MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Read advance reader review of Actress by Anne Enright

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Actress by Anne Enright X
Actress by Anne Enright
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Mar 2020
    272 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 23 member reviews
for Actress
Order Reviews by:
  • Della S. (Rockville, MD)
    An Evocative Portrait of Family and Fame
    Anne Enright's latest novel explores fame and its effects on both the famous and their family, while also creating an intimate portrait of a complex mother-daughter relationship. Katherine O'Dell's rise ( and fall from) fame and success is told through the eyes of her daughter Norah, who has reached middle age without reconciling her feelings or thoughts about her mother, her mother's fame or her own life trajectory.

    Enright's cool prose perfectly captures Norah's measured review while surgically delving into both women's complicated psyches. Focusing tightly on the two characters, Enright explores issues of politics, gender, loss and power.

    This book will undoubtedly serve as a standard, not only for great Irish literature, but for women's literature. In light of the #MeToo movement, it is a must-read for book clubs and will provide hours of thoughtful discussion.
  • Gina T. (Natick, MA)
    a unique mother-daughter relationship
    Anne Enright does not disappoint with her new novel. It explores a very unique mother-daughter relationship in her beautiful, deliberate prose.In a recent interview with the author, she credits her father for valuing equanimity. This greatly influences her steady, descriptive style. We are also shaped by our mothers and Enright explores the relationship of this complex pair. This novel will appeal to fans of Enright, Bannville, Strout and admirers of traditional literature. this novel would make an excellent book club selection.
  • Valerie M. (Los Angeles, CA)
    Mothers and their Secrets
    "Actress" is a story of two women: a needy artist, and the daughter who witnesses her diminished fame and confidence. It is a novel of intimacies, inheritance, unrequited longing, and death by paper cuts. A lot of the novel treads on the supposition that actresses are unhappy people searching for humanity and love among strangers- and that strangers are desperate to know if actresses are normal people, or not.

    The story begins with Norah looking back on her mother's glittery life of stardom and applause. As a child, she was transfixed by Katherine O'Dell's talent, watching her perform on stage. Too young to understand jealousy and loneliness, Norah was oblivious to her mother's secret life. When she digs deeper into the woman her mother turned into she sees a woman much different than the legendary stage performer she admired from afar.

    The seventh novel of Irish writer Anne Enright is a compelling character study with a quiet message. Daughters don't really know their mothers. They were absent during the experiences that damaged and changed their mothers. The person they know is the adult and not the curious girl who had change thrust upon her by circumstance and so she adapted. Enright hones in on something very real about powerful mothers and their daughters. There is no choice but to mimic your beautiful mother so you can turn into her as a compliment. Until her mind begins to thin and crack and the fantasy of the good mother dissolves.

    Then the daughter has to take a step back, away from the person she thinks her mother is, and who ironically, she has become as well.
  • Rosanna H. (Tuckahoe, NY)
    Actress: A Novel by Anne Enright
    This novel paints a vivid portrait of actress Katherine O'Dell, lovingly drawn by her daughter Norah. As Norah recalls her mother's life and researches the past, we gradually learn the harsh truths concealed by her mother's romanticizing of her life's events.

    I was fascinated by the story of Katherine O'Dell, which is brilliantly told by author Ann Enright. The book is a superb character study filled with a host of interesting characters who surround our heroine. Dublin itself, the main backdrop for the story, is brought colorfully to life by Enright's vivid descriptions.

    I recommend this book for book clubs. Enright's brilliant character study, vivid descriptions, and subtle unfolding of the plot provide rich material for a good discussion. The book overall provides an engrossing and satisfying reading experience.
  • Myrna M. (Chapel Hill, NC)
    Acclaim for this "Actress"
    Avid reader though I am, I had never heard of Anne Enright until I requested The Actress for review. Now I plan to read all of her books. What does this say about The Actress?

    It is an epic poem in the guise of prose, an epic poem with only the barest whiff of a plot, a fictional autobiography whose central character is not the person "talking" but that person's mother—the glorious red -haired Irish (born English but best for her career she doesn't disclose her origins) actress Katherine O'Dell.

    If one is looking for a plot, here it is: a beautiful actress reaches the heights, falters, declines, commits a crime, goes (is she all along?) mad. Her daughter relates all of this while also describing her own life as intertwined with her mother's rise and fall. So simple, but so beautifully told that it is difficult to interrupt reading --not to find out what happens next (this is definitely not a thriller) but what will the characters think next, how will their relationship evolve next, what will be the impact of the ancillary characters.

    In the long run, it is not the story, which is simple, but the writing that carries this book—Enright's ability to use simple language to express emotions, forthright descriptions of sex, believable dialogue, her right words in the right order—that made this reader enjoy the book until the final period
  • Ora Jonasson (Anacortes, WA)
    Actress
    Anne Enright uses words like an artist works with water colors. Flowing shades and blending tones paint a portrait of Kathrine O'Dell, coming-of-age during the 1960s, in the throes of Irish theater and politics. She creates the existence of a woman whose life on stage or before cameras completely overshadows her physical awareness. This duel-reality is revealed through the eyes of her daughter, Norah FitzMaurcice, whose life is blended into her mother's fantasies; an element of the same painting.
    I found myself immersed in the human struggles encountered between roles and realities, applause and rejection. Time flows in and out like the tide, enriching the complexities and depth of an actor's life and a daughter's search for self.
  • Rose N. (Saginaw, MI)
    Actress
    To me, 'Actress' seemed like a love letter from a daughter to her mother, the actress Katherine O'Dell. Anne Enright so poignantly portrays the life of a successful, then struggling, actress. In the time period, one is reminded of the 'troubles' in Ireland, amid the pressure of choosing fame or family. "You could say not having a job is one of the most important parts of the job". A thoughtful, well-written novel which begs to be discussed.

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Race Against Time
    Race Against Time
    by Jerry Mitchell
    Jerry Mitchell spent nearly three decades trailing cold cases from the Civil Rights Movement. As a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Resisters
    The Resisters
    by Gish Jen
    Gish Jen's The Resisters depicts a future United States, dubbed AutoAmerica, where climate change ...
  • Book Jacket: The Mercies
    The Mercies
    by Kiran Millwood Hargrave
    It's 1617 and a violent storm has claimed the lives of 40 fishermen off the coast of Vardø, a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree
    by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani
    Ya Ta, the main character in Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani's novel, Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Mountains Sing
    by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

    An enveloping, multigenerational tale set against the backdrop of the Viet Nam War.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    And They Called It Camelot
    by Stephanie Marie Thornton

    An unforgettable portrait of American legend Jackie O.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Things They Carried
by Tim O'Brien

The classic, ground-breaking meditation on war and the redemptive power of storytelling.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Mostly Dead Things

Mostly Dead Things
by Kristen Arnett

"Hilarious, deeply morbid, and full of heart."
- BuzzFeed

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Die I C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.