Read advance reader review of Appleseed by Matt Bell

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Appleseed

by Matt Bell

Appleseed by Matt Bell X
Appleseed by Matt Bell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published Jul 2021
    480 pages
    Genre: Literary Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 1 of 2
There are currently 13 member reviews
for Appleseed
Order Reviews by:
  • Lesley F. (San Diego, CA)
    Appleseed
    In his acknowledgements, author Matt Bell thanks Michael Pollan, author of The Botany of Desire, for his recounting of the legend of Johnny Appleseed which sparked this imaginative post-apocalyptic story. I have read that book and understand the thanks Bell gave. It planted a seed! Haha... If you liked Margaret Atwood's Oryck, Crake and MaddAdam, you'll love this. If you liked Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell, you'll love this. In the tradition of Animal Farm and Brave New World, Appleseed suggests a dystopic possibility for our future. Three different stories evolve, one in eighteenth-century Ohio, one in the second half of the 21st century, and one a thousand years from now. What have we done and what are we doing as a legacy for the future of the Earth? It takes all three stories to recount the ways we can mess this up. Seeds of truth are here as well. What a really timely story.
  • Kay D. (Strongsville, OH)
    Appleseed - An Amazing Read
    I thought I would like this book. Then, after starting it, I thought I was wrong. After more reading, I knew I was wrong. I loved this book. Extraordinary and original.

    An amazing read that compelled me to keep reading and experiencing the awesomeness. Thought provoking. Frightening. Hopeful. Hopeless. Futuristic yet bound strongly to the past. A bit of magic, a bit of mysticism, a bit of reality. Linking everything to man's (or woman's) interventions in nature (and the earth) and exposing the bad with the intended good.

    I highly recommend reading the back cover book description to help place the storylines and then read away. Probably not for everyone, but for those with inquiring minds who love good writing, this is a great read.
  • Gary R. (Bolingbrook, IL)
    The beginning,what's to come,the end!
    Well this really wasn't an easy read and probably not for everyone. That said i enjoyed this book. In my opinion it was three stories in one. The beginning is about nature vs.man the what's to come is corporate greed and misguided beliefs and what they lead to,the end is just that buried beneath tons of ice. Matt Bell wrote a warning of what's to come if we continue on the track we're on! I don't want to be preach just my take. Enjoyed this book. Thanks BookBrowse, always find a new author!
  • Ruth H. (Sebring, FL)
    The World Unknown
    Very imaginative, yet possible? This book really made me think about the current issues we face today, i.e. global warming, reduced natural resources, etc. What happens now causes consequences for the future. I really enjoyed the story line and yes, it is fiction! This is a great read for fantasy lovers and Science Fictioners. Liked how the chapters are split up yet they intertwine with each other. Nathaniel and Chapman's ventures are most interesting, also C432/433! I could not put the book down because I had to know what happened next. Though a large book, stick with it, is is so worth it!! Nice job, Matt Bell!
  • Loren B. (Appleton, WI)
    Amazing
    I absolutely loved this book ! I found it to be very thought provoking with the message delivered in a very lyrical, non-preachy manner. Highly recommended to anyone concerned with the fate of our world.
  • Susan L. (Midlothian, VA)
    Climate change
    It talks about our past and present and weaves strands of myth, science fiction, ecological warnings for North America.
  • Monica (Destin, FL)
    Fauns, witches, and climate change, Oh my!
    Appleseed is an intricately imaginative science fiction book full of technical details, especially in the C-432/433 portion of the book. I found Nathaniel and Chapman's ventures to be the most interesting, but I'm still not sure what the purpose of one of the brothers being a faun is. Utilizing nanobees for pollination purposes was an interesting idea.

    I'm not sure I'm a fan of a book that mixes fauns, witches, planting, climate change, exes, and world destruction together. It's just a bit much..... the book was detailed in some areas and lacked clarity in others.

    Not one of my favorites, but I think it would best suit YA readers, especially those interested in STEM or robotics.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

More Information

Readalikes

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

  • Book Jacket

    Fruiting Bodies
    by Kathryn Harlan

    A genre-bending debut collection of stories full of desire, wisdom, and magic blooming amidst decay.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.