Advance reader reviews of Making Toast

Making Toast

A Family Story

by Roger Rosenblatt

Making Toast by Roger Rosenblatt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Mar 2010
    176 pages
    Genre: Biographies & Memoirs

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 27 member reviews
for Making Toast
Order Reviews by:
  • C H. (Wauwatosa, WI)


    Making Toast
    A wonderfully written account of how one family handles a very painful event. This is a memoir of parents whose daughter dies leaving behind a husband and three young children. The author and his wife leave behind the life they have to join the lives of their grandchildren taking up all the things that their mother had done from carpooling to playdates to bedtimes rituals. I can think of no more heartwarming relationship than a grandparent and grandchild. Although this relationship is forged through painful conditions, the story is told in such a honest and factual, but warm and loving way that this is a read that you will learn from and remember.
  • Karen E. (Salt Lake City, UT)


    Sweet Surprise
    I found this book to be immensely readable and enjoyable. Since it is about the aftermath of the author's daughter's death, that was a bit surprising. Mr Rosenblatt professes to be a man who doesn't believe in God, yet his book points out dozens of God's tender mercies - made possible by the wonderful people who loved and were loved by his daughter. A wonderful memoir to an amazing daughter.
  • Lois G. (Redding, California)


    Best read of the year.
    I read a lot of books. I live with books all around me. I love books and I love this book. I opened it as soon as it arrived and had it read within 24 hours. This is without a doubt the best book I have ever read on how to "get on with getting on". Making Toast will make you cry, but in doing so it might make you a better person. Read this book!
  • Eva R. (Westmont, IL)


    Heartbreak with Love
    This book was written from the heart and as the reader you feel the emotions and the love. This book touched my heart, deeply. It showed me that there are families that care about each other deeply, especially in times of crisis. It reaffirmed the knowledge that family can actually overcome great obstacles through their love. A great book to share with those you love.
  • Mary Q. (Greeley, CO)


    Making Toast
    This is a beautifully written and emotional little memoir. It is comprised of non-sequential short anecdotes which encapsulate the year following the sudden death of the author's thirty-eight-year-old daughter. The author and his wife move into their son-in-law's home to help care for their three young grandchildren. The sparse format of the book precludes deep intimacy with the family, yet I still came away with a sense of knowing and caring about them all, adults and children. I will remember these people and will wish I could know how their lives play out in the years to come (perhaps a sequel?). This is a book I will keep and cherish and one which I'll recommend to friends. It would also make a great book club selection!
  • Daniel A. (Naugatuck, CT)


    Making Toast
    I enjoyed reading this memoir very much. It is fast paced and a page-turner. The book is composed of short paragraphs for each idea or story, and there are 118 of them. (yes, I counted.)

    Making Toast is not only about the breakfast ritual each morning, but it is also the process that connects every idea together. It is well written.
  • Marjorie W. (Bonita Springs, FL)


    Making Toast
    What a heartwarming story! What could be a depressing tale becomes a tribute not only to Amy, but to Harris, Ginny and Roger. I felt the sorrow of all the characters, but I also felt the love that made it all work. This will be a book that I will read more than once and will recommend it to my friends.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Graybar Hotel
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...
  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.