Read advance reader review of The Paris Bookseller by Kerri Maher

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Paris Bookseller

by Kerri Maher

The Paris Bookseller by Kerri Maher X
The Paris Bookseller by Kerri Maher
Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 1 of 5
There are currently 33 member reviews
for The Paris Bookseller
Order Reviews by:
  • Arden A. (Longboat Key, FL)
    1919 Paris
    Shakespeare and Company was a renowned Paris bookstore established in 1919 by a woman, Sylvia Beach. It was during a time when Hemingway, Ezra Pound, James Joyce lived and wrote and frequented Sylvia's bookstore, which was an anomaly at that time, since women were not encouraged to excel outside the home, and it took great fortitude to create the phenomenon that her bookstore became. In addition, she undertook to publish one of the most controversial novels of the times, James Joyce's Ulysses.
    The novel is well written, the descriptions bring the 1900s clearly into view, and the story, mostly factual and well researched, is excellently woven around the authors and the difficulties of the time. It clearly tells the story of a remarkable woman.
  • Pam S. (Wellesley, MA)
    Paris in the 1920s and the bookshop at its center
    Kerri Maher has written a fascinating novel about Sylvia Beach, the American who opened Shakespeare and Company book shop in Paris in 1919. The store became a mecca for writers who flocked to Paris in the years between the world wars. Although I knew a little about Sylvia Beach before reading this book, I was delighted to learn more about her and her store. Her role as publisher of Ulysses, the ground-breaking novel by James Joyce, and the saga of their relationship formed a significant portion of the book. I particularly enjoyed reading about the many legendary writers (Ernest Hemingway, Ezra Pound, Gertrude Stein and many more). It was a pleasure to experience the world of the "lost generation" through the perspective of Sylvia, who was at the center of it. I recommend this book for anyone who is interested in the period and am grateful to the author for bringing to life someone who was at the heart of it.
  • Dan W. (Fort Myers, FL)
    The Lost Generation
    Upon noticing the book title and the book cover for "The Paris Bookseller", I was hooked on this book. I have had the opportunity to visit the bookstore Shakespeare and Company in Paris several times on my trips to France. After reading this inspiring book by Kerri Maher, I long to once again visit the place that Sylvia Beach make possible for unknown, but talented, writers to create books that will live on through the ages. I found myself captivated by Kerri Maher's ability to draw the reader into a personalized way that Sylvia provided financial and moral support to some of the best "Lost Generation" authors. I think a book club would be an ideal forum to review and discuss this book! This is a book I would highly encourage any visitor to Paris to read; even those readers that might not able to actually travel to the "magical" place!
  • Jan, Colorado
    The Paris Bookseller
    It was with mixed emotions that I finished The Paris Bookseller. I could hardly stop reading it but I hated to see it end. This has been my favorite book of the year.

    I had almost given up reading historical fiction because other authors had so completely and dismally strayed from the real people and real events. Kerri Maher was masterful in using the real people, real events, and the setting and then added to the story. I was not familiar with Sylvia Beach or Shakespeare and Company and I truly enjoyed learning about her influence on literature. The author brought all of the other real people to life and revealed their personalities. I also appreciated that the author told the story linearly as opposed to the popular jumping back and forth in time that many authors are employing today.

    I would love to discuss this book in a book club. The characters are rich and deserve us diving into their lives and relationships. I researched some of the events while reading the book, and would like to learn more about the events depicted in the book. I will definitely recommend it to my book club after the book is published.

    I think this book would appeal to people who enjoy historical fiction and literature lovers. I will watch for more Kerri Maher books in the future.
  • Terrie J. (Eagan, MN)
    A Book for Book Lovers
    This was a fun book for book lovers. Many famous authors made appearances in the midst of a great story line. The heroine of the story was a strong woman with lofty goals during a time when women weren't looked upon as successful entrepreneurs. There were surprises throughout the book which kept my interest while reading. It was well written and the descriptions made you feel like you were there. I highly recommend this book for all types of readers.
  • Linda S. (Milford, CT)
    The Paris Bookseller by Kerri Maher
    This is a charming, interesting book about the origins of a famous bookshop in Paris, Shakespeare and Company and how it came to be in 1918. Sylvia Beach is a young American, visiting Paris with her family and falls in love with the City of Lights. So begins her journey to create a new English speaking bookshop and lending library and her long time relationship with Adrienne Monnier. After it was established, many famous authors frequented the bookshop, such as Ezra Pound, Ernest Hemingway and his wives, and Gertrude Stein. Sylvia became good friends with James Joyce, who was a large presence in the novel. Sylvia Beach is a delightful character, especially knowing that she existed.

    Anyone who loves books and reading will enjoy the book. It was well researched and the Author's Notes at the end were most informative. I feel the book would lend itself to a great discussion. I thoroughly enjoyed this book!
  • Alyce T. (San Antonio, TX)
    Old Friends
    Reading "the Paris Bookseller" is like attending a High School or College Reunion. It is so much fun meeting and greeting old friends. As the characters come into the store, Shakespeare and Company owned by the famous Sylvia Beach, we "know" them as well as relatives coming home for a family reunion. it is a joy to learn of the interactions and friendships of the famous authors of the 20th Century. We experience their gathering together for support and to escape the bans and prohibitions in the early 1900s.

    James Joyce's "Ulysses " is the focal point of this true story and how the community saved it. Kerri Maher's delightful book will be entertaining for both old and new readers. and will create lively discussions for book Clubs..

Readalikes

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.