Summary and book reviews of The Book of Counted Sorrows by Dean Koontz

The Book of Counted Sorrows

by Dean Koontz

The Book of Counted Sorrows by Dean Koontz
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:


  • Rate this book


About this Book

Book Summary

This "mind bending, heart-stopping, bowel-freezing, spleen-tickling history of the most dangerous book of poetry every written" will captivate new and established Koontz fans. eBook exclusive.

Being The Mind-Bending, Heart-Stopping, Bowel-Freezing, Spleen-Tickling History Of The Most Dangerous Book Of Poetry Ever Written, Including The Text Of That Cursed Book Itself, With The Prayer That God Will Protect You From A Spontaneous Head Explosion (And Even Worse Potential Fates) If You Dare Read It.

Ever wonder where best-selling author Dean Koontz found all of those clever epitaphs at the beginning of his novels? Their alleged source, an elusive tome of poetry called The Book of Counted Sorrows, has mystified Koontz fans for years. Each year, Koontz receives thousands of letters from fans who have searched the bookstores and libraries for this inspirational book. Now in response, Dean Koontz reveals the compelling history of The Book of Counted Sorrows as well as the near-complete collection of poetry. This "mind bending, heart-stopping, bowel-freezing, spleen-tickling history of the most dangerous book of poetry every written" will captivate new and established Koontz fans.

BookBrowse Note: The Book of Counted Sorrows was produced as an eBook exclusive by Barnes & Noble but, due to B&N closing their e-book division, it is now difficult to find. There was also a limited edition print version with a print run of about 1,000 copies, which may be available through used bookstores. It usually sells for around $100. To search thousands of stores visit Visit AddAll.com

Chapter 1
Before the Glass of Sherry

In 1981, I began citing lines of verse from The Book of Counted Sorrows as epigraphs at the beginnings--and occasionally at the part divisions--of some of my novels. Little more than a decade later, mail from readers, specifically inquiring about this exotic volume of poetry, had risen to 3,000 letters a year.

Dealing with these earnest but exhaustingly repetitious inquiries became so annoying to one of my assistants--Basil Keenly--that he gave up his lifelong dream of serving as a novelist's right-hand man, signed up for a series of university courses toward a new career in body waxing, subsequently worked as a customized-cake salesman (your face or favorite body part realistically rendered in exquisitely subtle shades of icing), briefly returned to personal-assistant work as the right hand to Porky Pig, but was dispirited by the endless jokes about stuttering and ham that came with the job, attempted to hold up a 7-Eleven with a lump ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Book of Counted Sorrows, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Beliefs are what divide people. Doubt unites them

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.