Read advance reader review of Honor by Thrity Umrigar

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Honor

by Thrity Umrigar

Honor by Thrity Umrigar X
Honor by Thrity Umrigar
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2022, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Sep 27, 2022, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews


Page 1 of 6
There are currently 38 member reviews
for Honor
Order Reviews by:
  • Pat S. (Sarasota, FL)
    Too Pure of Heart
    Two Indians, one Muslim and one Hindu, who were uneducated and living in poverty, loved each other. They could not comprehend the level of hatred thrown at them. This level of hatred still exists in today's world when people do not follow perceived expectations. Dark, humbling, joyous, acts of violence, acts of love - all are on display in this moving novel.
  • Millicent G. (Cypress, TX)
    Invisible Walls
    Just recently I returned from a three week visit with my daughter and my grandchildren in Ireland after a two year Covid hiatus. Ireland is a land of stone walls, ancient and modern, intact and crumbling, high and low. Yesterday morning I woke up ready to read Thrity Umrigar's newest book for this review and yesterday evening I closed the last page. I tried to write my thoughts down last night but they were unformed and scattered. This morning I woke up with images of those walls in my mind and knew I had been connecting them to Honor.

    We are surrounded by invisible walls in our lives...walls of religion, gender, skin color, politics, class, money, education, age, appearance, shame, expectations, nationality, illness, misinformation . These walls are also ancient and modern, intact and crumbling, high and low.

    This book powerfully explores so many themes but the one that resonated most powerfully with me is that of the Invisible Walls surrounding all of us. What do we do with them when they become visible?

    This book will be read and discussed by books clubs everywhere because there is so much in it that will move readers ... some just emotionally but some to action.
  • Ilyse F. (Freehold, NJ)
    The Many Types of Honor
    Honor is an apt name for a novel that explores all the ways that we can be honorable and all the ways that people commit atrocities and betrayals in the name of honor. The book has a dual story line. One is the family history of Smita, an Indian journalist who returns to India after many years away. The other is of Meena, a Hindu woman who has been hideously scarred in a fire that took the life of her husband. The fire was set by her brothers in protest of the fact that their sister married a Musim. Meena has now taken the brothers to court to be held responsible for their actions and to protect her and her infant daughter. The two women are brought together by Smita reporting on the trial. This is not a light read. It is really eye opening and educational about honor killings and the rights of women in India. I would highly recommend it.
  • Marianne L. (Syosset, NY)
    Another Winner
    Honor, the title of Thrity Umrigar's latest novel, serves as a cutting edge amid the twisting, perilous circumstances of two women in India. This is another well developed, thought provoking read. Like her other titles, her characters touch readers' hearts, provoking emotions of love, anger, and compassion. Cultural demands figure strongly in this drama, challenging the characters to examine fundamental meanings of womanhood, selfhood and freedom. This is a book that shines a bright light upon a dark reality we all need to know about. It is a book you will find it hard to put down. Don't miss this one!
  • Julie M. (Stacy, MN)
    Umigar Does it Again
    I forget what a great story teller Thrity Umigar is until I read her next book. She does not disappoint with Honor! This is a story of two women brought together by a tragedy. One living in present day India (Meena) and one who left as a young girl and returns as a journalist covering the crime (Smita). The compare and contrast of these two women is beautifully done and the memories of old India give way to hope for a new India.
  • Mary Lou F. (Naples, FL)
    Culture Clash
    I highly recommend this book. I sympathized with the main characters and was appalled at the fanatical religious thinking.
  • Susan T. (Bahama, NC)
    Great book
    I really enjoyed this book while it saddened me at the same time. An American Indian journalist reluctantly returns to the country she and her family fled when she was a young teenager to cover a story of another young woman who is being persecuted because of who she fell in love with and married. The book is very well written and engaging. The two main themes of the book are women's rights and persecution because of religious differences. The author alternates between the viewpoint of Meena and Smita giving you insight into how both women have suffered and still suffer because of the rules and laws that still dictate the lives of women in this country (and many others) unfairly today.

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    Good Husbands
    by Cate Ray

    Three wives, one letter, and an explosive secret that will change everything.
    He said, she said. Who do you believe?

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.