Read advance reader review of D-Day Girls by Sarah Rose

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

D-Day Girls

The Spies Who Armed the Resistance, Sabotaged the Nazis, and Helped Win World War II

by Sarah Rose

D-Day Girls by Sarah Rose X
D-Day Girls by Sarah Rose
Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 1 of 7
There are currently 43 member reviews
for D-Day Girls
Order Reviews by:
  • Mary G. (Nags Head, NC)


    A Tribute Long Overdue
    In D-Day Girls, Sarah Rose recognizes courageous and patriotic women whose contributions to the success of the D-Day invasion have only recently been declassified. Rose chooses to tell the stories of 5 women who were recruited into a special intelligence unit to help organize the resistance movement in France--a move crucial to the success of the planned invasion. Because of the shortage of men, Churchill reluctantly OK'd the use of women in this dangerous role. The women performed with courage and valor and many did not come home. Some even left children to undertake this dangerous mission. They were willing to risk having their children grow up as orphans rather than grow up in a Nazi-occupied world.

    Because the book has numerous storylines, it was somewhat difficult to follow. However, it is worth the challenge. It is very well researched and a fascinating read. The writing style reminded me of Erik Larsen in that it delivered the story in a matter of fact manner, yet captivated me from the very start. This is a book I have been telling all my friends about and highly encourage everyone to read. I do warn you though; it is not a casual read. It is a book that requires your attention. But given the sacrifices made by the subjects, I think they are entitled to that consideration.
  • Linda K. (Sunset, SC)


    D-Day Girls
    There have been numerous World War II nonfiction stories, but D-Day Girls is an impressive historical work based on years of unparalleled research by Sarah Rose. Not only does the reader learn so much about the war effort in England France, but also the perils of the heroic women (and a few men) involved with the SOE.

    The book's format of introducing each of the characters' stories, their code names and individual missions was the key to appreciating each of their participation. The back and forth stories of each person demanded some attention by the reader but so necessary to appreciate the choreography of the D-Day invasion.

    Well written and excellent character development made the book compelling and enjoyable to read. One really came away with an appreciation of the hard-fought World War II effort and sacrifices made by so many selfless persons.
  • Cassandra E. (Bonita Springs, FL)


    D-Day
    This book was outstanding. I normally don't read non fiction but this was great. Loved learning about the women who signed on for training their love of their country. I always wondered about the program and learned so much. I will recommend this book to all readers women and men. Learning about the everyday life in France during the war was great. Europeans had to live such deprivation compared to what the Americans live were at this time. They were brave and their love for their county was so uplifting. Read it!
  • Julia A. (New York, NY)


    A Gift to Those Interested in History
    D-Day Girls, described on the cover as being about the spies who armed the resistance, sabotaged the Nazis, and helped win World War II is a remarkable book. By profiling five women and four men, giving details of their exploits in France during the war as well as their personal lives, Sarah Rose makes the reader genuinely care about these brave spies who contributed so much to the Allied efforts in the war, particularly in the period leading up to the invasion at Normandy. I found myself admiring the characters, and wishing that what they, especially the women, did during the war hadn't had to remain classified until 2003. If it had been known in specific ways just how valuable women were to the war efforts and if they had been allowed to remain in responsible professional position after the war, instead of being relegated back to the shadows, how different might the struggle for equal rights for women have been?

    In any event, Sarah Rose has done a great service for people everywhere by bringing to light the history of these brave women (and men) today. Her book is meticulously researched, while at the same time being completely readable. I would say it is a "must read" for anyone interested in the history of World War II, and for anyone interested in women's history.
  • Joe S. (Port Orange, FL)


    Very well researched and very enjoyable.
    "D-Day Girls" is a very well written book. It tells the stories of the women members of the British Special Operations Executive during World War II and the undercover operations in preparation for the D-Day landings. As the author points out, the book is not fiction but is derived from the interviews and writings of those who survived the war. It is fascinating, educational, exciting,scary and very hard to put down. A very good book about very special people.
  • Erica M. (Chicago, IL)


    Another take on WWII stories
    Since my pre-teens, I have been drawn to stories about World War II. My father fought in it, as a young Jewish woman, it was part of my heritage and history. I often feel like there isn't another story that can be told that I haven't read. But there is - and that is D-Day Girls. It was a completely different twist on the stories of the War: the citizenry, the people who fought it, the conflicts between the conquerors and the defeated and how that got turned around. It was well-researched and well-written. Despite the rampant sexism that was practiced by the very people who were dependent on these women to do their jobs, it is a refreshing look at the women who made a difference in the War as something more than nurses or stenographers.
  • Rosanna H., contributing editor, Highlights


    D-Day Girls: the forgotten female heroes of WW II
    In 'D-Day Girls,' author Sarah Rose tells the forgotten story of women spies whose work was vital to winning World War II. These brave women, serving behind enemy lines in France, organized resistance networks, blew up German supply trains, gathered critical intelligence, and risked their lives every day.

    Rose's account is well-researched and vivid, especially in the section on the D-Day invasion and the important role of these women in aiding the Allies' efforts. She also documents the rampant sexism that the female spies faced, in both England and France. The sexism persisted after the war, which meant the women often did not receive the recognition they deserved for their heroic acts.'D-Day Girls' tells the thrilling story of these forgotten heroes.

More Information

Readalikes

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.