviews
for Force of Nature
Order Reviews by:
  • Barbara E. (Rockville, MD)


    A Force of Nature
    This is a thrilling mystery about the disappearance of a woman during a group team building hiking weekend in the Australian bush. From the first page I was hooked and almost finished in one sitting. The story unfolds from the point of view of the detectives and then alternates with an account of the women's trek. The characters are fascinating and well-drawn, and Harper's Detective Falk is complex and intriguing. I highly recommend this book. Because there are a number of references to events from Harper's first book, The Dry, it would help to read the books in order.
  • Dorothy M. (Maynard, MA)


    Liked this one as much as her first one
    I was very impressed with Jane Harper's first book - The Dry - and looked forward to reading her new title Force of Nature. I wasn't disappointed. She brings back Aaron Falk from her first book and gives him a new partner - Carmen Cooper - to investigate financial crimes. Still in Australia, they are called out when a women who is cooperating with their investigation turns up missing on a bushland trek as part of a team building exercise. The exercise quickly descends into a Lord of the Flies relationship when the women take a wrong turn and find themselves lost in the bush with no food or water.

    I like her characters, think she writes wonderfully, find the setting interesting and the story believable. She does a great job of creating suspense. Here are the first lines from the prologue: "Later, the four remaining women could fully agree on only two things. One: No-one saw the bushland swallow up Alice Russell. And two: Alice had a mean streak so sharp it could cut you." Doesn't that make you want to read more?
  • Nikki M. (Fort Wayne, IN)


    Above-average suspense!
    This novel had good strong characterization and an interesting Australian setting. I enjoyed the author's sophomore effort as much as I did the first, "The Dry", also set in Australia. I will keep an eye out for future reads from Jane Harper!
  • Kelli R. (Birmingham, AL)


    Things Can Go Wrong in the Woods
    I had the pleasure of reading Jane Harper's debut, The Dry, earlier this year but Force of Nature (book 2 in the Aaron Falk series) was even better. A multi-day corporate hiking and camping trip sounds scary enough but the drama is definitely intensified by the isolated bushland, the family drama back home, the history of serial killer in the exact same location, and the strained relationships among the co-workers. Federal Police Agent Aaron Falk is still charming and there were hints of The Dry throughout as Aaron struggled to understand his relationship with his now-deceased father. I will definitely continue this series.
  • Dawn C. (Meridian, ID)


    Force of Nature by Jane Harper
    This second book in the Aaron Falk series is as good as the first, The Dry. This time there are 5 women who are on a team building hike put on by Executive Adventures. One of the women does not make it back, so in comes Aaron Falk to investigate. Great storylines, intrigue and mystery to keep you turning the pages.
  • Cheryl S. (Redmond, WA)


    Force of Nature by Jane Harper
    First of all thank you to BookBrowse for the ARC of Force of Nature by Jane Harper. I loved her first book The Dry, and was very excited to have the opportunity for an early chance to read her second book in what I hope becomes a series. I've always wanted to visit Australia and enjoy reading books set there. Ms. Harper does a great job describing the landscape. I like the main character, federal police agent Aaron Falk. This particular story was slow to build, but once it did I found it hard to put down. I would highly recommend Force of Nature, and look forward to another book and the development of Ms. Harper's main character Agent Falk.
  • Maribeth R. (Indianapolis, IN)


    Harper Scores Another Hit
    Harper comes back with a mystery just as engrossing as her first volume, The Dry. But if you read the earlier book, you'll have to make a mental shift as the weatherman has pulled a veil over the dry, arid heat permeating the first story, and now Harper places you in a cold, damp, and creepy zone. The competing story lines of corporate fraud and lost campers are not difficult to follow, and meeting up with Aaron Falk once more should be a pleasant experience for those who enjoyed The Dry. Thumbs up, and a loud call out to Harper for more, more, more.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.