Advance reader reviews of The Girl Before

The Girl Before

by JP Delaney

The Girl Before by JP Delaney X
The Girl Before by JP Delaney
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2017
    352 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 22 member reviews
for The Girl Before
Order Reviews by:
  • Dorothy L. (Manalapan, NJ)


    A Very Good Read
    I was intrigued by this book from the opening page. I kept wanting to find out what was going to happen next. I think there were similarities with Fifty Shades of Grey with the controlling characters of Christian and Edward and their manipulation of women. But I think it was a better book in terms of writing and development. I think it is important to read it consistently and over a short period of time because if you don't, it is confusing when you resume reading after a gap. I liked the ending and I would definitely recommend this book.
  • Carole P. (Framingham, MA)


    The Girl Before
    The premise of this book is a bit creepy. Two woman, two different times. Connected by a mysterious building and their desires to create new lives for themselves. When applying for an unusual apartment they are asked to do one thing. " Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life." Because if you are the lucky applicant that is all you may bring with you. You have a list of many things you may not do. If you don't agree, you don't get the apartment.
    This premise sounded unusual and a bit creepy. It is , but not in the way I imagined. The writing is good, the two women interesting. However, the real story was really not about the living space. It is about the women. It is a very unusual book and I do recommend it. Not so much a thriller or mystery, but very suspenseful.
  • Carol G. (Little Egg Harbor, NJ)


    The Girl Before
    Fast pace reading and very hard to put down. Love psychological thrillers and the end was not disappointing. Unexpected twists made the story even more compelling. One would be remiss not to read this book. Looking forward to more books by this author.
  • Mary S. (Bow, NH)


    If you want a suspenseful, page-turner book, look no further.
    Two women's lives share the same path without them knowing each other. Sounds tricky to write so the reader can follow, but the author makes it easy. Plus, along the way, the author throws in quirks and unexpected turns in the plot so you have to keep reading to find out what happens. Such a crazy premise: the house - whose design is so minimalist that it would seem uncomfortable to live in - is the glue that binds all together and somehow it works. If you like the suspense/mystery genre you should read this book.
  • Susan L. (Alexandria, VA)


    The Girl Before Surprises
    There is a reason this book went to auction and had its movie rights snapped up by Ron Howard. It is beautifully written, tautly paced and full of intrigue. It hooked me on page one and kept me guessing, incorrectly, until the end. Wonderful thriller with an architectural setting. I highly recommend it.
  • Jane D. (Cincinnati, OH)


    The Girl Before -
    Do not start this book unless you can read thru it fairly quickly. There are two reasons for this - # 1 it is a compelling and disturbing read and you won't be able to put it down and # 2 the author tells two parallel stories at the same time by alternating short chapters that are titled Emma ( the girl before ) and Jane - the women at the center of this psychological thriller. This novel is full of twists all the way to the end and you will be worn out when you finish it. Be prepared for a novel that is raw, cruel, devious, heartbreaking - you won't be able to put it down. And the movie rights have been sold to Ron Howard - this was mentioned in large print on the inside of the book jacket! Reminds one Gone Girl and other similar novels.
  • Candace F. (Lincoln, NE)


    The Girl Before
    This is one of the best books I've read in awhile. The story was very unique to anything I've ever read and it held my interest until the very end! I usually don't read psychological thrillers but it may be my new genre.The way the author went back and forth from Emma to Jane was a little bit confusing at first but I really liked the way the author went back and forth with short, very descriptive chapters and I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. The ending was a surprise I didn't see coming and although the author could have ended it many ways I loved the choice of ending. I will highly recommend this book to friends and my book club. It was well written and leaves you wanting more. I think this will be a great book for discussions!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.