Advance reader reviews of The Story of Arthur Truluv, page 4

The Story of Arthur Truluv

by Elizabeth Berg

The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg X
The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Nov 2017
    240 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 4 of 7
There are currently 47 member reviews
for The Story of Arthur Truluv
Order Reviews by:
  • Bonnie R. (Aberdeen, MD)


    True Love Indeed
    Elizabeth Berg's novels always speak to the heart of the reader. TRULUV was especially eloquent to me as I'm watching my parents age and as my own true love and I are growing old together. Arthur provides a shining example of remaining young at heart and allowing that heart to be always open to new friendships and expanded families. (And keep the Kleenex handy!)
  • Cathleen K. (Poughkeepsie, NY)


    True Love
    The only thing bad about this book is that it ended. The story is a simple one about an old man mourning his wife, a girl with a nose ring and a busy-body neighbor. It's that simple, but oh how these characters can get into your thoughts and your heart. The key character in an Elizabeth Berg novel is or comes to be firmly confident in his own life, no matter how offbeat she may seem to others, and how in answering his own life questions she influences those lucky enough to know him or her. As Arthur says: I am the audience. I am the witness. I am the great appreciator, that's what I do and that's all I want to do."
  • Mary A. (Lake Nebagamon, WI)


    A Very Tender Read
    The Story of Arthur Tuluv is a very tender read. Everyone grieves the death of a loved one differently and on their own time. We see that in each of the characters.

    The portrayal of Arthur, Maddy and Lucille has you knowing them deeply. Maddies mother died when she was two weeks old and her father raised her. Maddy has alot to deal with at home and school until her path crosses with Arthur.

    The merging of the three characters brings warmth, hope and joy.
  • Beverly S.


    A small book with a wonderful story to tell.
    The Story of Arthur Truluv is a small book with a wonderful story to tell. Elizabeth Berg writes heartwarming stories and this novel does not disappoint. You will fall in love with the three main characters in this novel.
    One never knows who you might meet in a cemetery. Two of the three characters meet when Arthur is coming to have lunch everyday with his recently deceased wife and Maddy comes to the same cemetery to avoid the loneliness she feels as she attends high school where no one likes her. She has experienced abandonment at home because her mother dies in a car accident when she was just a newborn baby and her father awkwardly tries to raise her by himself.
  • Sandra G. (Loveland, CO)


    A bittersweet heartwarmer!
    One hallmark of a good book is that the author makes the reader care about the characters. Elizabeth Berg has accomplished this. Arthur was a sad and lonely widower who enjoyed making up life stories for the people whose graves he passed on his daily cemetery visits. I felt for Arthur, who, like many men of his generation, did not know what to do without the love of his life. I also felt for Lucille, Arthur's neighbor, who believed she had nothing to live for until she became involved in the lives of Arthur and Maddy. I felt for Maddy, isolated at home and an outcast at school, whose life was forever changed by the kindness and love of two old people. This was a short yet satisfying read.
  • Janet S. (Terrace Park, OH)


    Wonderful Read
    The Story of Arthur Truluv is a charming book. It's a book you just want to hug after reading it.

    Each of the three main characters lose a central figure in their lives only to find a second chance where they least expect it. While there is not a great deal of character development, you know and can relate to all of the characters from their dialog.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this "feel good" book. Elizabeth Berg does not disappoint!
  • Portia A. (Monroe Township, NJ)


    A beautiful story
    I loved this book for several reasons. The first is that Arthur Truluv is 85 and so am I..not that age should deter you at all. The second is the story, with happiness and sadness stirred together like one of Lucille's cakes. Then there is Maddie..but I could go on and on. Any way do read this beautiful tale of love and friendship.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.