Read advance reader review of Mrs. March by Virginia Feito

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Mrs. March

A Novel

by Virginia Feito

Mrs. March by Virginia Feito X
Mrs. March by Virginia Feito
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published Aug 2021
    304 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 21 member reviews
for Mrs. March
Order Reviews by:
  • Linda K. (Sunset, SC)
    Loved it and so will you!
    It's not often you pick up a new book and are pleasantly surprised by the twists and turns of the story...Mrs. March does not disappoint. First impression of the title character you are not too sure how to assess Mrs. March then the fun begins. Ms. Feito's writing style feels comfortable from the start. I laughed. I cried...at one point, I seriously thought the story a dark comedy. Thoroughly enjoyed it...my only criticism is the finale could have been a little more surprising or dramatic. Bravo!
  • Cindy R. (North Miami Beach, FL)
    Mrs. March
    While reading Virginia Feito's novel, MRS. MARCH (Liveright/WWNorton) I felt as if I was being sucked into the mind of a 42 year-old woman suffering from early dementia. And while it was uncomfortable and sad, I couldn't stop reading. Feito's novel is a study between madness and death. It's a dark psychological drama that will creep you out. At least, it creeped me out.

    Mrs. March is the wife of a successful author. She starts to begin seeing herself in the main character of her husband's new bestselling novel and begins performing as that character in real life and losing herself at the same time. Mrs. March not only finds herself between the pages of the book, but discovering secrets of her past, as well as tracking down a killer.

    Feito's writing is brilliant and her characters are so complex and well developed. The whole novel is set in the wealthy New York City "Book World" which is quite a treat to read about.

    MRS. MARCH is soon to be a motion picture with Blumhouse, starring Elizabeth Moss, of "Mad Men" fame.
  • Sheila B. (Danvers, MA)
    Just the Kind of Story I Needed Right Now
    Mrs. March is my favorite kind of narrator -- an unreliable one -- and she doesn't disappoint. I thought Feito's use of language was descriptive, yet not claustrophobic, and I had a hard time not reading "just a little more" to see what was next for our complex and well developed Mrs. March. Full disclosure, I am drawn to very dark story lines, and I found this quite satisfying. I did hear this is slated to be made into a movie starring none other than Elizabeth Moss. I look forward to the movie as well as future books by Ms. Feito.
  • Becky H
    Not for everyone, but great
    The feeling of portending disaster looms from the very first page, The disturbing adjectives and descriptions add to the malevolence. I hated this book and loved it at the same time. The writing is wonderful. The character of Mrs. March spirals out of control splendidly.
    I don’t want to say much more because this book needs to be read without knowing even the basic plot. It is not quite a thriller, not quite a book of psychological horror. It is definitely a book that grabs you and then doesn’t let go until the shocking end. (Yes, I saw it coming, but didn’t want it to happen.)
    Did I “enjoy” reading this book. No, unequivocally. But it was a great book. Would I recommend it to my book group, No! Would I recommend it to a very select group of friends that I know well. Yes!
    5 of 5 stars
  • Linda S. (Cranberry Township, PA)
    Appearances Are Important
    Appearances are everything to the exquisite Mrs. March. Her husband's latest novel has become a much talked about hit, unbeknownst to her. She ultimately learns the novel's protagonist could have been based on herself…. and the main character is (in hushed tones) a whore. She slowly comes undone, which is not difficult for a woman who is her own worst enemy. She lives with high expectations as the elegant victim, ever hopeful in a pitiful way. Her subconscious mind is a formidable thing. Mrs. March's unsettling humiliation overpowers her with paranoia. Poor Mrs. March.
  • Carole C. (Willow Street, PA)
    Another Mrs. March
    Usually, "psychological thriller" is not my genre of choice. Often plots are too contrived for this reader to suspend disbelief, or the author seems more manipulator than novelist. Virginia Feito is guilty of neither in Mrs. March. From the opening chapter with vivid descriptions of the fur-coated, mint green kidskin-gloved Mrs. March and the question that will haunt her through the book -- Did her husband George base the main character in his latest best-selling book on her? -- I was drawn in.

    As the reader is pulled into the eddy of Mrs. March's mind and swirls downward with her insecurities, suspicions, and delusions, the questions multiply and the facts blur. The book begins and ends with preparations for March dinner parties, but nothing quite prepared me for the latter. There should be no spoilers in a review of this book, and I comply. However, a quote from the book itself will describe the final spirals: "Something so ugly described so beautifully. To trap you, surely, to trap you into reading and slowly seduce you into agreeing with this deplorable portrait."

    This book will, I believe, be a hit with fans of thrillers and with book clubs. I can't wait to discuss Mrs. March with some friends -- perhaps with a glass of red wine and a slice of black olive bread.
  • Vicki H. (Greenwood Village, CO)
    Mrs March, We're Worried!
    This dark psychological study puts the reader wrongfooted early on — something's 'off,' isn't it? — and pronto, we're strapped in for a Hitchcockian scare-ride of paranoia, hallucination, and a wee bit of kleptomania.

    Mrs March (what happened in your dark childhood, dear?) is all about that M-R-S. That title and all it means gets a slap upside the head as the book begins.

    Once that the pedestal she's built for herself is jostled, Mrs March wobbles wider and wider until the inevitable spectacular crash. (Inevitable, yet I didn't see it coming. The ending packs a surprising wallop.)

    I loved the dark paranoia, the invitation into 80s NYC, the hint of The Yellow Wallpaper, the walls-closing-in feel. It's such a fascinating page turner, no wonder the movie's already planned
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    Fruiting Bodies
    by Kathryn Harlan

    A genre-bending debut collection of stories full of desire, wisdom, and magic blooming amidst decay.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.