Read advance reader review of Whispering Shadows by Jan-Philipp Sendker, page 3 of 9

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Whispering Shadows

by Jan-Philipp Sendker

Whispering Shadows by Jan-Philipp Sendker X
Whispering Shadows by Jan-Philipp Sendker
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2015, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Feb 2016, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews


Page 3 of 9
There are currently 63 member reviews
for Whispering Shadows
Order Reviews by:
  • Amber B. (East Sparta, OH)
    Enjoyable novel!
    I really enjoyed this book! It was unique and compelling, thoughtful, engaging, and just the right pace. I felt like I learned what it might be like to conduct business as Americans in China, and it makes me want to explore more about that topic. The characters were well-developed, and I have added Sendker's other books to my reading list.
  • Laure R. (Fresno, CA)
    ROMANCE & MYSTERY INTERWOVEN BEAUTIFULLY
    This is a story about people attempting to cope with deep emotional wounds and a terrible crime that occurs. It all takes place in contemporary China. .

    I was hooked almost immediately by this author's ability to bring his complex characters to life. Add Hong Kong as the backdrop described in exquisite detail and uncommon insight. Combine all this with a chilling mystery and I couldn't put it down! (Very unusual for me)

    I finished this book several days ago and I am still thinking about this story and its people. I strongly recommend this book to everyone to enjoy, as I did.
  • Sue from PA
    Exotic and captivating!
    The time reading the "Whispering Shadows" was time well spent! The story is based in Hong Kong and China and is relevant, timely and believable. The writing is beautiful with the author describing both the significant and the mundane equally well. I appreciated that the characters are complex and engaging. I would highly recommend this book for the thoughtful reader. Would make a good book group selection.
  • Anna R. (Oak Ridge, TN)
    Fascinating
    Whispering Shadows has it all; love, death, corruption and murder are just some of what is in the story. I was hooked on page one. The writing is great and the story line keeps you wanting to "find out what is going to happen?"

    It is a book I would recommend to my book group. It would be great for discussion.
  • Caryl L. (Richmond, VA)
    Whipering Shadows
    Whispering Shadows is a very interesting book. The author has managed to weave several subplots i.e. a budding romance; a murder mystery; a tragic loss of a son; into the main theme of the book; a look into the lives of the people; both American and Chinese; during the great growth and prosperity of China. It becomes a fascinating insight into Chinese government and all those who lived under this corrupt regime

    This is a book I will not forget easily. The longer I read the harder it was t put down. Thank you, Mr Sendker
  • Elizabeth K. (Dallas, TX)
    Well worth reading
    I couldn't put this book down once I started reading. Paul is an intriguing character and the setting is fascinating. At the same time it transcends genre and is more than a mystery. It becomes a study of secrets and the effects they have on people's lives. I now plan to read everything Jan-Phillipp Sendker has written.
  • Cathy W. (Rancho Palos Verdes, CA)
    Compulsive read
    Whispering Shadows is a multifaceted murder mystery. It is a character driven novel that explores the human psyche to advance the story. It takes place in contemporary China. The crime and its outcome are intricately tied to the country's leadership and history. Sendker deftly weaves episodes from China's past to trigger the characters' motivations and actions. The tension mounts as the reader is left to wonder how each character will confront the past in order to survive the future.

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Where Coyotes Howl
    Where Coyotes Howl
    by Sandra Dallas
    Where Coyotes Howl may appear to be a classically conventional historical novel — a wide-eyed ...
  • Book Jacket: After the Miracle
    After the Miracle
    by Max Wallace
    Many people have heard one particular story about Helen Keller—how the saintly teacher, Annie ...
  • Book Jacket: The Lost Wife
    The Lost Wife
    by Susanna Moore
    The Lost Wife is a hard-hitting novella based in part on a white settler named Sarah Wakefield's ...
  • Book Jacket
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Voted 2021 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Angeline Boulley's young adult ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The First Conspiracy
by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
A remarkable and previously untold piece of American history—the secret plot to kill George Washington

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Pieces of Blue
    by Holly Goldberg Sloan

    A hilarious and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub.

Win This Book
Win Girlfriend on Mars

30 Copies to Give Away!

A funny and poignant debut novel that skewers billionaire-funded space travel in a love story of interplanetary proportions.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S I F A R Day

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.